We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done ! a good pub with quality food at a reasonable price”
Review of The Tram Inn

The Tram Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Eardisley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hay on Wye
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Well done ! a good pub with quality food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A nice typical old English pub, small unpretentious with good staff who care ... Food is well cooked and reasonably priced... Not top class gourmet food just good and freshly cooked.. Only critical point would be the puddings that did not seem to be to the same 'home made standard' as everything else...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    49
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great service and food in a lovely old pub. We popped in for a quick drink, had a game of boules in the large beer garden, went back in as it was far too cold and decided we had to return for dinner. Although they don't have a kids menu they just asked what we'd like and they would improvise something in the kitchen, the kids said pizza so they made some using burger buns as the base, they loved them. The food off the menu was very good and I recommend the local cheeseboard too, this is a very good family freindly pub that I hope to return to one day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rud4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tram Still Right On Track”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Twelve for Sunday lunch after a character-building walk around Brilley. It's a great old pub with obliging and natural young hosts. The dining areas are comfortable and full of character. There's an intimate kind of family atmosphere and the home-made food helpings are generous. £15.50 for three good courses with careful attention to detail represents the best value around. Quantity and quality. Everybody really happy with the fare and service. The Tram has survived its rivals after all..... Well Done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable price”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were recommended to visit this lovely old pub by the wife of the farmer where my son was helping with the lambing season. It has a cosy old fashioned atmosphere with real fires and the welcome was polite and efficient. The menu is varied and reasonably priced together with a special board with added dishes - the pork fillet with black pudding mash was superb. A good range of steaks were complemented with delicious home made chips and onion rings together with a generous portion of mushrooms and tomatoes. Service was quick and the food piping hot. Well worth visiting if you are in the location. .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliepear52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Holidaying in the area we visited The Tram on the basis of a recommendation from our hosts. So glad we did! We were so impressed we returned the following day. The young licensees are so natural and friendly and both the service and the food were spectacularly good. A good choice of beers too. Made us wish we lived in the area as we'd be frequent visitors if we were!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tram Inn also viewed

Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Winforton, Herefordshire
 
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to The Tram Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing