We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb home cooked food”
Review of Cart and Horses

Cart and Horses
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Chipperfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb home cooked food”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A small public house,only a small number of tables so if you want a good meal with olde worldie surroundings and (winter only I would presume) log fire burning I would recomend this place to eat or even to visit just for a drink also the staff are very friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delboysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    67
    11
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“"Absoutely fabulous"”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the cart & horses quite a few times , we found it by chance , we spent many lunchtimes in their beautiful garden , the food is lovely along with the staff , this is why I chose this place for my 40th , joint wedding reception we had a fantastic time , the hog roast was amasing , as it was Christmas we chose mulled wine along with cava for our welcome drink , Nicole an Ian (the owner ) , couldn't do enough for us , that's why we're planning for 20 of us to go back an celebrate our 1st years anniversary ! Thankyou

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikkinooclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
“all round excellence”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Had lunch here with friends a few weeks ago and have to say, the portions were plentiful, he food was hot and presented well. The staff were very friendly and the atmosphere so relaxing we didn't want to leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magnolia597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here to have lunch after visiting a farm nearby. We chose to sit outside as we had two little monkeys looking to burn their energy. We took a table quite close to play area so could keep an eye on them while enjoying our drinks. They have a nice garden with tables and play area and also a permanent marquee for events. Food was good though a bit overpriced. Kids meal only had three nuggets and 3/4 plate full of chips. Chips were fresh and hot but the wedges i had were a bit cold. Steak was wonderfully cooked. Lamb chops were a bit dry. Overall food was ok but staff was friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anisats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lunch today was not only great value but also of great quality served by efficient and friendly staff
Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cart and Horses also viewed

Sarratt, Hertfordshire
Chipperfield, Hertfordshire
 
Kings Langley, Hertfordshire
Flaunden, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cart and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing