We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tesco Chef and Brewer Vouchers”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Hemel
2 reviews
“Tesco Chef and Brewer Vouchers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Despite Chef & Brewer vouchers being available on the Tesco Club Card website, an earlier post indicated that the Two Brewers may not accept them. I telephoned today and was told that they will not redeem the vouchers.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HemelBewildered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    114
    63
    46
    49
See reviews for
124
113
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Two Brewers is in a lovely location - overlooking the Common in Chipperfield. There is plenty of parking both at the hotel and across the road. The room I stayed in was large and the bed was comfortable. There was a decent size wardrobe and a writing desk if needed. The bathroom was a little in need of improvement, with a small amount of black mould around the bath, but was fine apart from that.
The hotel rooms are quiet (away from the road, which is little-used anyway), and the hotel is good value for money for Hertfordshire. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal at the two Brewers the younger staff were welcoming
Cheerful and polite, more than can be said for the older bar staff who were just the opposite.we will return and try and avoid the older staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ray f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We got married on 27th July & booked 3 nights away from Bonnie Scotland to stay in this delightful scenic Hotel/Inn

We LOVED IT!! Our room boasts a magnificent 4 poster bed with thee comfiest mattress we have ever had the pleasure of lying on - we were gutted to come back home to a normal comfy bed! The bed must have either been kingsize or superking! A proper duvet on the bed too not just a thing cover and a sheet!

Shower and bathroom superb pressure wasnt amazing as you turn the temperature down but the water was scorching if thats the way you like it to be :) easily adjustable!

the room was perfectly gleaming and the lovely maids serviced our rooms daily.

The breakfast was extremely reasonable in price and absolutely delicious! The food was so good on the menu that we ate at the hotel every night instead of travelling to Kings Langley or London.

The reception and waiting staff were delightful remembering where we said we were going and asking how our day had been! so accomdating. Particulary Catherine one of the duty managers she was a breath of fresh air absolutely lovely to us as was everyone else!

We would love to visit again next July for our first wedding anniversary.

Ideally located 10min drive from leavesden and was £15 in a taxi to Harry Potter Studio tour which was epic!

From Kings Langley Station its only 25mins to London Euston and Camden town is well worth a visit!

Could not have picked a more quiet tranquil scenic village to spend our honeymoon thank you to Catherine and staff at the 2 brewers!

Mr & Mrs Givens

Room Tip: 4 poster room was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Jenna C,

Thank you for your review and congratulations to you and your new husband, we are pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay with us and that how the hotel and service was able to meet your needs.

Maybe we will see you again this time next year.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have been going to the Two Brewers for more years than I care to remember and have lunch there at least once a month as well as an occasional evening meal.

For the past eighteen months or so it has been a pleasure to eat there. The staff have been efficient and courteous - especially when Andrew has been in charge. However, I took my family there for an early evening meal on Wednesday of this week, arriving at 5.00 pm. Our order was not a difficult one, only one starter, mains all round and a couple of puddings, washed down with lime and sodas and Pepsis. Our part of the restaurant was empty apart from another party of three people, although there were a couple of people sitting outside with drinks. I was therefore surprised that it was 6.50 pm when we finally got up to leave.

The food was good, but the service was appallingly slow (it was thirty-five minutes before the one flat bread starter came out) and during our time there we were served by three different people, one of whom told us that the Two Brewers is about to be refurbished and 'made a bit more posh'.

This place has undergone so many make-overs, but its location gives it an edge on its rivals. All it needs is for the proprietors to realise that all their customers want is good food at reasonable prices, served by happy and efficient people. Pay your staff more and keep them on side!

I hope that I will still be able to enjoy a relaxed lunch at The Two Brewers when it does 'go posh' and that the Company don't put the prices up too much to cover the cost of the make over.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chipperfield hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pleasant stay, rooms very nice, beds fantastic. Waitress service for our evening meal excellent. Housekeeping staff excellent. Only complaint is the rude attitude and most unhelpful female receptionist, who also served breakfast and was the reason why we went elsewhere for breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch0wmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Ch0wmein,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we will be sharing your feedback with our management team to ensure that learnings are taken from your comments, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and will look to address the only issue you have raised.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here as we went to a wedding nearby so it was only a quick visit. We were running late so couldn't check in until late that night so they very helpfully left the key out for us. This was all done as they said and we found everything easy to find.

The room smelt funny and was very dingy and the toilet bin hadn't been cleaned out so I was greated with an old sanitary towel when I went to use it - not nice! We paid £79 (not inc breakfast) for the night for the 2 of us. Overall it's a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb. I wouldn't stay here again but if you're desperate for somewhere to stay it would be fine. I would just say it's probably somewhere you would expect to pay around £50 for, it's not worth anything more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Tigi69,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the tame you have take to provide your feedback and this has been shared with our management team to help improve future visits.

Regrads
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
3.0 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Property: Two Brewers Hotel
Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing