We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a lovely meal at the two Brewers the younger staff were welcoming
Cheerful and polite, more than can be said for the older bar staff who were just the opposite.we will return and try and avoid the older staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ray f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 398 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We got married on 27th July & booked 3 nights away from Bonnie Scotland to stay in this delightful scenic Hotel/Inn

We LOVED IT!! Our room boasts a magnificent 4 poster bed with thee comfiest mattress we have ever had the pleasure of lying on - we were gutted to come back home to a normal comfy bed! The bed must have either been kingsize or superking! A proper duvet on the bed too not just a thing cover and a sheet!

Shower and bathroom superb pressure wasnt amazing as you turn the temperature down but the water was scorching if thats the way you like it to be :) easily adjustable!

the room was perfectly gleaming and the lovely maids serviced our rooms daily.

The breakfast was extremely reasonable in price and absolutely delicious! The food was so good on the menu that we ate at the hotel every night instead of travelling to Kings Langley or London.

The reception and waiting staff were delightful remembering where we said we were going and asking how our day had been! so accomdating. Particulary Catherine one of the duty managers she was a breath of fresh air absolutely lovely to us as was everyone else!

We would love to visit again next July for our first wedding anniversary.

Ideally located 10min drive from leavesden and was £15 in a taxi to Harry Potter Studio tour which was epic!

From Kings Langley Station its only 25mins to London Euston and Camden town is well worth a visit!

Could not have picked a more quiet tranquil scenic village to spend our honeymoon thank you to Catherine and staff at the 2 brewers!

Mr & Mrs Givens

Room Tip: 4 poster room was magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Jenna C,

Thank you for your review and congratulations to you and your new husband, we are pleased to read how you enjoyed your stay with us and that how the hotel and service was able to meet your needs.

Maybe we will see you again this time next year.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have been going to the Two Brewers for more years than I care to remember and have lunch there at least once a month as well as an occasional evening meal.

For the past eighteen months or so it has been a pleasure to eat there. The staff have been efficient and courteous - especially when Andrew has been in charge. However, I took my family there for an early evening meal on Wednesday of this week, arriving at 5.00 pm. Our order was not a difficult one, only one starter, mains all round and a couple of puddings, washed down with lime and sodas and Pepsis. Our part of the restaurant was empty apart from another party of three people, although there were a couple of people sitting outside with drinks. I was therefore surprised that it was 6.50 pm when we finally got up to leave.

The food was good, but the service was appallingly slow (it was thirty-five minutes before the one flat bread starter came out) and during our time there we were served by three different people, one of whom told us that the Two Brewers is about to be refurbished and 'made a bit more posh'.

This place has undergone so many make-overs, but its location gives it an edge on its rivals. All it needs is for the proprietors to realise that all their customers want is good food at reasonable prices, served by happy and efficient people. Pay your staff more and keep them on side!

I hope that I will still be able to enjoy a relaxed lunch at The Two Brewers when it does 'go posh' and that the Company don't put the prices up too much to cover the cost of the make over.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrst148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Pleasant stay, rooms very nice, beds fantastic. Waitress service for our evening meal excellent. Housekeeping staff excellent. Only complaint is the rude attitude and most unhelpful female receptionist, who also served breakfast and was the reason why we went elsewhere for breakfast the following morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ch0wmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Ch0wmein,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we will be sharing your feedback with our management team to ensure that learnings are taken from your comments, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and will look to address the only issue you have raised.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here as we went to a wedding nearby so it was only a quick visit. We were running late so couldn't check in until late that night so they very helpfully left the key out for us. This was all done as they said and we found everything easy to find.

The room smelt funny and was very dingy and the toilet bin hadn't been cleaned out so I was greated with an old sanitary towel when I went to use it - not nice! We paid £79 (not inc breakfast) for the night for the 2 of us. Overall it's a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refurb. I wouldn't stay here again but if you're desperate for somewhere to stay it would be fine. I would just say it's probably somewhere you would expect to pay around £50 for, it's not worth anything more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Tigi69,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the tame you have take to provide your feedback and this has been shared with our management team to help improve future visits.

Regrads
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Recently enjoyed a two night stay at the Two Brewers hotel. I booked this hotel due to it's location near to the Warner Brothers Studio Tour and was advised to not to stay in the centre of Watford.

This hotel certainly does have a little charm and character to it. Located across from Chipperfield Common, it makes you feel like you're in a country pub miles from anywhere, although it's only a 10 minute drive off the M25.

The pub part is great! The drinks were cold and fizzy, although the Peroni pump was a little expensive at £4.79 a pint, Stella was a good and more reasonable alternative. Food wasn't bad either especially with their 3 Courses for £12.95 offer.

The service was great, very friendly and helpful.

What lets the place down is ageing decor and tired facilities. Our room was large enough for our purposes but the lighting was dim at best, TV - small and quiet, bathroom - clean but the shower lacked power and there was no extractor so the room steamed up quiet easily.

Having said that I'd happily stay here again if I needed to.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc_craddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed for one night only (Saturday 25th May) whilst working at the Herts County Show. Check in was easy, room was excellent-roomy & well laid out. Bar was friendly (sat in a window overlooking the green on a sunny evening, watching cricket) and the food and real ale (Sharpes' Doombar) were superb! Only minor gripe was that the shower temperature was a bit erratic.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
749 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
816 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
414 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
872 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range: $74 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing