We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic food, superb location,........but”
Review of Two Brewers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Two Brewers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Reviewed September 23, 2012

First impressions,..... It's a lovely little hotel, very reasonable rates, superb location, and the food we had was spot on. It's an old country pub style hotel, which I like. The rooms are nice and clean and equipped with everything you'd expect, all just perfect apart from a couple of minor things.
We was given a corner room with 2 windows, is hate to think how dark the rooms with one windows are, the room lighting was terrible, very old style shades which seemed to absorb all the light. And the shower was definitely a no-power shower, it was near on pointless, and some of the tiles around the shower could go with a better clean, especially on the grouting. That's it though, everything else was lovely

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigrobbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear Bigrobbo65,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review we are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your experience at the Two Brewers, we have passed your comments regarding the lighting and the issues with the shower room to our management team so that they can be looked into.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

A nice place to arrive to in the afternoon after a day on the road, only 2 miles from the main highway Norge og London, and only 50 minutes from Stansted. The Hotel is also a nice pub and have a decent restaurant and also nice rooms . The room in the backyard was very quiet and parking very near.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Trondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Trondoc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Regards
Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Let me start with the positive points. Nice hotel, nice location. However the food was not brilliant, sort of thing you would get in a Witherspoons! And the staff were particularly unhelpful and grumpy. To my amazement. The bar shut on a Saturday night at 23:00! And even as residents we were told you either go and finish your drinks in your rooms or you can sit outside in the court yard. We moved to the court yard and asked for the patio heater to be turned on. We were promptly told that it was broken and dismissed as we were shut out of the bar and reception area. As a group of friends away for the weekend this put a bit of a damper on the evening. I don't think we would stay again.
Also we had the same issue as others with breakfast. Coffee and orange juice ran out and were not refilled. However the fry-up was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir_Ector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sir_Ector

Many thanks for your recent review on trip advisor, your feedback was a concern to hear & I would like to investigate this further with the management team. Please could you kindly fill out our feedback form which I have sent to you in a private message and I look forward to hearing from you.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was with keen anticipation that we arrived for lunch - having had glowing reports from friends and further enhanced by the superb location by the village green.
Met by someone whose approach was less than welcoming. We decided to eat inside as it had started to rain. Drinks order taken by a slightly more cheerful waiter but apologised for lack of ice for our gt's.
Food was uninspiring and lacked taste and presentation. Not impressed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank manuel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was well equipped and clean however the toilet had deep staining in the bowl which detracted from the overall impression of the facility. The hotel is sited in an area where there is little signal strength for mobile phone use and the payphone in the lobby was unserviceable. Breakfast was a limited experience as at 0840 all muesli,and fruit had gone, only weetabix remained of the continental breakfast. All in all the hotel is good value for money considering its proximity to London. The nearby Premier Lodge is priced similarly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonFerndown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear RonFerndown,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the experience you were expecting. Your comments have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went for a family meal. It doesn't seem to matter what day or time we visit the Two Brewers, we always get a friendly welcome, a great choice from a reasonably extensive menu that suits everyone of all ages that turns up pretty quickly and well-cooked. My only criticism is that at busy times the bar staff get swamped and it can be a bit of a bun fight to buy a drink (especially weekend lunch times in the summer) but if you're eating the wait staff will get them for you. The prices are good value and the ambience is good. The best pub food for miles around - recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StationeryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and i stayed for one night and were very pleased with our choice It is a very pretty hotel/ restaurant , by a village green where a cricket match was underway, and families were enjoying the lovely weather. Our room was spacious and the bed, huge and comfortable. We had a continental breakfast, which consisted of cereals, toast, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, muffins, juices and tea or coffee. It was very nice and reasonably priced. A very enjoyable stay, we would definately use this hotel again. The setting is picturesque!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaks561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Two Brewers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear Jaks561

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipperfield
1.9 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hemel Hempstead
924 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
Premier Inn Kings Langley Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kings Langley
878 reviews
3.2 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,860 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
2.9 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Brewers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Brewers Hotel

Address: The Common, Chipperfield WD4 9BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chipperfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chipperfield
Price Range: $74 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Two Brewers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Two Brewers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2 Brewers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing