We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stables Restaurant at The Grove”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Situated just outside Watford at the entrance to the M25, just off the A41.
Enormous well kept grounds with an on site golf course. Parking is easy in one of the gigantic car parks.
We were greeted a friendly Mitre 'D', who showed us our reserved table in its own private room as we were numerous.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, providing a baby chair and adapting the menu to suite the very young and young.
Food was delicious, from a large menu, served and presented to perfection.
Quite expensive but great for that 'special occasion'
Well worth a visit

Cannesdid ....surfingsyd

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Syd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Syd M
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Stables - I am pleased to hear you had a wonderful time with us. It will be a pleasure to share your glowing comments with the team and I hope we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,667 - 1,673 of 2,838 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

We decide to return for the buffet at The Glass house , a very nice hotel set outside Watford
Popular with Football teams playing at Wembley , the buffet is very popular , the starters were not very popular with our table, a dazzling selection , but very little flavouring and pretty bland ,
Over mayonnaised or non tasting dressing , the tapas was probably the best
, The main course we chose was beef ,excellent, Yorkshire pudding horrible as if they were blown up crisps .
We didn't try stir fry that looked good .
The deserts looked very inviting but the chef had had over sweetened everything, the chocolate clammy and too sweet , even the sweets were too sweet , a case of sweets for my sweets
The staff were attentive, very nice with personality
I am not sure why we didn't peruse the wine list but we were pushed to the house wine an average
Malbec . Lower level tables very noisy upper level is the place to be.
To sum up great venue probably better in Summer, try the ala carte restaurant or stables ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were a group of 4 on a spa-voucher weekend and had high hopes as we do this annually as a treat. The rating of The Grove as "average" was a unanimous decision from us all and here's why:

Customer Service Pre-booking:
The experience of pre-booking and making the reservations was not positive and in many respects having a gift voucher put us at a disadvantage. If you do have a voucher then we would recommend that you book months in advance and then perhaps your experience will be more smooth. As we were quite late with finding common ground for dates we were close to our voucher expiring (in May) and it seems there are "black out" dates where you can't use the voucher.

The pre-booking request for 1 room to be feather-free due to allergies was ignored completely and so this caused problems for 1 guest as Housekeeping had to strip the room just as we were getting ready for dinner.

NOTE: There are feathered duvets, pillows, cushions, mattress toppers (for those who have allergies - giving notice before you arrive is not enough, check as soon as you check-in~

Customer Service Generally
Generally this was excellent at Check-in and Check-Out

Bar/Restaurant Service
We dined in the Glasshouse and found the bar service slow and without any attention to detail. Our bottle of Champagne was not taken through to our table and the waitress forgot to bring it. We had to track her down and she admitted she'd forgotten. We waited 15 minutes for the water to be served and had to ask/remind.

Make reservations at The Stables - it would have been nice to know that without a reservation there is no chance of having lunch here.

Quality of Food
This was excellent and saved the day .... that's why we found it overall hit and miss. The buffet had many different culinary options including vegetarian and the standard was very high.

Sleep Quality
We stayed in 151/155 (superior rooms), however this was above the conference/event area so very loud, noisy and busy. There was Wedding Fever this weekend so be prepared for lots of people due to the fact that this is a popular Wedding and Golfing Venue. The rooms have air conditioning and were quite stuffy so we left the window open. The twin beds were pushed together appearing like as a 'double', which was not appreciated - why aren't they separated from each other ?

Hotel Design
There is a very modern contemporary feel due to the highly stylised interior decoration which is in stark contrast to the old feeling of the building itself. It has lots of small sections with endless corridors that reminded us quite frankly of being in a Holiday Inn.

Grounds/Location
The grounds are impressive and have wonderful water features with some contemporary artistic sculptures that inspired lively debate. The grounds were wonderful, befitting a hotel with character and charm which alas The Grove doesn't have.

Spa
The swimming pool is a good size with a hot tub and a number of beds/chairs to relax. The group indulged in facial treatments however we couldn't chose the times we wanted as nothing was available.

Overall the experience we had (other than the food) will only stay with us for the wrong reasons so that's why we felt it was "hit and miss". When booking a "high-touch" hotel one expects attention to detail and high standards of service, sadly this was missing.

Room Tip: Book away from the events centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeatherMegaMauriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I was concerned to learn some aspects of your stay were disappointing. Please be assured your comments have been brought to the attention of the team to review and address where appropriate.

Regarding your request for a room to be hypoallergenic, I have now spoken with the agent that processed your reservation and unfortunately she does not recall your request. Nevertheless, my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused at the time.

Thank you again for sharing your concerns and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely

Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had a lovely meal here with my partner. Food was fantastic. Staff were brilliant.
Highly recommend. Look forward to visiting again soon. Tried the stables and the glasshouse now and both fantastic restaurants. Lovely grounds to enjoy a walk around afterwards too.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Laura B
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review following your meal with us. I am pleased to hear that you have had a wonderful time at both The Glasshouse and The Stables and that you have enjoyed exploring the grounds.Thank you also for kindly recommending The Grove and I hope we will see you back here again very soon.

Kind regards
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I've stayed here many time and it's a brilliant experience. The staff are wonderful and the rooms are second to non. The Golf, Spa and the grounds are everything you'd expect from a truly 5 star experience. Well done The Grove.

Steve North

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear northy91
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. It will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with the team. I hope you continue to visit us and I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I have been to The Grove abot 5 times now. 4 times in the Glasshouse restaurant, and once in The Stables.

The Glasshouse is a buffet restaurant, and has everything from, a roast dinner, to Thai, to Italian meats. All the food is fantastic, and I would highly recommend to anyone whos prepared to spalsh out a bit for a special occasion. As I say though, for your average mid-twenty year old, this isn't a restaurant you would visit on a monthly basis. I believe it's £45 per head, and then drinks (which aren't cheap) on top of that. You're looking at a bill of £140 all in all.

The Stables is your standard A la Carte menu, and the good is unreal. I went for their roast, which was incredible. Slightly (and I mean slightly) cheaper then the Glasshouse, but food quality is on a par, if not better. 2 people with a full 3 course meal and drinks set me back about £120.

I would first off recommend the Glasshouse to a newbie, as it offers such a wide variety of top quality food. But if you can't get a table (as usually you have to book well in advance) the Stables is stilll incredible.

The hotel iteself is slightly off the beaten track, and there are no bars or pubs within walking distance, so you would really have to make a night/day of your experience at The Grove just there.

I haven't stayed at the hotel itself (as I only live down the road), but any hotel that hosts the England football team must be pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBoyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear JBoyyy
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of The Glasshouse and The Stables. I am pleased to hear that you have had many wonderful visits to our restaurants and that you would recommend us. I hope that you continue to dine with us and look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind regards
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed as part of a wedding party. Greeted and treated excellently throughout the hotel. Room was very modern with all the touches one would expect.
Had lunch and a drink late afternoon in The Lounges, great food and plenty of it. Peter looked after us wonderfully.
Didn't really get to use any of the sporting facilities/spa due to time limitations.

Avoided mini bar in room, best take your own as it's pretty pricey, as are drinks throughout the hotel.
A great stay and will hopefully return with the children later in the year.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course rather than car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNHNailsworthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear MrNHNailsworthUK
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. I hope that on your return visit you will get the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilities including Sequoia spa, the Walled Garden and complimentary bikes, which are a great way to explore the estate as a family.
I hope we may have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Kind regards
Jonathan Critchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
3.4 mi away
Hilton Watford
Hilton Watford
#7 of 13 in Watford
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $298 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing