We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a feast”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place for a feast”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great place to go with a crowd we made use of four for the price of three. Great quality meat especially the Aberdeen Angus. Great fish, salads etc. deserts are ok, but lovely popcorn. Place I often go to. Enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Andrea0054,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grove. I am so pleased you were able to take advantage of one of our seasonal restaurant offers and had a lovely time with your friends. Do keep an eye out for more upcoming offers and I hope we will see you all again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    595
    297
    118
    104
See reviews for
713
824
55
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Staff pleasant and accommodating. Food nice, although some of the seafood was watery! Drinks very very expensive, especially the £5 price for a cup of coffee. The fact that hot beverages are not included in the buffet price, should be made clear by the waiter, at the time of offering. It should be made very very clear.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SmartyMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear SmartyMcFly,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am sorry if you felt the prices for The Glasshouse were not clearly explained to you. We do explain upon reservation and detail on our website that prices are per person, for food only and include VAT. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We booked for tea at The Grove and on arrival were immediately escorted (with an umbrella) to the tea room. The menu was nicely explained and our sandwiches along with our tea came along quickly. The sandwiches were delicious so much so we ordered another round! Then we moved on to the scones with lovely lemon curd, jam and cream. We had constant refills of tea and nothing was too much trouble. Finally we took a breath before the cake assortment - wow! They were delicious and as one was an ice cream which had melted the staff immediately brought a fresh one. We felt the afternoon was really special and were treated with real respect and courtesy. Would go again - just have to build up our appetites!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 368Corinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear 368Corrine,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of Afternoon Tea at The Grove. I am so pleased you were able to enjoy the wonderfully delicious treats on offer and look forward to welcoming you again to The Grove very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the moment the 3 of us arrived we were made to feel special, the course is challenging and beautifully kept. The staff at the golf are first rate,helpful welcoming i can not tell how good our day was here
the staff in the bar and restaurant were also helpful engaging nothing was to much trouble we are already looking forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flannersWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear flannersWatford,
Thank you for your excellent review of The Grove. I am so pleased you and your guests enjoyed a wonderful time on the golf course and I will be delighted to share your kind words with the team. I do hope we will see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We chose the stables for a relaxed atmosphere. The property is set in very pretty and extensive gardens, so the setting is lovely.
The feel of the hotel is entirely corporate, however.
Service was friendly and efficient but the food was disgusting. I think i'd anticipated homemade and rustic food, but this was the kind of English food I thought had finally died out. Worse than school dinners

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank indietraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear indietraveller10,
thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at The Grove. Having recently been awarded an AA Rosette and regularly receiving compliments from our guests, I am sorry to read your comments regarding the quality of food in The Stables. I would welcome your further feedback so we may look to see where improvement may be made. I do hope we may welcome you to The Grove again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Fabulous staff, excellent food in beautiful surroundings, we had an afternoon tea (well late afternoon) during the Christmas period and couldn't fault anything. The food was beautifully presented, and replenished on request, endless tea. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rhi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Rhi S,
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review of Afternoon Tea at The Grove, it really is a lovely way to spend the time and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. I do look forward to welcoming you again to The Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I've visited this beautiful country estate several times.... It's one of the most relaxing, indulgent days and I highly recommend it!
Service is excellent!
I dined in Charlotte's and the food was delicious....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SS662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear SS662014,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review of The Grove. I am delighted to read that we have been able to welcome you a number of times and I hope we may see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Critchard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing