We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New years eve bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“New years eve bash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Not what we expected for a Gala dinner at a 5 star hotel . We dressed up in black tie only to walk in and see jeans , open neck shirts , no jackets . Lots of children running round One course out of the 3 was edible ...everyone left the starter , main course fine , dessert everyone gave up on .
5 of us in our party ended up sharing table with 6 others ...not a problem as all nice people but what if had been a family with 4 kids .
No mention of table sharing when we booked or that children would be there. Not a problem if you know and can then decide what to do .
Not up to standard for the money and too many surprises. Entertainment was good i have to say .

Room Tip: Its a long walk to some rooms so dont forget anything in the room before you go out like i did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crag789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear crag789,
Thank you for your review. I am surprised to hear that you were not aware of your party being on a shared table as our Reservations Team would notify any smaller groups of this policy. With regard to the dress code, we made the decision to encourage suitable attire without stating a strict code. This was based on feedback from previous years. Children were welcome at our New Year’s Eve celebrations and this was publicised at all times. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our New Year’s Eve entertainment and hope we will see you back at The Grove soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    591
    295
    117
    103
See reviews for
709
815
55
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a Grove guest for 7+ years, I think I am in a good position to spot where things are going wrong. Given that my comments received very little interest when I tried to make them at Check-Out, here they are for the benefit of the whole TripAdvisor community:

- First and foremost, the Grove is a great hotel with lots of nice staff, some of whom have been there for a very long time - including the Scouse Porter. Nice bloke !

- However, for the second stay running, we walked out the Stables Restaurant . Not good service (apart from Bartek, the very nice maitre-d) , and the food was below average to poor - topped off with yesterday's bread. Avoid .

- The Room Service food, which we resorted to after the Stables and ate in the lounge areas, was not fresh. The meat tasted cheap and processed; it was clearly re-heated, hotplated and served up. Obviously there is something wrong going on with Food & Beverage.

- The Spa: it was £75 for a 40 minute treatment. I booked for 3pm . The woman picked me up at 3:03pm. She talked to me for 5-7 minutes. She walked out the room at 340pm on the dot. She "treated" me for approx. 30 mins , 10 mins less than the paid-for time. I'm afraid this is symptomatic of the Grove - a real reflection of what its become. I complained, they offered me £10 off. In fact, 10 minutes of 40 minutes is 1/4 of the time. In the end, I had to argue, but they offered me the full 1/4 discount - £19.

- The beds are no longer comfortable. There comes a time when a hotel needs to replace their beds.

- No-one asked me about our Stables experience. The Grove does not give you the impression that they care whether you enjoyed your stay or not.

- They charge you a £10 call out fee for the babysitter - but the babysitter works in the hotel's creche !

In conclusion, I would suggest that the Grove is going into the fairly typical cycle for resort-hotels - 7/8 years after launch, very successful, but things are getting tired, costs are being cut (the food, for example, scrimping on your suppliers), staff are less trained, etc.

So , beware TripAdvisors.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Justin74London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Justin74London,
I would like to assure you all guest feedback is taken seriously and used to improve our guest experience. A large percentage of our guests are repeat visitors and return to The Grove because of the quality of service and facilities we have to offer. Given your repeat negative review of The Grove, I would like to invite you for a meeting or telephone conversation with our Resident Manager to discuss your concerns further. Please call 01923 807807 to schedule a convenient time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

First of all - the Grove is huge. Driving down the sweeping carriageway from the main road you first pass over the Grand Union canal, and then over a private lake before sweeping up to the main house. Its an impressive start, and once inside it gets better. The grounds are enormous, perfect for long walks or cycling (they have free bike hire).

The facilities are equally impressive, with one of nicest pools I've swum in. Black marble and cut into the centre of a spa complex.

Staff were excellent. Not easy, as we saw one guy moaning about his food and demanding a refund - though it was excellent. He was just drunk and being difficult, but the staff handled it well.

This hotel definitely attracts the footballer / trader types - but you cant blame the management for that. I've never seen so many personalised plates in one car park. Bentleys, porsches and Land rover Evoques everywhere.

The only downside was that we were given the wrong time for our dinner, which meant we missed the reception and champagne, but we contacted the manager and they tried hard to make it up. Overall - top hotel and great staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TootingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear TootingMike,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Grove. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Grove post Xmas in 2011with our kids and had a fabulous time. My wife and I found ourselves with the option of a couple of days without the kids last Xmas and jumped at the chance of a return visit. everything about the place is wonderful, in particular the golf which is a complete experience from the condition of the course, bringing fresh towels to us while we were playing in a bit of rain, shoes and clubs cleaned after the round to name a few things. We even managed a repeat visit to the Scalextric room! Already planning our visit for post Xmas this year.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlnMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear AInMag,
Thank you for your review of The Grove. I am delighted you were able to enjoy an escape with us this time without the children and I look forward to welcoming you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the grove while visiting friends. When we arrived our room was not ready and we had to wait about 30 mins, which was dissapointing as we were in a rush to get changed to go out. The room was lovely, a fantastic shower!
Breakfast is great but it depends where you are sitting! On our first morning we sat on the upper breakfast floor which is much comfier than eating on the lower floor. We did ask to move but we were told they were too busy. I think it would be nice to have a quiet breakfast seating area, as I would have loved to have been able to sit and read my paper in a quieter atmosphere but unfortunatly we were surrounded by many very young children. The grove is obviously very popular with families but I have to agree with a previous review the place is packed with unruly, whiney children. Maybe a child free eating area!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sbr009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear sbr009,
Thank you for your review of The Grove. Breakfast in The Glasshouse is very popular and, whilst we will try, we cannot always accommodate people at their desired table. The Stables is also open for breakfast and provides an excellent alternative. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the third time we have spent New Year at the Grove and I have rated as very good based on the beautiful grounds, excellent doormen, smart rooms and good breakfast at The Glasshouse. I do agree however with a previous reviewer that it is a bit of a zoo at that time of year (hopefully not at other times). We arrived to check in at 2pm and were told room not ready, strange when they had rung me to check what time we would be arriving! However we were offered a complimentary drink but there was no room anywhere to sit and we could not hear ourselves think. Eventually the manager found us a quiet area in the lounge which we had previously been told was unavailable. We had two rooms interconnecting and whilst overall very clean we were surprised to find a used cotton bud on the carpet!

Regarding the Gala dinner, we did find each year differs, one year the entertainment was excellent (russian dancers) the following year a dull couple singing, this year a great violinist laser show but only for a very short time. Having to wait until 10pm for your main course, 11.30 dessert is not great but the decoration of the room is beautiful and trees in the foyer areas are fab. Did miss the ice sculpture, place name settings and casino this year.

Overall a nice place you should try at least once.

Room Tip: Family room nice, suites good, standard interconnecting rooms ok too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickeyBEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear MickeyBEssex_England,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Grove. I will discuss the comments you have raised with our team as we discuss all guest feedback from the festive period. I hope we will continue to welcome you at The Grove in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent two days between Christmas and New Years. What a zoo! The place was crammed with noisey young families with unruly, whiney kids who ran rampant in the public places. The cavernous reception area is designed poorly and immediately adjacent to an overflow dining room / bar area. You couldn't hear yourself think.

There were no public areas for peace and quiet. This is not the sedate country getaway it professes to be. It is a large impersonal factory pushing through the well-heeled noveau riche who have few manners.

Why would any food service manager allow a 4 year old kid on a skateboard into his dining room?

It's hard to say what type of resort it is. It caters to golfers, spa enthusiasts, families with kids who need constant stimulation (they feature Anasouka's Kids Camp) and the conference goers. It's a mish mash!

Too negative you say? Well, they did make a decent attempt providing something for art lovers with an thoughtful outdoor display of modern sculptures. Another redeeming feature was the formal dining room 'Collette's' which was at least two standards beyond the hotel.

We will look for something smaller next time.

Room Tip: The hallways are long and narrow. Don't stray too far from the centre core otherwise your vacat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tough2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Tough2Please,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Grove. It is difficult for me to comment on other guests and their children, however we endeavour to provide a host of family activities to keep our younger guests entertained. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our grounds, sculptures and Colette’s and hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 9 in St. Albans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.2 mi away
De Vere Hunton Park
De Vere Hunton Park
#1 of 1 in Hunton Bridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn London Watford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing