We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve at The Grove”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the third time we have spent New Year at the Grove and I have rated as very good based on the beautiful grounds, excellent doormen, smart rooms and good breakfast at The Glasshouse. I do agree however with a previous reviewer that it is a bit of a zoo at that time of year (hopefully not at other times). We arrived to check in at 2pm and were told room not ready, strange when they had rung me to check what time we would be arriving! However we were offered a complimentary drink but there was no room anywhere to sit and we could not hear ourselves think. Eventually the manager found us a quiet area in the lounge which we had previously been told was unavailable. We had two rooms interconnecting and whilst overall very clean we were surprised to find a used cotton bud on the carpet!

Regarding the Gala dinner, we did find each year differs, one year the entertainment was excellent (russian dancers) the following year a dull couple singing, this year a great violinist laser show but only for a very short time. Having to wait until 10pm for your main course, 11.30 dessert is not great but the decoration of the room is beautiful and trees in the foyer areas are fab. Did miss the ice sculpture, place name settings and casino this year.

Overall a nice place you should try at least once.

Room Tip: Family room nice, suites good, standard interconnecting rooms ok too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickeyBEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear MickeyBEssex_England,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Grove. I will discuss the comments you have raised with our team as we discuss all guest feedback from the festive period. I hope we will continue to welcome you at The Grove in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,458 - 2,464 of 2,892 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I spent two days between Christmas and New Years. What a zoo! The place was crammed with noisey young families with unruly, whiney kids who ran rampant in the public places. The cavernous reception area is designed poorly and immediately adjacent to an overflow dining room / bar area. You couldn't hear yourself think.

There were no public areas for peace and quiet. This is not the sedate country getaway it professes to be. It is a large impersonal factory pushing through the well-heeled noveau riche who have few manners.

Why would any food service manager allow a 4 year old kid on a skateboard into his dining room?

It's hard to say what type of resort it is. It caters to golfers, spa enthusiasts, families with kids who need constant stimulation (they feature Anasouka's Kids Camp) and the conference goers. It's a mish mash!

Too negative you say? Well, they did make a decent attempt providing something for art lovers with an thoughtful outdoor display of modern sculptures. Another redeeming feature was the formal dining room 'Collette's' which was at least two standards beyond the hotel.

We will look for something smaller next time.

Room Tip: The hallways are long and narrow. Don't stray too far from the centre core otherwise your vacat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tough2Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Tough2Please,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Grove. It is difficult for me to comment on other guests and their children, however we endeavour to provide a host of family activities to keep our younger guests entertained. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our grounds, sculptures and Colette’s and hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Will post a fuller review at some point, but just have to say that the key issue of service here is OUTSTANDING - just full of really charming, committed, observant staff. Might not consider going back on the basis of rooms, food or decor, but were treated regally, and that makes a huge difference.
Pat yourselves on the back, Grove guys - you deserve it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Lee H,
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the team at The Grove, which I will be delighted to share. We endeavor to make all our guests feel relaxed and comfortable, with attentive but non-intrusive service. I do hope we'll see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have just had our third visit to the Glass House restaurant. Each visit left us in awe of the great value. Ok this is not a Toby type buffet and not a Toby priced buffet. This is a good quality buffet restaurant. The staff on each visit have been great. So to sum it up don't worry about the price just go in hungry eat a leisurely meal in a great atmosphere. Save you self for the great cheese and desserts if you can.

Room Tip: Check the price before you go ..... Then after booking forget the price and really enjoy the meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lionel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear lenPinnerEngland,
Thank you for visiting The Grove and The Glasshouse again, we do value your loyalty and I will share your kind words with our team. I hope we'll see you again soon, perhaps in either The Stables or Colette's, for another dining experience at The Grove. Do visit our website for some tempting January offers across all our restaurants!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Although I had attended a wedding reception and a lunch at The Grove (both superb), I had never taken Afternoon Tea and now feel aggrieved I had previously missed numerous opportunities to attend this English tradition. It was a dark afternoon in early December but the atmosphere was bright and homely, lit up by Christmas decorations, numerous trees and open fires that lifted you out of the gloom and into a winter wonderland. We sat on very comfortable settees, looking out of the large windows onto the extensive grounds beyond. The staff, as usual, were friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much. The tea (choice of many), sandwiches, scones, thick cream, jam and pastries were all superb. We were made so relaxed that we felt we could have stayed for hours. Management has to be complimented for our very pleasant visit. Even at £30 the tea was good value for money. For those who enjoy (even at the expense of missing lunch!) an Afternoon Tea, I fully recommend The Grove as your next destination where you will find it extremely hard to find fault. 5 stars all the way.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank flobay6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear flobay6,
Thank you for your review and compliments. I will share your kind words with our Lounges Team and look forward to making up for lost time with another visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at The Grove with our baby daughter in August 2012. Everything was fantastic: great staff, spacious comfortable room, beautiful gardens and walks in the grounds, lovely dinner at The Stables, good fun at the games area in the walled garden. This is an old house done up in a contemporary style, but losing nothing of its historic charm.
Although the stay was expensive at £400 for one nights' B&B, we came away feeling relaxed and happy after living in comfort and being treated like royalty, so it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear rosie1271,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Grove. I am so pleased you were able to relax with your young family, and hope we'll see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Family took me to The Glasshouse for my birthday lunch. One of the most enjoyable meals I can ever remember. Between the quality and selection of foods, ambience and most particularly the restaurant manager Mr. Miah and his entire staff, we felt welcome, at home and very comfortable. Our thanks to him for making this celebration exceed all of our expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Dear Stephen B,
Thank you for your review of The Grove and your birthday lunch with us in The Glasshouse. I will share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St. Albans
2,418 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.4 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $314 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing