We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Weak Family Swimming.”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Grove is a modern, smart hotel close to the M25.

The building is slightly weird – a medium-grade country house backed by a very large, modern, high quality hotel extension, and surrounded by a golf course.

Our room, however, was comfortable, well-designed and sophisticated; and the overall experience of the hotel was very good.

One disappointment was with swimming pools. For good reasons, children aren't allowed in the spa pool – they can spoil the experience when you're have a quiet, couple's weekend break. However, the alternative pool was only good for very small children, meaning that there are no real family swimming facilities.

That said, we had fun playing pool on the full-sized table, and we had a good walk around the grounds.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and I recommend the Grove.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, get a first or second floor room - people walking in the garden can see into gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_Manktelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear James_Manktelow,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted to read you had a positive experience at The Grove. If I may, I would like to add children (over 12) may use Sequoia's indoor pool between 9-11am and 3-5pm, with parental supervision. Of course, if you visit in the summer then the beach and outdoor pool are a must, as well as the bikes, tennis, indoor games room and more! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Grove in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,485 - 2,491 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Today we had Champagne tea at the Grove and it was truly superb.
They couldn't do enough for us and kept refreshing everything we ate up.
The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are great.
A wonderful place to relax and enjoy yourself on a cold wet rainy day oin October.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janicedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Janicedempsey,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Afternoon Tea at The Grove. Whilst we cannot control the weather, we do our very best to ensure all of our guests are relaxed and comfortable. I do hope you were able to enjoy our special Chocolate Week afternoon tea with tempting treats on all tiers of the stand! I will share your comments with the team and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, staff very friendly and helpful. Fantastic round of golf. Course in excellent condition. Very good food in the stables.
Highly recommended and great value for money for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Richie32,
Thank you for your review, I will share your kind words with the team. I am pleased you were able to enjoy our championship golf course; it really is as good in the winter as it is in the summer. I do hope we will see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great time at the grove...
Grounds are so beautiful , spa was fantastic place to go and relax.
Great service we went for afternoon tea in the lounges and WOW how amazing.
Glasshouse great food selection for all. We will definitely go back thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear Jane B,
Thank you for your lovely review of The Grove. I will share your comments with our team and look forward to welcoming you again to London's Country Estate in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed for the weekend at the Grove with a 6 month old baby and one set of grandparents. The hotel is great for the family with excellent facilities (albeit the indoor children's pool was too cold). Our daughter's first experience of sand was on their "beach"!

For adults there is lots to do and the spa was great (with a fantastic adults only indoor pool, gym and of course the golf). We also took a bike ride through the local forest and tow path and they were able to provide a carriage for our baby which she really enjoyed too. There were lots of nice touches like that to make the experience very baby friendly.

The one thing that really let the weekend down was the cost of the food and drinks at the restaurants. The restaurants were very average but with a completely disproportionate price tag. With the location, you are pretty limited to options so it felt pretty usary and would make me thing twice about staying here again which is a shame as the facilities were great.

Room Tip: The hotel is based on a very long corridor. We stayed nearer the reception and I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SulaMetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear SulaMetz,
Thank you for your kind review. I am aware of a temporary fault with our children's pool and pleased to report this was fixed within the day. We like to think of ourselves as a parent-friendly hotel (not just child-friendly) and I am pleased you were able to enjoy our complimentary bikes to explore our grounds as well as the many other services we provide to make your stay with us as relaxed as possible. I hope we may welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well firstly don't let the prices put you off. This is however a hotel to be saved for that extra special occasion. You are shown to your room which is decorated and furnished in a superb contemporary style, so much so you want to be able to pick it up and take it to replace your own bedroom!

I went the whole hog when visiting, starting with a proper afternoon tea with neatly cut sandwiches, scones with yummy clotted cream and delightful pastries, small and lite so you can eat more than one!!

There is a choice when it comes to evening dining we chose the fine-dining option at Colette's, really lovely bar to have a pre dinner drink and then the food was exceptional, but I can appreciate that this style of dining is not to everyones taste, some may feel a bit ill at ease, so the other equally fine option, a bit noisier is the Glasshouse, I diddn't eat there except for the exceptional buffet breakfast, best I have ever had, there are stations for bakery, eggs, cold meats and cheeses etc etc.

Then in between eating and drinking the spa is the place to go, I am not a golfer but there is also a golf course. But the best bit, feeling like a celebrity is when you walk out of reception and hail a golf cart that will whizz you over to the spa.

So if you can afford this luxurious venue then Go.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jameshewson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear jameshewson,
Thank you for taking the time to post such high praise on The Grove. I am delighted you were able to experience all we have on offer and appreciate the high standards of service we pride ourselves on. Perhaps next time, we may book you time with one of our PGA instructors so you can play our championship course? Thank you again, your comments will be shared with our team and I do hope we will see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great weekend at The Grove, loved the pool and the beautiful outside spaces.The Stables restaurant breakfast,especially the eggs benedict are highly recommended.
Great service and atmosphere all round.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErikaRigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGroveHotel, General Manager at The Grove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear ErikaRigg,
Thank you for posting your review of The Grove on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased you had an enjoyable and relaxing time with us, and that breakfast in The Stables was delicious! I hope we will see you back at The Grove, very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chandler's Cross
6.2 mi away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#4 of 10 in St. Albans
2,416 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hanbury Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
1.2 mi away
Mercure London North Watford Hunton Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Laura Ashley The Manor Elstree
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Watford North Hotel
6.4 mi away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St. Albans
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Address: London's Country Estate, Chandler's Cross WD3 4TG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Chandler's Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chandler's Cross
Price Range: $314 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grove Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove, London's country estate, is more than a five-star hotel. Set in 300 acres and only 18 miles from central London, the former home of the Earls of Clarendon is also a luxury 18-hole golf resort, a fabulous spa and unique venue for meetings, weddings and celebrations. Also included in The Grove's extensive facilities are three restaurants including Colette’s, awarded three AA rosettes. A 4acre Walled Garden with urban beach, tennis courts and outdoor pool. A selection of bike and jogging trials to enjoy with complimentary bike hire; and Anouska’s Kids’ Club, graded outstanding by OFSTED makes The Grove a parent and child-friendly resort. Lovingly restored to stunning effect, the property fuses contemporary design and original period architecture with exceptionally caring and professional service. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Chandlers Cross
Grove Hotel Chandlers Cross
The Grove Hotel UK/Hertfordshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing