We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfort in beautiful surroundings”
other travelers have booked this property
The Freeth from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Freeth from the garden
Wonderful private indoor pool Double aspect sitting room with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Freeth from the garden
Wonderful private indoor pool
Double aspect sitting room with open fire
Private indoor heated swimming pool
Dining room with table that comfortably seats 16 - perfect for that special dinner
Stylishly decorated bedrooms
Warm and cosy kitchen
The Freeth walled garden - perfect for drinks in the evening
Uninterrupted views across the fields from The Freeth
The Freeth garden
TV Room with Sky and masses of DVDs
Luxury bathrooms
Seat and gaze at the view
Well equipped kitchen designed with cooks in mind
Double height bedroom and bathroom
South facing terrace for al fresco meals
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Bromyard, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane E
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfort in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

A fascinating house, modified over centuries, now beautifully restored and modernised to a high standard, set in extensive well-designed gardens. A comfortable place to be in any season, especially with the warm swimming pool - a diversion for all ages in our group (2-- 75 years)..

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review of The Freeth and we are delighted to hear that The Freeth suited all three generations of your family so well. Thank you for choosing The Freeth for your holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJWoodhou...
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great for all ages and in all weathers”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely family holiday at The Freeth. It is in a beautiful rural location, away from all the hustle and bustle. The night sky was amazing. There are walks from the door and the place is both children and dog friendly. There are three staircases accessing different parts of the sleeping accommodation which allows different family groups to have a wing or area to themselves. There were also plenty of places to escape from each other should you need to do so and lots of books, DVDs, toys and games to keep everyone entertained in rainy weather - and of course there is a swimming pool. We felt that it was very good value for money, particularly when you think what you would pay for the same property in one of the tourist hotspots like Devon. We had not realised just how beautiful Herefordshire is. With its close proximity to the Malverns and Welsh Borders, I suppose it is often overlooked which is a real shame. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
We are so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your time at The Freeth and discovered the joys of Herefordshire. Thank you for choosing to come and stay with us during the Easter holidays and we hope to see you back here at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devi24
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly wonderful family stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a week here with family, It was our annual getaway with all the siblings and children. We had the most amazing time ever, For October the weather was glorious which was a bonus and meant we were able to spend some time in the wonderful gardens. The setting is is just picture perfect! Would love to return in the summer months and have a garden party! We made full use of all the facilities, especially the indoor swimming pool! We created some wonderful memories at this place from picking apples in the orchard, cycling around the grounds, relaxing and playing games in the lounge with an open log fire to just gathering around in the kitchen with the AGA. The formal dining room seated all of us comfortably which meant we also had the opportunity to make the evenings even more special. The kitchen is really well equipped and the attention to detail continues throughout the whole property. Peta made us feel so welcome and we arrived at the cottage to whole lot of luxury goodies awaiting us. From cider to a yummy home baked chocolate cake and local produce! I could go on for ever but you need to stay here and experience the this luxurious and homely property! Thanks Peta for creating such a wonderful property that felt just like home. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Freeth so much. Please do come back at some point in the summer and we'll try to arrange the weather to be just as good!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
262angela...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Couldn't fault!”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

15 members of our family aged from 19 to 86 stayed at the Freeth for a long weekend in October 2015 to celebrate 3 birthdays. Our group have spent weekends away
in many large houses around the country over the last 5 years and I can honestly say this was the best! The decor and attention to detail, cleanliness and friendliness of the owners and their team were first class and we couldn't fault it. Apart from a small walk/run in the nearby countryside we didn't leave the house and gardens all weekend (we didn't feel the need!) so can't really comment on the surrounding area but the location of The Freeth, a bit in the middle of nowhere, was absolutely fantastic too. We made good use of the pool, and table tennis and the beds were really comfortable too. All in all a fabulous place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2015
Thank you for your very kind and helpful review and we are thrilled that The Freeth worked so well for all generations of your family. It is always lovely to hear that we are the best house you've stayed in for a gathering such as this, so very much hope we'll be able to help you again at some stage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunita T
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous for our family get together and worth every penny!”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great communication all the way up to our booking. When we arrived we were greeted with such friendliness and courtesy, Peta was there to answer all our questions; she even popped by in the evening once we had settled in, to check that we were all okay and to offer help if we needed it. Every thing was perfect. The house is extremely spacious for our party of 13, the décor and the feel of the property was warm and welcoming. Each room was individually decorated and the bedrooms met every-ones needs. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with everything you need for that homely feel. We even picked apples from the orchard and baked the yummiest apple- crumble... big enough for us all.
And... there is a huge wonderful AGA to cook on...which as a bonus kept the whole house really warm!
There is a huge supply of books and magazines to read for everyone's taste, and a fantastic choice of DVD's too. The TV room is the perfect size, and the room next door to it is ideal for those who want to sit and chat or just relax... and nap!
The gardens surrounding the cottage were picturesque and spacious, all the children...and adults, made the most of the games and bikes provided. Everything was perfect.
The swimming pool was the icing on the cake, all our own to use whenever we wanted to, a huge hit with the children and the adults.
Location - secluded and private, cars are needed, especially for trips to the local well-equipped Co-Op about 4miles away in Bromyard.
Great walks in the surrounding area too, which we really enjoyed exploring.
As a family we get together once a year, this is our 5th gathering, and by far the best cottage/house letting. It really is hard to fault anything about this property...so I wont!
I highly recommend this property for any family/friends get together like ours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness and space both inside and outside.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and detailed review which I'm sure prospective guests will find really helpful. It lovely to meet your family and we're thrilled that you all enjoyed The Freeth and everything it has to offer so much. We're only disappointed to miss out on the apple crumble! Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back here at some point in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sat_B04
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Truly an Amazing House in a Lovely Setting”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A large family get-together at a beautiful house over the bank holiday weekend. The property was amazing - the kids loved the garden and pool, while the adults enjoyed a lovely country walk around the estate.

The owners were outstanding and made every effort to accommodate our needs and make our stay absolutely perfect.

We look forward to organising our return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2015
We are delighted that you loved your stay at The Freeth so much and enjoyed everything it has to offer. If we can ever help you again, please let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonnaBDea...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Wonderful”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed at The Freeth with my family and four other familes as a celebration of our oldest children finishing primary school. We looked for a long time to find what we thought would be the perfect place and we are all pretty fussy...
We found it in the beautiful Freeth.
I feel that I do not want to say too much as it will become booked up and we will have to wait to stay again, although I would like to try the owners other house The Hyde, which Peta ( the lovely owner ) showed us around. You just can not go wrong in choosing to stay in this fantastic house. DD London

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That I did not own it
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2015
Huge thanks for taking the time review your stay with us. We really enjoyed having you to stay at The Freeth and meeting you all. We are delighted that you and the children had such a good time. Please come back and stay with us again soon - you are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing