We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation for a large gathering”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Hyde

Four poster bedroom at The hyde
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Four poster bedroom at The hyde
The Hyde's dining room in the medieval hall that seats 20 The Hyde from outside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Four poster bedroom at The hyde
The Hyde's dining room in the medieval hall that seats 20
The Hyde from outside
The Hyde's private steam train available on request
The Hyde's large, well-equipped kitchen
The Hyde's Solar Bedroom - Bed can be king size or twins
Hyde Bathrooms to luxuriate in
View from hill above The Hyde of surrounding countryside
Hyde's Wendy house
Hyde's Tennis court
One of three trout lakes at The Hyde
There's even a mini maze to entertain the kids
Elizabethan barn that houses bikes and games
Hyde's south facing terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
10 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Bromyard, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
4401Dawn
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic accommodation for a large gathering”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Hyde, it is a beautifully refurbished house which has been modernised but still retains a lot of original features. We all made the most of the grounds and particularly enjoyed the steam train.
The owners and house keeper went out of their way to ensure we had a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review for The Hyde and we're really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope that you'll come back again sometime soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brist0l
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and wonderful luxury”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

A group of 20 old friends take a weekend away every year and our expectations are high. The Hyde ranks amongst the best that we have visited over the last 15 years, and we loved it. The house has been lovingly restored with no expense spared, and the standard of decoration and comfort is first rate. Peta is delightful and very helpful and our stay was a huge hit with my friends, so much so that there are requests to return - most unusual in our group. So we shall be back,.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2014
We are so pleased that The Hyde was such a success for your annual get-together. We'd love you to come another year, so do let us know if we can help again. Or, we are due to launch another lovely house nearby on the estate early in 2015, which is very different, but will be just as well decorated, comfortable and well equipped. Watch this space!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayess51
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for get togethers”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2012

(Actually stayed 2011). We were a large group of friends and family celebrating a 60th birthday. The kitchen was great, in fact everything was great. We also hired the adjoining cottage which was great. Thoroughly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: going home!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
What a kind review, thank you. We're really glad that you enjoyed your 60th birthday celebration with us so much - it is what the house is designed for!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susy R
Sandbach, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just outstanding...”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in February 2013

We rented The Hyde for my fathers 80th birthday and were one of the first visitors.Peta and her husband could not have done more to make us welcome...home made cake waiting,cider from their apples and more.The property is beautifully renovated and the renovated barn was great for the older children and their partners.The kids locked themselves out of the barn and Peta was over in minutes to let them in and also send back to us some clothes my nephew had left.
The railway round the garden was a great hit and the locals that work on it really interesting.garden is great for kids.The house is a real party house and we have stayed in several large cottages and this has to have been the best.Could not more highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the property and the friendly owners
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2014
Thank you for you lovely review of your stay and we are delighted that it worked so well for your father's 80th party and that all ages had a good time. If he'd like to celebrate his 85th at The Hyde too, we'd love to see you all again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coops373
Stamford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic for a special occasion”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed here in June 2014 for my husband's 40th birthday celebrations. It was perfect from start to finish.
The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you would ever need. There wasn't a 'dud' bedroom, which was such a relief when you've got so many families coming to stay and all making a contribution to the cost. There was a wonderful hamper of goodies - all locally produced, you can tell a lot of thought and effort has gone in to this venture. The owner, Peta popped over to check we were settled in okay on our first evening, she was lovely. The tennis court was very popular and we hardly saw the kids all weekend with so much to explore. It really was a perfect weekend, and the quality of the house went someway to making it such a success. I can highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Many thanks for choosing The Hyde and do let us know if you would like to stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing