We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub for a saturday night......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown and Sceptre Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The pub itself is excellent the staff friendly and very helpful...the back room is brilliant if you want to watch sports on a large screen. Enjoyed a whole afternoon in there drinking and chatting to friends with the rugby on the big screen great atmosphere.
The food and value for money was great...the food was pub grub which is always a nice change from gastropub food.

The room was good although only slept in it...the room clean and bed very comfy. But double glazing and a blackout blind would help easy the noise from the road and the streetlights and stop the draught through the window.
A lovely well cooked breakfast in the morning

otherwise a great stay and i think we will return

Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

Booked a table for 11 of us for a birthday meal. Had a great table and the atmosphere was brilliant, restaurant was busy but we felt like we were the only ones there. The food came quickly and our meals arrived all together. One of our party who was following slimming world asked for the butter to be left off and was delighted to have not broken her diet plan. The food was super and we were able to take advantage of a 2 for 1 meal offer. Great value, great food and a great night.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haines73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Crown & Sceptre for two nights while visiting friends in Bromyard and had an excellent stay. Lovely pub with B&B rooms above, very welcoming staff, food was home made and to an excellent quality. Rooms are obviously knewly refurbished and very clean. There wasnt much parking on site however this was not an isue as there was plenty of street parking just outside the front of the pub. Would highly reccomend

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at back of pub,very noisy till 2 am.staff not at all helpful ,one couldn't even make a coffee on arrival. Disco was thumping all night ,no sleep at al! Ceiling in room looked as if it were about to fall down,could be dangerous,All in all not a pleasant stay,won't be staying again!

Room Tip: Stayed in back of pub,very noisy till 2 am disco was thumping,so no sleep! Staff not at all helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kizzycardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Only two positive things to say - Bed was comfy and the room was nice BUT
Bed stand creaks at the lightest movement and is in direct line of the TV. Room at the front of the hotel suffered from road noise and the departure of drunk and noisy customers and on Friday night the noise from the disco would keep you awake at the rear of the hotel. The room lacked basics such a glass for a drink of water, kettle didn't work properly, curtains needed to be re-hung, there was no soap - only cheap unbranded shower gel. The shower cubicle was dirty and had the added bonus of a pube!
The fire door does not close properly at the top of the stairs.
The room had not been cleaned properly, with dust on all surfaces such as the window ledges, skirting boards and lamps. The inside of the windows had not seen a cloth in a while either!
Breakfast - what a joke! DIY cereal from industrial sized boxes, make your own tea in a dirty cup, cheap white bread and the poached eggs looked like they had been dropped from a height!
Overall a terrible experience - not to be repeated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie25W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

There were a few minor things that made my comment 'almost perfect' , Nowhere in the bathroom to hang your wet towels, no toilet lid and at breakfast no side plate and butter knife for your toast.
None of these would stop me staying again just minor things that can be easily be addressed.
The room was nice, clean and had a wonderful comfortable bed.
When we booked in and asked if we needed to book at table for the evening we were told that there had been a festival on that weekend and the kitchen staff had decided to take the day off.
That left us having to venture out to find somewhere else to eat, as we were looking at places a local walking his dog stop and recommended places for us, at the top of his list was the crown & sceptre so was disappointed that we could not eat there, we did have breakfast the next day, which was fine. We ventured to The Royal Oak at Bromyard Downs and had a very enjoyable meal so all was not lost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank octopussied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in this b&b/pub this weekend. We were given room 4, which is a large family room at the front of the pub, with a seperate area with sofa beds in, a huge closet and nice bathroom. The room does front right onto the fairly busy road, so there was a bit of traffic noise and we had to make sure the curtains were closed or people can see right in! Which was a slight pain as it was baking hot, so closing the curtains cut off the breeze. The room itself was lovely and very comfy, with a TV and tea and coffee making.

The pub itself is really nice, and the beer garden out the back is gorgeous. We ate out there in the evening and watched the swallows fly around us, beautiful! There wasn't large groups of noisy drinkers of people smoking to spoil it either. The food was very nice, and good value for money. The staff were all nice and friendly, and even provided a waiter service for drinks while we sat outside! The only thing that could be improved is breakfast- although the cooked brekkie was nice, there was no fruit, jam or yoghurt etc- only a couple of boxes of cereal.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in this lovely b&b and would love to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bromyard hotels
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bromyard
127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Huntlands Farm Bed & Breakfast
0 mi away
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
Holly Tree B&B Bromyard
#2 of 9 in Bromyard
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Buckenhill Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#8 of 9 in Bromyard
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Bromyard
The Inn at Bromyard
#3 of 9 in Bromyard
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown and Sceptre Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown and Sceptre Inn

Address: 7 Sherford Street, Bromyard HR7 4DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bromyard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bromyard
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown & Sceptre has new owners and after an extensive refurbishment opened on 29th April 2016. This family friendly pub has a lovely beer garden with children's play area and has stunning views across the Downs. The Crown and Sceptre has wheelchair access and disabled amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Crown and Sceptre Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown And Sceptre Inn Bromyard, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing