We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal on 30/05/14”
Review of The Royal oak

The Royal oak
Ranked #7 of 23 Restaurants in Bromyard
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Royal oak in Bromyard is set in beautiful gardens, the food is reasonably priced, well presented and very nice. Well worth a visit.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

For those that have never tried this place, give it a go, it's set in a stunning position on the edge of the Bromyard downs, with views that are breath taking. We are lucky to live not to far from this place, on this occasion went for evening meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary, taking our kids along. We prebooked a table close to the pool table so the kids would be occupied. Upon arrival, they had reserved us a table exactly where we asked for.
There is a reasonably varied menu to suit all tastes. Prices are about right for the quality of the food, ie not the cheapest, but then the food is always very good. On this occasion I went for the sirloin steak, it came cooked exactly as I had asked. The friendly and helpfull staff accommodated a few alterations to the kids meals. The staff are always spot on in this place.
The beers available are really good, as a casque mark pub, this should be expected, but they do keep a good pint. The house wines are also very good.
The only negative point I have to say is that the outside of the building is letting the place down a bit, the front of the building as you arrive looks very shabby when viewed from the car park, but please don't let this put you off,, once inside it's lovely. The gardens and patio area are also beautifull on a nice day.
Overall a very good place to relax, enjoy a decent pint and tuck into some decent food at a reasonable price. I would definitely reccomend to anyone and will certainly be going back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

This in my opinion is a bit overpriced for the standard, nothing really terrible but if you can have better food more reasonably price what's the point of going, service .lots of great pubs to eat in bromyard, but stunning location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hrftravler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phil w, Owner at The Royal oak, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

The point of coming to a great pub like The Royal Oak, is the good food fine ales and as you said the stunning location

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were staying near Bromyard for a few days and visited the Royal Oak twice, once for dinner and once for Sunday lunch. On both occasions we had a good experience. The beer was good, the staff friendly and efficient, the food of good quality and of reasonable value, a good, traditional atmosphere in the pub, pleasant gardens and, being on the Downs, fine views outside and dog friendly too! What more could you want? This is how all English pubs should be!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russthewelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We live in Bromyard, and sometime have Sunday Lunch out, the Royal Oak is situated on the downs, and we went for a very pleasant Sunday Lunch, both location and food was very good, its also a nice spot being on the Downs, in summary this is everything that is good about an English pub serving real good honest grub, in a relaxed atmosphere, This makes a pleasant change from the usual Harvester/Beefeater stereotype, it's very popular and best to book table in advance. There are several similar pubs serving food i the area, Royal Oak, Admiral Rodney,Talbot

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We were staying locally and chose the royal oak from a range of other pubs. Plenty of room with a good range of dishes on the menu and three real ales on tap. It wasn't very busy so service was prompt and efficient. Based on the demeanour of the host I couldn't see the experience changing. We had three courses. The chocolate brownie sundae was lovely but don't eat too much beforehand.

We plan to return when we are in the area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Staffspublover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal oak also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Royal oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing