We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Jewel....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Live & Let Live

The Live & Let Live
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Bromyard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“A hidden Jewel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hello,

My Wife and I have visted this lovely country pub a few times now, and I believe never write a review until you have re-visted a few times, that way you see if the business is consistent at providing a good level of service.

Well, I am pleased to report they are!

When my Wife and I have been visiting the Live & Let Live, the staff are always polite, helpful and wearing a friendly smile (always helps) The food in the main has been good, the only comment I would make is that when ordering a steak, I would expect more Mushrooms, serving one seemed a little odd. When I asked for more, they were pleased to oblige.

The pub has a wonderful feel to it of ''ye olde'' England with it's old beams of a bygone era.If you let your imagination wonder it transports you back in time. When visiting, have a quick look upstairs!

If you can get to sit next to the fire, then this are the best tables to reserve in the Winter
months. Outside, during Spring and Summer it is a delight; a manicured garden, reasonable seating area and nestled in the bossom of Bringsty Common. And to boot, the walks are great, especially if you have a Dog, which the Pub also allow inside. Bonus.
And as keen walkers we were pleased to learn the Pub was open all day on Friday and Saturday.

I would, however, strongly advise, if you are looking to dine here at weekends then you book in advance!

All, in all, a pleasurable drinking and dining experience, provided, by, Sue and Jamie, always friendly and have a positive can do attitude!.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Forreal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    88
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonning Common, Berks
Level Contributor
266 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Lovely thatched pub on a common. Recently restored and very atmospheric. Food is generous portions of pub staples - roasts, lasagnes, etc - nicely cooked with good flavours. Staff were very friendly and helpful . A nice range of local real ales.
There was no children's menu when we visited on a Sunday, but they did do smaller portions (for a small discount). There are plenty of tables outside but I would have thought reservations were essential during the summer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
528 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“great atmosphere with typical pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had reserved a table on a (very busy) Saturday evening at 7.15pm. - despite the early hour they had already sold out of some menu choices but we managed to choose alternatives! The staff are very helpful and attentive. The menu is what I'd call typical pub food including locally sourced steaks and sausages. I believe the atmosphere is what draws people- it really comes into its own on a cold night as there are log burners and you can sit upstairs under the willow thatched roof- most romantic and atmospheric!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Worcs
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, great pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Well restored old cider house with nice outdoor area.
Comfortable and cosy bar.
Real ale on tap and a straightforward pub food menu.
The food was well cooked and most enjoyable.
The fish and chips was particularly good, the batter crisp and the fish moist and tender.
Service was pleasant and efficient.
I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penkridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Scrumptious steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

A bit out the way for me but as I was in the area and taken there by some friends I didn't mind. The started of white bait was delicious though could have done with a dipping sauce. The steak was cooked perfectly, melted in your mouth and was full of flavour. Staff were courteous and the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Live & Let Live also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Whitbourne, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Live & Let Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing