We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of The Falcon Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Falcon Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Restaurants in Bromyard
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Called into The Falcon in Bromyard today with a group of walkers. Pre booked our food before the walk. We were shown into the lovely restaurant, spotless tablecloths, silver, clean cutlery, glasses etc. Quite a difference in the selection of food, some hot - while myself and husband had the BEST sandwich ever. Made on their own bread, which was exquisite, I had prawn, while he had hot very tender beef with horseradish. They were enormous sandwiches, I could barely eat all mine. The other had various i.e. from risotto to curry to beef and suit pud, all clean plates and no complaints. The owner/lady is not to be trifled with, looks terrifying, but don't be scared, give it a go!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    3
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Lovely service, excellent food, great 1920/30s music in the background and spotless tablecloths, cutlery etc...it was like going into the oats,,,in a good way !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reduced me to tears”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I didn't stay here (thank goodness) but attended an event in the bar in the afternoon. A few of us decided to stay for food as it looked tastey and good value. I asked a simple question when ordering a was told by the landlord in a whiney, shouty voice 'I don't know!' I was rather taken aback, and asked if he was the landlord. He carried on in his quite aggressive way saying things like 'he's just an old man and can't be expected to know about the menu' and how I should read it properly myself. When I asked why he was being so aggressive with me he said he 'was just trying to shut me up and stop me asking questions'.I was so upset by the incident that I went outside and cried! I also witnessed the landlady telling off a young member of staff infront of customers.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank f-gasted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A joke”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

10/10 for hilarity value. Ordered belly pork, after an inordinately long wait it arrived with no crackling, this after being treated to a row between the owner and the porter, when doors were banged, loud shouts and thumping feet. when I sent the meal back, I was offered another meal, however I overheard a neighbour asking for something to be told that Silvia didn't know how long it would take. I decided not to take the chance. Attitude of Silvia and John, was that the customers were a nuisance. Friend had a beautiful beef sandwich, but Fawlty Towers was the name that came to mind for us. !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 908trish908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Generous servings”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went in for a light lunch which is what we ordered but the servings for six pounds each were so generous we will not cook this evening. A good choice of non standard fare. I had Moroccan duck with couscous. The service was also good. When a group of six arrived and there was no tables in the bar they showed them into the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Falcon Hotel also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing