We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the visit.”

Kingfisher Trout Lake
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Bromyard
Attraction details
yorkshire uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“worth the visit.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

How many town centres can you go to and have places like this to visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylooYorkshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing day out”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The venue was great, with many different swims and places to fish. The day our party went the fishing was a little slow, and only 5 fish caught all day between 6 of us ( probably our fault not the fish)We had a great welcome from Dennis who did everything to make our day enjoyable, including driving to a nearby pastie shop to keep us well fed. Great place to visit would definatley recommend it, but dont throw "Mike the Knife" in the brambles.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Trout fishery.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Trout fishery in the heart of herefordshire countryside.Run very well by Christine and Darren but owned by Dennis(father in law).Brillaint all year round fishery with catch and kill tickets and unlimited catch and release tickets.Hard fighting fully finned fish supplied by Bibury Trout Farm.Hot drinks free.Meals can be catered for and recently the fishery has hosted a large after wedding party with marquee etc.Have fished here for over 15 years and have not had to complain yet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcesrer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fishing day out”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We decided my friend and i to take another day out fishing at our favourite venue kingfisher lakes , you are more or less garuanteed to catch fish , the lady who runs the place is so friendly and make us so welcome .We are going again tommorow as the prices are quite reasonable thanks for everything Bob and Gordon from Bromsgrove

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Gem in Herefordshire”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Each Summer we migrate southwards from the North West Islands of Scotland to spend a week in Wales and a week in Herefordshire. This year was no exception and after enjoying Wales we spent our final week once again visiting old haunts in Herefordshire.

My husband's passion is fishing (it is he who worded this review for me) and there are few places more splendidly idyllic than Kingfisher Lake just outside Bromyard. It is in serenely beautiful surroundings, and well-stocked with hard-fighting rainbows.

This game fishery - as far as I am aware, the only one in Herefordshire - is run by a wonderful young family (one not quite two years old!), who are passionate about their business, engaging and "fisher-friendly". Nowhere else have I come across any other fishery so openly and honestly displaying daily catch records detailing historical and present returns. The permit charges are also very very reasonable.

Needless to say I visited this fishery 5 times! Each time catching my limit of 4 fish, and on one occasion going back for another ticket. (For fishermen and woud-be piscators - frequent changes of flies and very slow retrieves work wonders!). The evening rise on this lake is camparable with the best in the land. Surprising then, that on occasions I have had this little delight all to myself. This is a superb asset to Herefordshire and I would urge fishers to "have a cast." You will most certainly not be disappointed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingfisher04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingfisher Trout Lake also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to Kingfisher Trout Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing