We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fox & Badger

The Fox & Badger
Ranked #5 of 23 Restaurants in Bromyard
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Back in 1984, an enthusiastic soul created 'The Fox and Badger' on Bromyard high street, where it became a bustling bar favored by many in the small Herefordshire market town. Loving owners Jim and Elyn knew they wanted to bring The Fox & Badger back with a bang- creating the bustling high street hub that Bromyard deserves. A friendly welcome awaits at the coffee shop during the day, with the restaurant full of conversation, music and laughter each and every evening. Jim and Elyn find their customers love to people-watch through the beautiful glass windows at the front of the restaurant. This meant that the large room at the back of the building needed a new purpose- and voila- Jim's Sports Bar was born! With a full-size snooker table, a pool table, jukebox, games machines, Sky Sports, billiards, darts and more, the Sports Bar is the perfect place to unwind and the late license means you can enjoy a wide range of cocktails, spirits, beers and ciders with your friends in the heart of Bromyard.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pleasant team and service , Lunch was ok but maybe not their best day. Seemed very average bread very average filling the same, and both mine and my wifes coffee was not the greatest, looking at the reviews looks like just may have been a bit of an off day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot recommend more highly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were at Bromyard for a family get together, and after an unfortunate incident at the one last year (don't ask!), were looking for somewhere different to eat. After reading the reviews on here, we decided to give it a try.

I can only repeat what many other reviews on here say. The food was excellent - good sized portions at reasonable prices, the staff were friendly and attentive - nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back next year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank groutman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great night, warm welcome, good service, good food. Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went for an event night, it was great fun and made better by the organisation of the evening. The food was really good value for money, it tasted good, the home made cake was amazing! the staff were friendly and couldn't help enough (considering there were over 60 guests). We will be going back and taking friends! Thanks for a great night

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A late Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Four grownups and one younger customer all hungry after a morning walking. We had used No.1 before and enjoyed a lunchtime salad (without salad cream I must say) so decided to give it a try again. We were only just inside their advertised lunch serving period and were greeted heartily, shown to an immaculate tale, seated and brought menus for both big people and small people. Traditional Sunday fare was what we sought and our order was taken for a mixture of lamb and beef dinners - obligingly a half portion of lamb was prepared for our small person and served with a Yorkshire pudding at her request. All arrived piping hot with separate dishes of vegetables. I should have liked to comment on the deserts but so good were the main courses and two of our group being on a diet we gave them a miss. The bill was delivered when we asked for it and for the amount we all felt that it was excellent value for money. I will certainly dine there again following this really happy experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ga5tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must try place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were in Bromyard for the day and decided to give No1 a try. So glad we did as we had lunch here and found it a great experience. We sat in the coffee shop and the food was excellent with everything fresh, tasty and delicious! The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us; we were so impressed that we will be returning with friends to have a meal in the restaurant very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mann28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Badger also viewed

Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 
Bromyard, Herefordshire
Bromyard, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Fox & Badger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing