We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini break with the oldies x”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bovingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bovingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Myself and my house mate needed to find a dog friendly hotel/ B and B as we has to take one of our dogs to a nearby vet and it was too far to travel in one day. We decided to take our respective parents to give them a mini break at the same time. We found Sandra and Rob both welcoming, charming and made sure we had everything we needed. From the small personal touches of toiletries and plenty of fluffy warm towels to the extravagant hot tub experience just a few feet away from our rooms. The food Sandra prepared for us was outstanding and my Mum said her pudding was "heaven in a glass". The rooms were personalised, spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Under what would have been stressful circumstances with our poorly pets were made easier with the home comforts found at the fir trees a must stay for anyone. Thank you Sandra and Rob , Nelly the dog misses her mate Snowy already x

Room Tip: The Valencia is the largest of the rooms but you will have a lovely stay in any of the three rooms o...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Down2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and cannot recommend it enough. Sandra and Rob are super hosts and cannot do enough for you. The cooking is excellent and next time we will be going to one of Sandra's restaurant nights. The rooms were lovely. We got there very late on Christmas Eve due to delayed flights and when we got to room there was wine and fruit cake waiting for us. Thank you so much and we will see you again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely !!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Fir Trees over a few months (November thru January) while I worked on a project in the Bovingdon area. This lovely B&B is situated in a lovely country setting surrounded by woods and meadows. It is private, well set back from the main road (Hemel Hempstead Rd.) so that one passing by on the road has to look carefully not to pass the long wooded driveway and guests staying in never hear a hint of traffic noise. You arrive to a lovely main house with a courtyard and a row of cottages. I stayed in the Capri which provided plenty of room and storage space along with a lovely en-suite bath. The room has its own temperature control along with complete satellite television service and a high speed wireless connection. There is a kettle and a good collection of teas and coffee along with dishes and glassware provided in the room. The bedding is lush and comfortable and the room kept spotless! These are the physical qualities which are outstanding but nothing stands out more at The Fir Trees than the incredible level of service Sandra and Robert go out of their way to provide their guests. They are the perfect hosts and allow their guests the right combination of privacy and personal care. Working long and exhausting hours left me little time to handle personal chores like laundry. Sandra sorted this and any other issues I came across effortlessly and with a smile. Sandra is a wonderful cook and was often at my door with a late night meal or snack and glass of wine when I came in late from work. She and Rob invited me into their home for dinner parties with friends and other guests. In short, The Fir Trees became very much a home away from home and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a lovely place to stay in Hertfordshire. I look forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely. I stayed in the smallest cottage. There are also rooms available in t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soundgirlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed at Fir Trees one night while visiting friends in the area. Wished we could have stayed longer! Very warm welcome, spotless room with everything we could possibly need. Delicious breakfast. Would definitely like to stay again and sample one of Sandra's evening meals.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Manager at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Was lovely to meet you .looking forward to giving you a great meal next time and seeing you again

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Fancy us not giving this wonderful B and B a review before now?? Well, we don't give reviews and it is ages since Val and I stayed there. We actually lost the business card but now it is found and I can tell all and sundry that, being rather particular (and world travellers) we can now tell all this home is fantastic in every way. Must visit the area again simply to stay at the Fir Trees. Just two criticisms....They don't charge enough and the idiot bureaucratic council person who gave them a miserly four out of five is an idiot. It is wonderful and not to be missed. Thanks both for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie_who
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

It was a great experience to meet such a learned man with so much experience and fantastic stories and advice

So nice of you submitting the review as you did say you don't do reviews!

The 4 was due to lack of filling in some papers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I spent one week in December at this wonderful b&b. This was my first experience staying in a bed and breakfast. My room was in the main house. It was clean and comfy, same with the bathrooms. It really was like a home away from home. The food was awesome, and Sandra always greeted me with a glass of wine when I returned at night.

All around it was a very lovely experience and I plan to return with my partner as soon as I can!

Room Tip: The cottage units provide more privacy if that's what yer looking for.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Manager at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

It was lovely to have such a vibrant interesting young woman from the USA stay with us and we very much appreciate your kind words We are so much looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We are from Australia travelling this December, came across this wonderful place " Fir Trees"
Well, Rob giving us directions to this absolute delightful hideaway, then to meet with such warmth from Sandra, both made us feel so welcome. The room was beautiful, lovely quality linen, comfy bed, beautiful decor throughout, and very personal touches, as well, very luxurious. Evening dinner made personally from Sandra was scrumptious, plenty of it, and what a wonderful hostess, the time flew by enjoying it all. We slept like babies, as it is so quite, surrounded by forest area and nature, a real bonus for anyone. We would recommend this delightful place to anyone to stay, the best thing we can say overall is the hosts, and Sandra is a real gem, she is what,s this place is so gorgeous, a truly lovely person that gives you warmth, and makes you feel so welcome. We will definitely love to return for another stay.

Room Tip: Everyone is excellent
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra C, Owner at Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

It was an absolute delight to see such a wonderful couple from the other side of the world and to have them comment that whilst in England the meal they had here was the best they had had.Also it will be nice for you to come back with your Grandchildren in January we are looking forward to seeing you Thank you for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bovingdon
1.7 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
412 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempstead
Holiday Inn Express Hemel Hempst...
#1 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
746 reviews
3.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Aubrey Park Hotel
Aubrey Park Hotel
#8 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
653 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shendish Manor Hotel
Shendish Manor Hotel
#7 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West Hotel
Premier Inn Hemel Hempstead West...
#5 of 10 in Hemel Hempstead
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Trees Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hempstead Road | near Hemel Hempstead, Bovingdon HP3 0DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bovingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bovingdon
Price Range: $88 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated guest house which offers visitors a friendly and intimate atmosphere. It is a true home from home and is set in an area of outstanding natural woodland beauty, yet close to all amenities. Whether you're planning a family holiday, romantic weekend or marking a special event, Fir Trees Bed and Breakfast can cater for your every need, including excellent food choices. If you are conducting business in Hertfordshire, the tranquil yet accessible location is ideal for unwinding close to nature. There's even a large Hot Tub in an Alpine House where you can relieve the stresses of modern-day living. We have two king size ensuite double rooms (Sorrento and Venetian) and one ensuite queen size double room (Capri). All three are equipped with satellite TV, WIFI and tea and coffee making facilities. Each room is completely self contained and separated from the main house by a courtyard. There is ample parking is close to the rooms. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing