We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, no frills”
Review of The Chase Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Chase Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very friendly, no frills”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We booked at the last minute for 2 nights and paid considerably less than we have paid elsewhere during the last few years.
First impressions were mixed. The bedding was pristine and brilliant white, but the towels were a disappointing off-white colour. Without exception, the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to be helpful throughout our visit.
Food was good, honest fare at very reasonable prices; draught beer was well kept.
Unfortunately, the matresses were poor and so our beds were not comfortable. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and a small TV, but no hair dryer and few toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
33
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have just stayed at the Chase whilst on a heating course.
The staff are very friendly as are the locals.
Food excelent beds comfy and clean.
Rooms good but could do with new carpets soon.
I would stay there again and recomend to people who want good accomodation at the right price.
Tom EXETER.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I have never stopped anywhere as disgraceful as this place before. I've been up and down the country for many years now and writing reviews on hotels and bnb's and have never before stopped in accommodation as overall bad all round. The rooms were filthy and smelt of raw sewage. The food was cheap but still nowhere near 'value' for money. Breakfast came with mouldy toast. The landlord and landlady were ignorant and rude. Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy. My advice would be save your money and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ihatemancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

'We're not the Ritz', said the landlady as she showed us our room. Sure, they're not, but for a countryside inn with extremely budget-friendly prices, this is as good as it gets. Rooms are clean and tidy, the water is hot and with good pressure, beds are comfortable. There's a nice selection of pub food - not pre-packaged, pub-chain food or gastropub fancy things, but the real stuff, cooked then and there and just the thing after a long day. Staff keep an eye out for what individual guests need and whether you're sightseeing in the area or just travelling through, you get a very friendly welcome - we felt really looked after!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2011

haven't actually stayed overnight but could really recommend the food. we have been loads of times and the steak is extremely good. All of the menu is very good and the standard of cooking is excellent. The staff are very friendly which makes your stay there very homely. Would recommend to everyone. Paul and Emma are great!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deblichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. Great value for money. Food was good and cheap and one of the best pints if Guiness I've had. Friendly service and the locals were welcoming too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigstock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

So it's not the ritz but what do you expect for what you pay? It is value for money clean rooms hot water at any time of the day or night food is good we were lucky enough to be there for the fish night excellent breakfast all you could wish for and freshly cooked to order the hosts Emma and Paul friendly and couldn't do enough for you I should think if you had a problem we didn't they would be quick to sort it. Emma the staff member we saw the most was a delightful young lady who gave us loads of places to visit whith the kind of information you only get from someone with knowledge we had a great stay and the locals added to the pleasure of the stay

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishop's Frome
2.3 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
417 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,598 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stansted Airport
Radisson Blu Hotel London Stanst...
#2 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
4,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chase Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chase Inn

Property: The Chase Inn
Address: 4 Bridge Street, Bishop's Frome WR6 5BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Bishop's Frome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop's Frome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chase Inn is a free house B&B situated in the picturesque village of bishops Frome. Serving home cooked food all day 7 days a week. Locally sourced cask conditioned ales a great range of lagers and ciders. Pool room. Beer garden and child and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chase Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chase Hotel Bishop`s Frome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing