We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“as good as ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“as good as ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

again enjoyed our stay. as always a warm welcome from Richard and Liz . Good local ales, cider and splendid food. the daily lifts to the start of our walks worked very well

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thymetwogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    40
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
97
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

All I can say. If you are in the area of this fantastic inn pop in for a meal. Great food, owner is always there to make sure everything is ok. Really had a lovely evening. Will go there again

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebputney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Didn't stay here but had a very enjoyable dinner at the Riverside Inn. The staff were friendly and the atmosphere very relaxed. Interesting and varied menu with most of food sourced locally. Quality was excellent - good portions, nicely presented and main courses included beautifully cooked vegetables (at no extra charge!). It's also nice to find a good restaurant where you can take your dog.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loire valley france
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We were touring the area and popped in for a snack lunch - we were so impressed we immediately booked for dinner and we were not disappointed. My starter of local trout with pea, broad bean and asparagus was a delight - lovely fresh balance of flavours and my husband's home-made pate was delicious. The rack of lamb with a confit of shoulder will live in my memory for a long time and my husband said his pork was "perfect". We were impressed by the use of local ingredients and the service was professional and friendly. We hope to return in the very near future and this time stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchlady37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

Just stayed at the Riverside Inn after my daughter found it on the Internet. I was initially slightly put off by its own website, which perhaps did not extol its whole virtues, but after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to give it a go. Extremely glad we did so because we had a great weekend and we did see the kingfishers. In a lovely peaceful setting, with plenty to see in the area (including Ludlow), our accommodation was adequate and clean. The meals were fabulous and we had two lunches, dinner, and breakfast. Each one was a delight, with local ingredients, which were well cooked and presented. Contrary to one or two other comments, the quantity was more than sufficient and the service was cheerful and prompt. Richard, Liz, and his staff were extremely helpful and made us feel really welcome. I thank them all for a super weekend. We shall be going back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49brianl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stayed for a Saturday night in the Hayloft which has a large sitting area and direct access to the beer garden which we had to ourselves for most of the time. We had an excellent meal the quality of the food and service was faultless. The staff and owner were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was also excellent with local produce well cooked and very tasty. This stay was a birthday treat for my wife at the end of a week away and it made the day special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKTravellerWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

This was our first stay in Herefordshire and we were surprised and pleased by the peace and tranqulity of the county even on a bank holiday/half term! We stayed in the stable suite at The Riverside Inn which offered us a lounge, bedroom and bathroom, with plenty of space to feel comfortable for our 2 nights. Very convenient for the riverside garden and only a few steps away from the main restaurant building and our car parked beside. The only drawbacks to the riverside valley location is the lack of mobile signal so no calls or txts while you are there! Digital tv reception was also a bit wobbly at times! There is however wireless internet and Richard will give you the access codes on request so emailing is really your only link to work, friends and family while on site!

The Inn is more of a restaurant than a pub with all inside space taken over by dining tables. If you want to drink you stand at the bar or sit outside.
We had two great meals from the wide ranging menu and were delighted with the presentation and qualiy of what was served. The style was more gastro pub than traditional Inn so if you expect very large portions you may be disappointed! The wine list was great and the house wine very acceptable both in price and quality. Breakfast was first class in the cosy breakfast room and your choice cooked to order. Fabulous creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon!

Richard was the perfect host and gave invaluable advice on local attractions and routes! Overall a great find!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChangingManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
8.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
6.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Lion
The Lion
#1 of 9 in Leintwardine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#2 of 3 in Wigmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Address: Aymestrey HR6 9ST , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Riverside Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn And Restaurant
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant Hotel Aymestrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing