We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and tranquil location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Aymestrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent food and tranquil location”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited the Riverside Inn last weekend and the weather was fantastic. We sat outside in the sunshine and enjoyed some pre-lunch drinks watching the birds and ducks. We then went inside and downstairs for our meal. The roast beef was delicious and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. Delightful location and great food. We will definately be back for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ateasd5941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    46
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
113
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Istan, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Julie and I have just spent a memorable 7 nights at The Riverside Inn. Our hosts, Richard and Liz, plus the excellent friendly, attentive staff make this establishment a "must" for anyone visiting the Herefordshire/Shropshire area.

But why? I will not dwell on the excellence of the cuisine or value for money, which has been much commented on in other reviews, but would rather focus on what makes the Riverside Inn so unique.
To start with the location is fantastic nestling alongside the River Lugg, a handy source for the Trout dishes on the menu and as a centre for walkers at all levels. We are amateurs at this pastime, but the advice and help received in this regard has certainly made us converts to this activity.

The answer to the excellence of this Inn lies much deeper and this is contained within the overall management and ethos of the establishment.
The art of perfection in the catering/hospitality industry is hard work and ability, served up to look easy and simple, which it is not.

Richard and Liz are relative newcomers to this business sector, having taken over the Riverside in 2001, but clearly they have brought with them all of their many years of industrial and commercial experience.

I was puzzled one evening in the restaurant when I overheard Richard turning away a couple for dinner because they were fully booked, when in fact there were tables available.

Curiosity got the better of me and I had to ask the reason for this. Richard explained that they were a member of staff short that evening and through the capacity planning system he deploys, then it would have put the rest of the team under increased pressure, including the kitchen and this could have led to a deterioration in the standard of service to the customers.
This is clever, most establishments would take as many "bums" on seats as they could accommodate and not worry about the quality of service levels.

It was noted that the staff were continually being encouraged and motivated throughout service, indeed some members of his team are undertaking advanced external training in the industry with the owners blessing and support.

There was one evening when Richard and Liz took the night off, but the restaurant was fully booked! My trepidation of the possible consequences was totally unfounded as it was business as usual and totally faultless.

These are the pointers to an excellent establishment that knows its marketplace, with an affordable, value for money pricing strategy and excellent hosts who really know what they are doing.

The Riverside Inn fully deserves the praise that it receives and we will certainly be returning.

Mike & Julie
May 2013

Room Tip: For a longer stay I would definitely opt for one of the suites in the stable block, next to the rive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Picked off the internet, this lovely place was outstanding. Food was excellent to say the least and reasonably priced. What a lovely location too and the staff were fun and very efficient - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill18746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Would definately visit again. Lovely situation along side the river. Food was lovely - best quality steak I've had in a long time. Loved the twice cooked cauliflower and goats cheese soufflé ! Richard (very welcoming landlord nothing was too much trouble...didn't even mid steve putting his prune stones in his juice glass!) recommended circular walk, took about an hour and a half, wonderful sunshine ! what's not to love!. ..........did I say the food was lovely !!

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter about the room - everything else is so lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldlikemymoneyback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Fine dining at pub prices. Really memorable meal. High quality and beautifully presented. Furthermore you can keep ordering more bowls of vegetables. Very welcoming landlord. If we lived nearby we would be regular customers. And a nice walk down the nearby lane to build up an appetite. Very good ale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Habyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We found this pub on the AA website as we wanted to venture further afield during our stay in Ludlow. The pub lies next to the river in the centre of a quiet village. We had not booked a table and the place was busy, but we were accommodated with no fuss. The food was excellent. If the produce can be sourced locally it will be. I had pig cheeks for main and the wife the chicken dish. Very well presented and tasted amazing. For the quality of the meal the price was very reasonable. The service was attendtive and at the right pace for a leisurely meal. Would definitely visit again and cannot recommend highly enough. Dog friendly in part of the bar which was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Clubman195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were on a mid week break in Aymestry staying in a log cottage. This establishment was a shirt walk from our accomodation and located on the river bank. The menu was briliant, local produce and ales. The service was exceptional, from the bar staff to the waitpersons, all were friendly and offered great advice on the selections. the food was served at sensible intervals and was of the highest standard. I look forward to returning and enjoying the ambience and company.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aymestrey
7.6 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
445 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
438 reviews
6.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 2 in Leominster
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
2.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 2 in Wigmore
41 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Salwey Arms
The Salwey Arms
#22 of 48 in Ludlow
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
Address: Aymestrey HR6 9ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Aymestrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aymestrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant Hotel Aymestrey
The Riverside Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing