We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All about the people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“All about the people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the end of our Ridgeway hike. While the rooms are dated, they are adequate and in a building separate from the pub/restaurant, so noise was not an issue. The pub was a fun place with lots of conversation and the restaurant spacious, up-to-date and serves very good food. The best part of our stay was the people who worked there; they were all friendly, interesting to talk to and incredibly helpful. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Check into your room, then sit in the pub for a pint and a good chat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    65
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
35
71
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

In order to be fair I have done 2 reviews for this one for the hotel and a separate one for the restaurant, so here goes for the hotel.
I am a great believer that on business if you are not going to do it properly then it is best not to do it at all. Now at £65 for B&B this is a very reasonably priced hotel for the area, however when it comes to the accommodation that is where the positives end. I stayed in the Moneybury Hill room and to say it looks cheap and dated is to do it a favour. The furniture is cheap, looks it and feels it, the carpet is dirty, the bed does not have a headboard, the walls desperately need painting and the main light would be more at home in a public underpass. The bathroom is another story completely, the shower is not worth having and has 2 settings, which it chooses, scalding and freezing, in order to have a shave I had to boil the kettle in order to get some water hot enough. The linoleum on the floor appears to have been there since a time when it was first fashionable in the 70's and it just generally had a feeling of not being very clean. All in all the accommodation is extremely disappointing and personally I feel the best thing would be to either completely refurbish the rooms to a standard that matches the food or to use it as staff accommodation as it was a VERY BIG LET DOWN.

Room Tip: find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the area early as we were attending a wedding locally. After a quick chat with a member of staff we were able to check into our room early without any fuss which allowed us to get ready and dress for the wedding.
We stayed in Bluebell room, which was very comfortable, clean and spacious.
The B&B itself is a very quirky old building filled with character.
After a great night sleep we enjoyed a fantastic quality breakfast served by friendly staff.
The B&B is set in a lovely location, and we would definitely return to explore the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwinstowe
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed 10th September, whilst I was a little apprehensive after reading a few other reviews I was plesantly supprised and enjoyed my stay. The Greyhounds Food and Beer are excellent and the staff really are customer focused with the pub having a really nice atmosphere.

My room was a good size, its was a bit dated and whilst I had a really good shower the bathroom wasnt quite up to the standards of the rest of the establishment.

I would stay again I had a really peaceful nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinstoweBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Parking in Aldbury can be a bit of a challenge, the Greyhound has far more tables than there appears to be parking for in the village centre, but once you've got parked the rest of the evening should be very good.

It has a small but tidy bar area, and large restaurant area - although it didn't feel over crowded and it wasn't too noisy.

The menu provides good choice and the specials when we were there were also very interesting.

Service was very prompt and efficient, and there was nothing to complain about. We are already planning to return to this restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamborock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch, they have 2 sittings. Beautiful village. Decor and ambiance are lovely. Staff were friendly and efficient. However the roast dinner did not live upto the surroundings.
The roast beef was overlooked for my taste and the roast potatoes were a long way for being crispy.The cabbage was very nicely cooked but the broccoli was soggy.
Dessert was a disappointment as I went for desert of the day, strawberry cheesecake. Not a single strawberry in sight,just a jelly like topping on what looked like an industrial made cheesecake. It's the height of the strawberry season- not even one for garnish.
In short, not really great food but adequate food in a lovely well appointed village pub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penthelesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I shared the Seafood platter- Crab meat, prawns, smoked salmon, crayfish & Marie Rose sauce with rustic bread/salad etc. Excellent @ £10.95. There are similar sharing/or not sharing dishes based on Cheese, Cured Meat, or Mezze Plate. The rest of the Menu is wide ranging - something for everyone. A good choice of value wines. Overlooking the village pond - which needs a serious desilting operation. But better not complain or I will be put in the stocks - also in view. Overall, a delight on a summer's day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxima5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbury
1.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
The Pennyfarthing Hotel
#2 of 2 in Berkhamsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
Boxmoor Lodge Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hemel Hempstead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Property: The Greyhound Inn
Address: 19 Stocks Road, Aldbury, Tring HP23 5RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring > Aldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Aldbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing