We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aldbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I thought this was going to be a pub with a few rooms that did food.

Oh no, this was a lovely country pub with really great staff, clientel, beautiful rooms some away from the main pub with every attention to detail looked after and a superb restaurant!

I stayed Thursday night two weeks ago and was so impressed by the place the village the staff and especially the food!

A thank you to all the staff, I really hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Visited this restaurant many times in large groups and with family. The landlord is very hospitable and compliant. Food delicious and the menu varied, something for everyone. Waiting staff always polite. Please book to avoid disappointment. Haven't made use of the B&B as we are local.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Chops5hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Good stop off point on the Ridgeway upto Ivinghoe Beacon. A really warm welcome, a with super pub lunch food. Lovely decor and prompt good service. Pies, sandwiches, chips whatever you fancy. Others could take a leaf out of their book.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Bankc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Greyhound Inn was a warm welcome indeed after a chilly 2 hour walk with our two dogs on Easter Monday. Fortunately we had booked because the restaurant was packed.
Good food, narrow but interestng menu and a very nice end to our day. Efficient and pleasant service.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We saw this pub listed in our pub walks book - the roast dinners that were coming out of the kitchen looked great too. Started were very nice but both our main courses were average.. not much flavour sadly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I thought this was a lovely little pub with very reasonably priced rooms. The food was good quality and the pub was welcoming. Rooms had everything you could want including free bottled water. Plenty of room to leave a car outside for doing a walk - you can do a good circuit up to Ivinghoe Beacon.

Room Tip: A room in the annex behind the pub would be best for a quiet night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stopped here for one night on the way back from Heathrow. More more could you want. Excellent food - more gastropub than bar food. Good beer, cracking room - so warm! and very good breakfast. Well worth considering. The hospitality was second to none and the customer service was excellent. The village is beautiful - even on a cold January morning.

Room Tip: Even a room at the front is quiet.....and it gives you an excellent view of the pond - remember '...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbury
1.5 mi away
Pendley Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Tring Hotel
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Greyhound
The Greyhound
#3 of 5 in Tring
55 reviews
2.6 mi away
Champneys Tring
Champneys Tring
#1 of 1 in Tring
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Inn

Address: 19 Stocks Road, Aldbury, Tring HP23 5RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Tring > Aldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aldbury
Price Range: $116 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greyhound Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Greyhound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greyhound Hotel Aldbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing