We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't stop to find out!”
Review of Ryehill Cottage

Ryehill Cottage
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaulieu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryehill Cottage
Ranked #3 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Didn't stop to find out!”
Reviewed July 24, 2007

We saw the photo of this cottage on the internet and it looked idealic, if a little expensive at £85 to £90 per night. When we arrived, we were dissapointed to find the house on the bend of a main road. However, Richard was very welcoming, if a little too much so!

Before being shown to our room, we were informed there was going to be a private dinner party downstairs that night. The house seemed a little small (only two guest bedrooms rented out for B&B) to entertain privately and have B&B guests staying, so that alarmed us.

Our room was far from what we'd expected. No portable TV, no tea/coffee making facilities. Richard did offer to make us a hot drink, but we were asked to go downstairs for it. The bed seemed to be two singles pushed together and the bedding looked dated with old cushions on top of the pillows. There was a tiny shower room which you had to go out of the room into the corridor to reach. We were very dissappointed and not prepared to spend almost a hundred pounds a night, therefore we left immediately.

To spend almost a hundred pounds on a room for the night (including cooked breakfast) is, in our opinion, only worth it if you get what you pay for. This room was certainly worth no more than £30 per night. Even then, I think a kettle and a few tea bags wouldn't be asking too much!

  • Liked — The picture on the internet!
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank taylorgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2007

My mother and I had a such a wonderful experience with our 2 nights at Ryehill Cottage. Jenny and Richard could not have been more accomodating! The breakfast was absolutely delicious! Richard makes some fabulous scrammbled eggs. Poppy the dog was wonderful company. The home is beautifully decorated, and the bathroom is fantastically renovated. Nice touch with the Molton Brown soaps and lotions. I ended up buying some at the duty free at Heathrow on my way back to Canada! I highly recommend this B & B. Anybody who goes to Ryehill Cottage will truly enjoy their stay.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank rockybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

I booked a double room for 2 nights at the Ryehill Cottage Bed & Breakfast @ £80 per night.

We arranged with the proprietor, Jenny Graefe, to arrive between 2:30 & 3:00 on the first day, to check in & leave bags in the room.

Jenny's partner left a message to say that they would be back about 2:40. We arrrived at 3:00, they arrived at 3:10.

The 'double' bed was, in fact, 2 old, saggy single beds pushed together with 2, thin, single qulits.

The room had no heating, until approx 7 am. The room was very cold.

The shower room was in poor repair with broken mirror tiles, a shower just about big enough for me, I am 5'8", with a shower head which did not work effectively.

Worst of all, Ms Graefe provided white bath robes which were dirty.

We did not stay for breakfast, we paid the full £80 for the night we spent there &, to date - 6 days later, Ms Graefe has not attempted to contact us.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank thisisajoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasi-bear, Owner at Ryehill Cottage, responded to this review, November 5, 2006
Dear Trip Advisor Readers, please find below a copy of the response I sent to this unhappy guest. We can say with total honesty that we have never had a complaint of any nature from any guest until this one and that we endeavour to ensure that all our guests are made to feel welcome and satisfied with their stay in our home!

'I apologise for the delay in replying, but have been out of the country. I am very sorry that you felt so strongly about your stay at Ryehill Cottage.
Perhaps, if you had taken the time to address your concerns in person and stayed to enjoy the breakfast cooked for you in our, to use your turn of phrase, beautiful home, you might have been pleasantly surprised.
We do our utmost to make sure our guests are comfortable in our home and regret that we were not able to do so for you.
We are always happy to accept positive criticism. However, I remain disappointed that you have chosen to publicise your dissatisfaction in such a manner.'

Jenny Graefe


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We stayed Friday night through to Sunday morning as we had dropped my parents off at southampton for a weekend cruise and didn't want to be running up and down the motorway.What a wise decision! Jenny and Richard are the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. It is almost like visiting old friends. You are made that welcome. There home is very tastefully decorated blending the old with the new in a way thats works so well. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and there are a lot of personal touches that just make the stay extra comfortable. There are, for example .a lot of toiletries available to use and not just for the ladies either! If there was a downside it is that the room is not en-suite. However, if you were to stay here you would definately consider that a small inconvenience.Breakfast consists of museli ,natural and greek yoghurts, Fresh fruit bowls and or berry compote made by jenny herself. This is followed by the most wonderful english breakfast. Toast is available too with preserves.Ryehill cottage is a little piece of heaven on earth.The garden is just beautiful and you are quite welcome to browse around or just sit with a coffee in the garden and enjoy its beauty. Poppy the dog will almost certainly come and join you..I cannot recommend this cottage and its owners enough.

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Disliked — not ensuite
  • Tips/Secrets — just go
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Shushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
0.0 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryehill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryehill Cottage

Property: Ryehill Cottage
Address: Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7YE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing