We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dog Friendly Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Turfcutters Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A local pub with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The pub is dog friendly with dog biscuits on the bar. What more do you want on a cold winters night, relaxing in front of the roaring open fire with a pint of real ale and good food. There is also accommodation and ample parking. The pub is about 15 minutes from Lymington.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Peepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for The Turfcutters Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 212 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

A really friendly local pub. The food here is really good and the pub has a really lovely relaxed and very friendly atmosphere. There are games you can play whilst having a drink which makes it good fun. We also had the take away fish and chips which they do every night for £5.75 and these were really delicious, proper chips and a wonderful tasting piece of cod.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RH1-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a find. Thank you so much to all the previous reviewers, they described it so well as the "pub you always wished you had found". Owner Simon and Manager Jed were relaxed and relaxing, but also ready to help at the drop of a hat, whether with a chat or advice or practical stuff. Rooms were fresh and clean and full of character, lots of little touches throughout the accomodation and pub (kept meaning to ask where the great taste and feminine touches like fresh flowers, a proper hairdryer and nice bed throws came from, maybe Jed had hidden talents or maybe it was the gorgeous Kai?!) You have to be a dog lover, which we both were, and met all sorts of characterful and interesting breeds every day there! Plus donkeys in the yard (sorry about the daffs Simon...) and even an owl swooping over one night. Obviously wished the weather had been warmer, but can't wait to return when it is, and coming in to a great breakfast by a roaring fire each morning definitely helped a lot! And more little touches at breakfast - fresh toasted hot cross buns the first day and amazing strawberries from the farm over the road the second - yum!
Despite the good food, this is still very much a local rather than a gastro-pub, which is just what we like. And friendly locals no less - even the local undertaker...god I wish this was in my own village!!
Playing scrabble the second night by the fire we set off an hysterical scrabble tournament by the very lovely local yoofs, who hopefully may learn to spell at some point, but whose enthusiasm and friendliness kicking off a second rowdier game at the next table was quite wonderful. What a great bunch! Again, fab to see a proper pub with a proper mix of ages and backgrounds.
So all in all, great stay, can't wait to go again (hopefully in warmer weather to enjoy the garden even more) and if you love dogs, log fires, and want a good value, laid back but caring place to stay, this can't be beaten.
Thanks guys and hope things just get better and better there as the weather does too. Lynne xx

Room Tip: All great, I loved the high beamed ceiling in my "Horse" but my friends' one in the m...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGredwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Every time we go to the Turfcutters arms we get a better service, on this occasion we had friends staying at another hotel down the road as the Turfcutters were fully booked, Jed the bar manager took them back to their accommodation which was at least 4 miles away which saved them an expensive cab ride. The next day we woke to find our dog had been bitten by a snake and we needed to get him to a vet asap and once again Jed came to our rescue and drove his car to the vets in Hyde and we followed, this was at 8am on a Sunday morning (by the way our dog is doing ok and is recovering). Our friends who met us in the Turfcutters were extremely envious that they couldnt stay as the people and especially the staff were so nice and friendly. We had an evening meal which was fantastic and left us full and contended, my partner had the steak which was perfect and my friend and i had sausages and mash which was lovely, followed by a cheese board and a homemade chocolate fudge cake, thankfully there are numerous walks in walking distance to work this off.

If you want somewhere to stay in this area you would be hard pushed to beat the service, accommodation and food for the price you pay. We have all booked in to return in September and cant wait to get back there, hopefully this time our dog can step over the snakes in the forests!!

Room Tip: There are only 3 chalet rooms available so book well in advance to avoid dissapointment.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Our friends have a cottage in East Boldre , when we visit them we walk to the pub for a meal with our dogs , on Thursday the owner was driving by in his car whilst we were all out for a walk with our 7 dogs , he stopped got out of the car let hs dog out and they had a run around ! We booked a table for 6 whilst we were chatting for the next evening , how good was that !!! The pub is so comfy , oh the food is good too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Over the last 15mths we have visited on 3 occasions and the food and accom. has been top quality and a very warm welcome extended to us by all staff.Simon and ged run a great pub,really friendly and nothing too much trouble .Good selection of real ales and the menu varied ,Keep up the good work ,see ya soon.

Room Tip: bring some apples for the horses
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwik61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the pub I have been searching for for over 60 years!
A plain, honest, dog friendly, country pub. Blazing fire, a friendly welcome from Ged, 'Mine Host' and his staff,
sociable locals, and large portions of excellent local produced, superbly cooked, from an extensive menu. My family and I have enjoyed a number of great meals over the last 3 months. I am sad to be returning home and shall be looking for any excuse to return in the summer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,197 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,639 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turfcutters Arms

Address: Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Price Range: $126 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Turfcutters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turfcutters Arms Hotel Beaulieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing