We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in the middle of the new forest.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Turfcutters Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Simon and Jed run and excellent operation. Friendly, courteous, helpful and most of all very entertaining.
The room was clean, well provisioned and very comfortable. The food provided by the new chef was also of the highest quality. Most of all, it is a cracking place to have a few late-night drinks with some friends. The whisky selection has one or two cracking malts.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennyMacAulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 217 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very welcoming warm reception from the staff. Nice room, food and general ambience....Fantastic position for Visiting the Forest, Beaulieu, Pylewell Park and other surrounding interesting venues...the dogs were welcomed......we will return. On returning home we discovered we had left some belongings in our room, one call to Jez and the said items arrived through the post within 3 days....excellent service. Thank you....Waking up to see donkeys wandering down the lane and horses neighing in the car park....priceless........

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is our second stay, and all I can say is that I wish it was our local pub. Very clean room, very comfy bed, lots of room for the dog. The food in the pub is excellent, and the atmosphere friendly and welcoming. there was music on the Sunday night which was excellent. Cant fault it, best pub we've been in for years, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Squirrel is slightly larger than rabbit and horse, but they are just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mibecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We wandered in on the 1st Dec 2012, hungry and cold. We were wecomed by cheerful bar staff who found us a table for two by the fireplace. The board was full of specials to compliment the main menu, we opted for the veal casserole with dumpling and I would recommend this as a hearty filling meal. The meat was suculent, dumpling soft and fluffy and the gravy thick and rich. For pud (would be rude not to have a pud) I had home made apple crumble and custard ... beautiful crumble topping. We both had a coke with the meal as I was driving the the bill for main, desert and drinks was jusst short of £30.00.
There we lots of tables with reserved signs so I would recommend booking if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: Call and book a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samphire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This pub makes you feel so welcome, and the atmosphere is second to none. They will adapt menus to suit your veg choice etc. They love well behaved dogs and the music on Fridays is great. we have tried a few other pubs but always come back to the Turf Cutters honest value for money food, with a very varied menu with something so suit all tastes. Not forgetting the log fires, and real ales who could wish for more. Simon and Jed the most wonderful hosts and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were just looking for a nice place to eat in The New Forest and we found it. The Pub was busy when we arrived and we had to wait a bit for our food but is was worth it. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend the chicken and chorizo risotto and the bbq ribs from the menu. We were very pleased with the portions and the quality of food. Dogs are welcome in the pub which is great for people having a walk around the area with their pets. You have the typical country pub interior and a big garden. Will visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a little gem of a true old English pub. The home cooked food is wonderful I can highly recommend the Game Casserole. A great selection of wines and beers. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the lovely chap from New Zealand was very complimentary. And all well behaved dogs are most welcome. Will definitely be visiting again. Will recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindyCowling2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
3.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,226 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
620 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lyndhurst
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turfcutters Arms

Address: Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Price Range: $105 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Turfcutters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turfcutters Arms Hotel Beaulieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing