We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE MOST FRIENDLY PUB IN THE NEW FOREST WITH WONDERFUL FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Turfcutters Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Turfcutters Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Beaulieu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE MOST FRIENDLY PUB IN THE NEW FOREST WITH WONDERFUL FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This pub makes you feel so welcome, and the atmosphere is second to none. They will adapt menus to suit your veg choice etc. They love well behaved dogs and the music on Fridays is great. we have tried a few other pubs but always come back to the Turf Cutters honest value for money food, with a very varied menu with something so suit all tastes. Not forgetting the log fires, and real ales who could wish for more. Simon and Jed the most wonderful hosts and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    48
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
70
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were just looking for a nice place to eat in The New Forest and we found it. The Pub was busy when we arrived and we had to wait a bit for our food but is was worth it. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming. I would recommend the chicken and chorizo risotto and the bbq ribs from the menu. We were very pleased with the portions and the quality of food. Dogs are welcome in the pub which is great for people having a walk around the area with their pets. You have the typical country pub interior and a big garden. Will visit again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a little gem of a true old English pub. The home cooked food is wonderful I can highly recommend the Game Casserole. A great selection of wines and beers. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the lovely chap from New Zealand was very complimentary. And all well behaved dogs are most welcome. Will definitely be visiting again. Will recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MindyCowling2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a proper country pub, in a rural location but centrally located for New Forest attractions.
The guys were really very accommodating and friendly. We were going to a wedding at Beaulieu, and they gave us a lift there and picked us up afterwards.
The room was very comfortable.
There was a choice of food for breakfast, which was included and made to order; Lovely bacon, and pumpkin seed bread!
We may return to the area, and we would stay here again if we do.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qlizgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose the Turfcutters from recent Tripadvisor revues and were very glad we ignored the negative ones as this is a gem of a pub. Everyone involved with the running of the pub is friendly, welcoming, and helpful, and we look forward to another visit as soon as possible. We stayed three nights with our 12 year old Collie and had a very good time.

The accommodation is simple but very well planned. The bed is comfortable and the room can be warmed up quickly, the lighting is good and there is adequate storage and hanging space. There was room for the large dog bed where she could look out of the door, and the small kitchenette area, with fridge, was handy for sorting out her food. The fridge was so quiet we couldn't tell when it switched on which is vital if you are a light sleeper. There is a bath with shower over and lashings of hot water in the small and well designed bathroom. The folding canvas chairs take up no room until needed and are just as useful inside in bad weather as they will be when the sun shines and the patio with secure gate can be used.

The food is very good, our favourite was the grilled thick end of cod on smoked haddock chowder from the specials board but everything we had we enjoyed.

The 'dog exercise area' is right outside the patio gate - the whole of the New Forest - and we found that the ponies completely ignored us, and our dog is well used to sheep so we had no problems there. The village shop & Post Office is a five minute stroll away so we could buy a newspaper before breakfast, if you cannot be bothered they have some at the pub in time for breakfast anyway. Car parking is easy as there is space all round, if you cannot get close to the rooms at busy times you can find space near enough. We had a great time and will be back.

Room Tip: All three rooms seem to be equally good and would be good for a family holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhoundWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After trying to find somewhere to stay near southampton during boat show,came across this little gem,we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door.We were shown to our rooms which were excellent,even had our own patio how cool is that.Also evening meal was excellent,good choice.This was on a Tuesday night and it was packed,need I say more.Breakfast was at 9am which was too late for us so we asked for it earlier,not a problem.

Room Tip: The rooms that we saw were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweetmillie977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Our second stay here and it will not be our last. Si, Jed and their team do a great Job in making you feel relaxed and welcome. The accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable. The food is very good often utilising local produce. A great example of a proper pub.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank melndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
5.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turfcutters Arms

Property: The Turfcutters Arms
Address: Main Road | East Boldre, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst S042 7WL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Turfcutters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Turfcutters Arms Hotel Beaulieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing