We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“In a really lovely corner of the New Forest”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Forest View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - freeview TV and DVD player. Dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Living room - freeview TV and DVD player.
Dining area.
Conservatory with views out to the garden.
Well-equipped kitchen.
Utility room with washing machine and tumble dryer.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Twin room with two single beds.
Twin room with two single beds.
Family bathroom upstairs shared by master bedroom and twin room.
Family bathroom upstairs shared by master bedroom and twin room.
Ground floor double room with en suite shower.
Ground floor double room with en suite shower.
Ground floor en suite shower room.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Annexe with double bed and open plan shower, basin and wc.
Secluded garden.
Play area with double swing, trampoline and slide.
Cows in the lane, just outside the house!
Donkeys at Hatchet Pond, at the top of the lane.
Ponies in the heather at dusk.
Crabbing on the quay at Lymington.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
H8504KCpa...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“In a really lovely corner of the New Forest”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Clean well equipped and spacious accommodation which provides a home from home, but with -at times- a mild whiff (to our canine- sensitive nostrils) of wet dog (and of course it is advertised as dog friendly, so hardly surprising!).
We loved sitting in the conservatory, watching the various visitors to the bird feeders; they were very hungry, so we left an industrial sized tub of fat balls which will hopefully keep our feathered friends happy for a while longer.
We were able to explore the depths of the forest, on foot and by bike, and this is such a great place for wildlife watching.
Wifi was pretty twitchy/ variable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to nature
Liked least: The slight doggy smell
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the wildlife, and thanks so much for leaving the fatballs, that's really kind of you. I'm surprised to read that you detected dog at the house as I had the downstairs carpets professionally cleaned the day before you arrived. I wonder if the smell was possibly some residual dampness following the washing...hopefully that was the case! Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsdipros...
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed July 26, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Firstly the good points, the location is perfect, right in the new forest and an excellent base for touring the new forest, we had days out every day and didn't have to travel more than 30 minutes to get anywhere, the property is very clean and spacious and very well equipped, we stayed with our four children ranging from 18 to 6 and there was loads of room for all of us, the conservatory was a real plus and the play area was great and very much used by our younger two! The only slight downside was a damp smell in the studio and the downstairs bedroom but I think this was just down to the showers being in these rooms with no extraction as I say, the house was spotlessly clean. Also the internet is not great, very slow but I guess that's the price you pay for the lovely rural location. We had one or two small niggles whilst we were there but these were dealt with quickly and efficiently by Elena who is very friendly. we would recommend this property to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and spaciousness
Liked least: slight damp smell and poor wifi
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Thanks for your very kind and constructive comments. I'm very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that on the whole you were happy at the house. I will look into the issues you raised when I'm next at the house, in a week's time, and take action as appropriate. Our broadband provider is PlusNet. I guess that the speed is dependent on how many people are using broadband at the same time, and what for...ie if you're doing lots of streaming and gaming then maybe it's not quite up to it. For lower level things like checking emails and internet searches, I think it's fine. You were very unlucky to experience problems with a broken light, freezer not freezing and the kettle conking out on the last day...no one has previously had such bad luck! Thanks for your patience while we got everything sorted - I have a great team providing support at the house, so we are normally able to resolve this kind of thing pretty quickly. Thanks very much for taking the time to post, and I'd love to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JakeandFa...
Lawley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house, great setting”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Forest view is a wonderful place to stay, we found the house to be tidy, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. It met all of our needs and more. Wonderful woodland walks from the door, and a great location for sightseeing. We had two weeks in this haven of tranquillity and simply didnt want to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2015
Thanks for the lovely review. I'm so glad you had such a good time. It's always sad at the end of a great holiday, but at least you can plan the next one! Thanks for taking the time to post, and hope you'll come to stay again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn f
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The location is lovely just on the edge of the forest there are ponies donkeys and cows in the lane which you will see at the gate and walking down the lane.
The house is very comfortable and clean. The beds are very good also bedding nice and fresh. Well equipped kitchen , good for us as we like to cook worked well . The garden was a big hit with my 2 and half year old granddaughter especially the play area. Lovely sofa in lounge, nice spacious sun lounge with comfy furniture. There is a local farm shop , also local pub but we used the car and designated driver. Good base for outings pepper pig land picnic tables, we like picnics, motor museum has play area and picnic tables and seaside trips . The wifi is very good, the EE mobile signal didn't work but found if you walk to your right out of the gate to towards the forest you can get a signal sometimes. The details from the owner were comprehensive, also sent very nice and friendly e-mails with some info about the local area. The studio could benefit from partion of bathroom area it could be done using a folding door not a major issue. The property has first floor bedroom with standard bed and ensuit bathroom. First floor bedroom with king sized bed, bedroom with twin beds with good selection of childrens books and family bathroom would highly recommend this holiday home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2015
Wow - thanks for the fabulous review. I think the New Forest has captured your heart! I'm thrilled that you had such a lovely time with your family. I appreciate all the comments about the house. The open plan annexe (bedroom with shower, basin and loo) certainly divides opinion! Many thanks for taking the time to post a review, and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet2637...
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage for a family holiday.”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Forest View was a delight. A lovely cottage with all the equipment and facilities we could possibly need. The booking process and communication with the owner was easy and hassle free. The cottage is right on the open forest- ideal for walking every day.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2015
Thank you so much for the great review, and kind comments. I'm glad you had a lovely time in the New Forest, even in chilly February! And I appreciate you taking the time to post - thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickl81
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house, beautiful surroundings, fantastic weather!”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a brilliant week at Forest View. Our party consisted of 4 adults, 2 toddlers, and 2 babies. We all fitted in the house + studio fine. The house was well equipped and the the new play area in the garden was a big hit with the toddlers, especially the trampoline!

The weather was warm and sunny almost all week, and we were able to spend full days on the beaches at Bournemouth (handy for a trip to the Oceanarium), Mudeford Sandbank (really nice sandy beach which we had almost to ourselves all day), and Lepe (not as great a beach, but very quick to get to from Forest View, and has a play area). We managed to miss the crowds which made a trip to Peppa Pig World easily bearable and I got plenty of cycling miles in around the New Forest lanes. A great place for a holiday with lots for all to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review - it's much appreciated. It sounds as though the New Forest really hit the spot for your party. Well done on picking a great week for weather, and making the most of the beaches. A couple of others to try next time are Milford on Sea and Barton on Sea. I hope to welcome you back again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca...
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely situation, some reservations about thee house”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have been holidaying in Britain for a few years now. Comparing this property to some other places we have stayed:
The house was a good size with a large garden. We did not use the children's play area, so we can't comment on this part of the property.
Unfortunately on arrival the house was not as clean as we would have hoped and there did seem to be a damp smell.
The furniture in the lounge was not particularly comfortable and although the four of us had plenty of space it might become a bit of a squeeze if there are six people staying together.
The conservatory was very pleasant to sit in.
The third double bed is actually situated in an external building (complete with en suite). This could be convenient for groups staying together. However, because the nights were getting a bit colder and there was again a smell of damp, we did not use this bedroom.
There was low water pressure in the upstairs bathroom, so we shared the en suite attached to the master bathroom.
That said, the kitchen was well stocked and there was a nice dining area for the evenings.
Parking was available for two cars at the property. The gate over the gravel driveway might be a bit of a handful for some.

Certainly what really stands out from this property is the location. You can be walking in the Forest within 5 min and the area is beautiful. You will also be very conveniently located to enjoy Beaulieu and other local attractions such as Buckler's Hard and Exbury Gardens. The trip to the Isle of Wight via Lymington is also easy from here (although it's worth considering the additional traffic at the weekend). I would also recommend the New Forest Wildlife Centre (Ashurst) for a day out. If you time your visit to coincide with the animal feeding it's an amazing day out. You may even get the chance to see an otter juggle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Liked least: The house was not as well cleaned as I would have expected
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. I'm really disappointed to hear that the house didn't meet your expectations. My management team are always on hand to resolve any problems that arise during your stay, so I wish I had had the opportunity to ask them to come and revisit the cleaning for you. I'm pleased to say that a new corner sofa is currently on order, but with a lead time of 16 weeks for delivery, it will only be in place for bookings from January 2015. I hope that you still enjoyed your holiday and the lovely New Forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing