We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub!”
Review of Turfcutters Arms

Turfcutters Arms
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely pub!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Went to this pub yesterday mid way through a cycle round the New Forest. Friendly staff, a lovely setting and decent beer and fish & chips!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 666HannahT83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    19
    3
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real little gem & Dog friendly.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We discovered this little gem some time back but stopped going as the place seemed to be in decline. However having heard that it had changed hands we went back & were very pleasantly surprised.

Still very dog friendly, inside & in the large garden. Very welcoming with really good food.

Also noticed that the Garden had been much improved with a new fence to hide what was once a mess.

A very good traditional menu with a blackboard of daily offers & specials, large portions & very good value. It is always a good idea to book a table if you want to eat inside, but no problem if the weather is good & you want to eat in the garden.

I believe it also has some nice rooms but cannot comment as we have not tried them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A warm welcome, a member of staff came outside to help us park our (huge) motorhome, he even moved his car! There was also the offer for us to stay overnight in our van, unfortunately we had to return to Roundhill campsite (where we work) so we couldn't do justice to their well kept real ales. The food was great too fish (in their own beer batter) with chips and homemade tartare sauce.Proper pub food in a proper pub.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calstock
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A proper pub”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a lovely place , we got a warm welcome, a member of staff came outside to help us park our (huge) motorhome, he even moved his car so we could get in! He also offered to let us park for the night there! Unfortunately we had to return to Roundhill campsite (where we work) so couldn't do justice to the fabulous beer.The food was great too , we had fish (in their own beer batter) and chips with homemade tartare sauce- proper pub food in a proper pub

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food average, beer good, nice staff and a good crowd”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very enjoyable evening. Pork belly at £12.95p was what you would expect nothing more. Beer kept lovely and very nice. Service very nice, very pleasant staff. Local crowd also very welcoming and very nice people

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank footy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turfcutters Arms also viewed

Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Turfcutters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing