We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and quaintly stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Balmain, Sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming and quaintly stylish”
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed here for two nights, which was one more than planned. We were exploring the southern counties of Britain as it was an area we had not spent much time in before. Our plan for this one week trip was to stay at gastro pubs to enjoy good quality food and wine. We had just finished two great indulgent cruises so were hoping to continue enjoying our recent standards of quality in both food and lodgings, We were not disappointed. We had booked a particular standard of room (with twin beds) because bed sizes need to be a decent size for me. However, on check in we were told we had been upgraded to another room. Although a little apprehensive that the bed in the upgraded room may be a little too small we were very pleased to find the new room, with its bay window, four poster bed and two wet rooms just perfect. The staff at reception were delightful and helpful. The food at dinner was of a high standard and the choice of wines commendable. While in the restaurant, sitting room or bar you look out on to a delightful garden setting with its very relaxing environment. It is worth staying at least two nights because there is so more to see and do in the New Forest area. We were told the hotel has a free shuttle service to Southampton port so it is convenient if you are arriving a day or so early for a cruise. We enjoyed it so much that we will use it as our pre-cruise hotel before our next cruise rather than staying in Southampton.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    230
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
141
766
15
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We loved this hotel, The food was superb and the staff welcoming with pitch perfect service. It is a great location for a mini break if you like to walk in the New Forest. Somehow the Montague Hotel just managed to be more relaxing than other hotels - can't wait to go back,

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Montagu Arms. Our room was quite compact, but had everything you could want, including wonderful organic toiletries and since there is so much to do in the New Forest, we didn't spend much time in the room. The whole hotel has a comfortable yet elegant feel. The restaurant is wonderfully serene and the food was good. The garden was beautiful and calm. Unfortunately, we could only stay here one night because of a wedding the following day, and had to transfer to the hotel's sister hotel, Carey's Manor. It was barely possible to believe that Carey's Manor was part of the same group and nowhere near the standard of the Montagu Arms. We will certainly return to the Montagu Arms. My only criticism is that the private road to the hotel's car park (at the rear of the hotel) is in desperate need of repair and is wholly unsuitable to low sports cars - please beware.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimboblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

What a pity, fantastic staff let down by poor rooms.

My wife and I booked a ‘suite’, looking for a little luxury. The ‘suite’ we were first given was depressing. Although the bedroom paintwork was in good condition, the bedroom itself was small and plain, the bathroom in need of refurbishment and the sitting room furniture drab, chipped and ‘well used’ with a grubby feel. I went back to reception and said I was unhappy with the quality of the room and they showed me another ‘suite’ with a 4-poster bed. This bedroom and bathroom were well decorated and brighter, and the furniture looked less ‘well used’. So we agreed to swop, and, having made a long journey, decided to stay. We were reasonably happy with the new bedroom and bathroom – although we have had much better elsewhere for less money – but the sitting room was another matter.

The ‘suites’ are made from what were two adjacent bedrooms with one room having the bed replaced by a rather tired sofa and coffee table. The two suite sitting rooms that we saw reminded us of the accommodation we had many years ago as students! Not the luxury we were expecting, especially for the price!

However, on a more positive note, having changed rooms we then went down to a cream tea in the lounge. It was superb! The scones were clearly only recently out of the oven and delicious, and the presentation and service were faultless. Indeed I would say that for the whole of our stay the staff were all wonderful and as good as I have experienced anywhere. The lounge itself, though, was cold and draughty, in spite of the log fire, because the door to the outside was permanently open as it was the route from the car park to the reception.

The picture of the hotel’s ‘Junior Suite’ on the internet looks as if it might have been more what we would have liked, as well as being cheaper than the ‘suites’. Unfortunately the staff couldn’t show us this as it was occupied. If we are in the area again then we just might try the ‘Junior Suite’ but never ever any of their other suites!

In summary, the staff are of the highest standard but the rooms are poor. The room limitations are largely due to the layout of this old building compounded with poor quality/scruffy lounge furniture in the suites.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Staff are friendly yet highly professional at this traditionally decorated hotel. Alongside a very good bistro, the high quality cuisine on offer at the restaurant, complemented by lovely garden views, proves a particular highlight. I highly recommend this charming hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2010

As we entered the grounds after a pleasant lunch in a nearby hostelry we were met by the aroma of the vegetable garden from which the chef supplies his kitchen. The garden is tip top and well kept like a National Trust property. The room was gorgeous and luxurious with pumped up pillows and when I asked for the radiator to be turned down this was down within 5 minutes. All the staff treated us as if we were Royalty and the piece de resistance truly was the food. I have NEVER eaten so well, the portions were spot on and the food was ever so fresh. We will definitley be back, true value for money and a treat! A MUST for anyone staying in this neck of the woods!
We will definitely

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copper3197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

When we arrived we realised that the hotel was right on a road, however being a small quiet village it did not really pose much of a problem.

The staff were very charming - the room was very clean and comfortable. We were lucky to be upgraded and so had a large suite.

The food was very good and the menu varied.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlackmans_Of_Rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,718 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,548 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing