We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel in a beautiful location”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in a beautiful location”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve and I have to say the welcoming we had from Sunil, Mel and Pierre was very warming. We were even welcomed with a nice glass of mulled wine which was a lovely touch being so cold outside. We even had afternoon tea with sandwiches.

The suite we stayed in was beautiful and overlooked the front of the hotel and had a big separate lounge to relax in.

The hotel itself is in a small village called Beaulieu and is beautiful and quaint with open fires and the staff are very friendly and helpful. As it was New Year's Eve we had a champagne and canapé reception to start the evening off followed by a 5 course meal with entertainment to bring the New Year in. The restaurant I have to say is one our favourite places out of all the hotels we have have eaten in and it was a truly a lovely evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r_petite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    235
    67
    15
    5
See reviews for
153
802
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed with our families at this hotel for our daughter's wedding and cannot rate it highly enough. The food was first class and the staff cannot do enough for you. They are polite, friendly and unobstructive. The rooms are very comfortable and when we requested our rooms be ready far ahead of time, they were happy to oblige. We have had afternoon tea at the hotel on numerous occasions and have always been welcomed and treated with the utmost courtesy. The food is unfailingly delicious and the staff try their hardest to oblige you in every way. Our daughter's wedding was a marvellous occasion and we can only praise the hotel for giving our families the wedding of our dreams. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: The superior rooms with larger beds are worth spending more for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Montagu Arms for one night as part of a short stay in the New Forest between Christmas and New Year. We had passed by the hotel a couple of times before and so we decided to stay. We are so glad we did. The room was beautifully presented and spotless. Considering the age of the building the decoration and upkeep of the hotel was first class. So was the welcome we received. Our case was carried to our room, the furthest one from reception we discovered. The views across the water were stunning. The room had everything we needed. We had booked a meal at Monty's Inn which was fantastic. High quality food and service. Breakfast was plentiful and again the service was exemplary. Our only disappointment was we had only booked one night. We shall return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed this weekend, staff amazing, food fantastic, room brilliant. I have been unwell with heart condition and my boyfriend took me for rest, was nervous about being in hotel and not feeling well but the staff were absolutely fantastic, kind, attentive but never too fussy. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a one night stay at The Montagu Arms, including dinner. The service was second to none and the food was fabulous. The room was extremely comfortable and there was a turn down service when the towels and tea and coffee were replaced. We were even given two bottles of water and 2 apples for the journey home. Superb attention to detail! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night (after a day's house hunting in the New Forest) - Saturday 21st December 2013. We booked a bedroom-dinner-breakfast package. The staff were so welcoming when we arrived and we had a lovely suite (Chestnut Room) facing the river and Beaulieu Palace. There was a super comfy four poster bed and a generous separate living room as well. We spent most of the afternoon in the cosy bar downstairs, where we were well looked after. Dinner was delicious, we thoroughly enjoyed our three courses - the attention to details was second to none. My husband does not eat dairy (we were asked about any dietary requirements when we had our aperitivo in the lounge) and when we got to our table there was a small pot of incredible olive oil instead of butter to go with his freshly baked bread rolls.To round it off, breakfast the next morning was superb as well. It's a beautiful hotel in a stunning and historic building that simply makes you feel at home, but with incredible service thrown in. Look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chestnut Room, which was a suite with a four poster bed, separate living area and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneowen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived Christmas eve about 2pm, the hotel was lit by candles, they had been without power since the previous midnight.
The staff & manager were fantastic at reception, all went very smoothly and we were taken to our room.
After afternoon tea, the manager told us that they had no idea when power might be resumed, we decided to return home.
We got a call from the hotel advising power had been restored, so we turned round and headed back to the hotel, arriving approx. 18.00.
We then had a fantastic three day break with flowing champagne and excellent food.
The staff are superb, the manager is very hands on and deals with any problems quickly and efficiently.
After the initial unfortunate blip(no fault of the hotel) our stay was excellent, would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasper999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
799 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing