We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food in terrace restaurant and excellent professional staff”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in November and we would definitely return. The staff were extremely professional and friendly and the room was brilliant! Especially the enormous double bed! We ate at the terrace restaurant on the Saturday night and I would definitely recommend the chefs special 7 course meal! It's definitely one of the best meals I've ever had! Location is good and Brockenhurst is only a ten minute drive away

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilko981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Montagu Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I decided to take my fiancée to a Michelin starred restaurant for her birthday and since the terrace restaurant at the montagu arms was closest I booked it. How wonderful it has been. Superb three course lunch that could not be faulted in any way. The setting is gorgeous though some may say outdated I would say elegant with very friendly unobtrusive staff. It has been a truly delightful experience.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband took me hear as a birthday surprise. He came across it on the internet and what a find it was!!!!
We are big foodies so the Michelin star restaurant was our big thing but the hotel WOW!!
It's so lovely and quiet. We had a standard room but we where absolutely stunned by it. Big comfy bed lots of room to move around wardrobe good sized tv and a lovely bathroom with a great shower.
The food is to die for! We up graded to a taster menu and we where not disappointed. It's a very nice touch that it's a surprise so you have no idea what your getting.
All food and drink was served to a very very high grade of service and everything explained very well. The staff where very nice to talk to and really made us feel at home.
In the morning we had tea sent to our room with our news paper, again a lovely touch to be offered this service. But there is tea and coffee making facility's in the room should you wish just to use that!
Breakfast was outstanding! Fresh squeezed apple juice warm pastries beautiful toast and the most important an amazing full breakfast. I'm all about the sausage on a breakfast and I must say its one of the best I have had!
After breakfast we took a stroll into the little village, was lovely and quiet. Went into one of the local shops and bought a few gifts really lovely.
We headed back to the hotel to check out which was again a lovely experience. Once we where all paid for we received a complementary bag with apples and water for our journey which was just the icing on the cake for such a beautiful stay.
I would urge any one to visit hear. We WILL be returning as it's just outstanding.
We can't thank you enough for such a lovely stay and we really can't wait to see you all again.

Room Tip: Any room is to die for!!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsbrown1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I would urge anyone looking for a restful,enriching and invigorating break to book a few nights at The Montague Arms Hotel in Beaulieu which is right in the centre of the beautiful New Forst in Hampshire.

The hotel is small but it is run as if it were a large luxury hotel. Everyone of the staff,from front desk to restaurant to bar,are THE MOST charming,friendly and helpful and the manager,Sunil Kanjanghat,is always available to chat to you or help you with any issues during your stay,not that there are many because the hotel is pretty well perfect!!

In the winter,sit in the warmly welcoming lounge with it's glowing wood fire or conservatory with it's bright outlook onto the garden. In the summer,do the same,as both are also cool and fresh in the warm weather or sit in the picturesque flowered garden.

A weekend sojourn is nothing without good food and you can be sure you will have that. Breakfast will satisfy the largest,healthiest appetite with an array of cereals,fruits,jams as well as beautifully cooked hot food,mostly sourced locally. Lunch and dinner is 5*,professionally and expertly cooked by the Michelin chef,MatthewTomkinson,beautifully presented and served with the charm and light touch of the restaurant staff.

The hotel lacks nothing. It has the mark and aura of a 5* residence but retains it's informal,homely and warm ambience. It is rather like a 2nd home.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are the best,but actually all rooms have a delightfully restful chara...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a really nice and well reputed location to have our wedding reception.

I have to say, although it was the wife who did the planning, how impressed We were with everything this hotel did for us with our evening reception.

Right from the first meeting, everything was dealt with in a professional and friendly way.

Everyone who joined us, a few of which travelled thousands of miles, said they had a fantastic time.

The food was excellent and there were so many little touches that Clara and the team dealt with which really took the headache out of the planning.

Everyone said the rooms were also fantastic.

A special thanks to Clara and the team at this hotel for making our special day a very memorable one.

We will definately be visiting you again soon.

Thanks again,

John & Frankie.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Montagu Arms Hotel. We booked the hotel on the recommendation of a friend - how right they were. The service was wonderful and attentive. The breakfast was delicious - the homemade Granola is divine.

We visited the Montague Arms' sister hotel spa. It was very relaxing and lovely addition to our stay in the New Forest.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet.

We left feeling very well looked after and looking forward a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Precipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to an last minute break and phoned the hotel to check for late availability that night and were offered a great deal for "Bed breakfast and 3 course michelin star meal". The hotel exudes old style rustic charm & elegance with staff that treat you with the service you would expect from a 5 star establishment (a rating to which they aspire and will no doubt achieve). Our room was lovely, tastefully furnished with views of the delightful garden.. we were offered free freshly brewed early morning tea/coffee (a nice touch considering kettle etc. was also available in the room ). Service in the Terrace Restaurant was brilliant with waiters, sommelier and restaurant manager anticipating our wishes and ensuring the evening was a great experience. We opted for the Taster Menu and were not disappointed..it was the best we have tried ( better than Roux @ The Landau and Alain Ducasse @ The Dorchester). This was our first stay at The Montagu Arms and we will certainly be returning as it has "the wow factor".

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,742 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
813 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: $209 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing