We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing stay”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Montagu Arms Hotel. We booked the hotel on the recommendation of a friend - how right they were. The service was wonderful and attentive. The breakfast was delicious - the homemade Granola is divine.

We visited the Montague Arms' sister hotel spa. It was very relaxing and lovely addition to our stay in the New Forest.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet.

We left feeling very well looked after and looking forward a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Precipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    232
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
145
783
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves to an last minute break and phoned the hotel to check for late availability that night and were offered a great deal for "Bed breakfast and 3 course michelin star meal". The hotel exudes old style rustic charm & elegance with staff that treat you with the service you would expect from a 5 star establishment (a rating to which they aspire and will no doubt achieve). Our room was lovely, tastefully furnished with views of the delightful garden.. we were offered free freshly brewed early morning tea/coffee (a nice touch considering kettle etc. was also available in the room ). Service in the Terrace Restaurant was brilliant with waiters, sommelier and restaurant manager anticipating our wishes and ensuring the evening was a great experience. We opted for the Taster Menu and were not disappointed..it was the best we have tried ( better than Roux @ The Landau and Alain Ducasse @ The Dorchester). This was our first stay at The Montagu Arms and we will certainly be returning as it has "the wow factor".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful setting and has a lovely elegance as other people have stated. The restaurant and public rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has a very pretty garden. So why did I vote this as average - well it was the cost of the room. We spent 2 nights here, the second night being a Friday, the second night cost us £230 WITHOUT breakfast. The room was very small, nicely decorated with a nice view of the garden. For this cost I expect something special (it was my husbands birthday) I have stayed in much nicer and plushier rooms for a lot less.very disappointed. if you stay don't accept room 22 for this price. We did have a lovely meal in the restaurant on the second night and ate in Monty's the first night. Service is excellent with friendly, efficient staff. Another tip - if you have a drink in the hotel bar it is nearly twice the price of buying a drink in Monties bar. OK the ambiance is better in the hotel so add a bit on but twice the cost.........

Room Tip: Don't have room 22. Very small and not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just spent a night here for our anniversary. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Nice to stay in a historic hotel which has not succumbed to the contemporary style of furnishing which you seem to find everywhere these days. From start to finish the service was excellent - thoughtful and attentive but not intrusive. There were lots of little touches which set this place apart. Our cream tea in the afternoon was really lovely. We ate in the Terrace Restaurant in the evening. This is the second time we have eaten here and again it was an amazing experience. The food and wine (recommended by the sommelier) were delicious and the staff were attentive and really professional. Altogether a perfect way to celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel with michelin star restaurant. Comfortable friendly in the heart of the New Forest. Part of the Beauleiu Estate. Lord Montague's Palace House and Estate lies across the river from the hotel. Idyllic surroundings and stunning food .Montys restaurant is also an alternative dining experience staffed with friendly helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights celebrating my parents Diamond wedding anniversary. We had dinner for 15 in a private room on the Friday & a dinner in the restaurant for 8 on the Saturday & stayed in 6 of the rooms. The whole experience was excellent, we were so well looked after, the food was wonderful & the whole experience couldn't have been better. We highly recommend the Montagu Arms.

Room Tip: Maple room is a superior double quiet overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

A very well run comfortable hotel with friendly efficient staff. The Terrace restaurant was outstanding in respect of it's food quality and service. Every dish worthy of it's Michelin star status...and more. Quality service touches were evident throughout our stay. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudiC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,775 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,590 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing