We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“touring holiday”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“touring holiday”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the second time at The Montague Arms. Once again we were delighted with every aspect of this superb hotel. The food lived up to it's Michelin rating.Our room was excellent,the staff were delightful and the garden a joy to sit in. We would not hesitate to include this hotel in our itinerary when touring the south west of England.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    235
    67
    15
    5
See reviews for
153
802
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast package. The food in the Terrace Restaurant was fabulous, I highly recommend it. The gardens and surrounding area of the hotel are excellent with a great walk to Buckler's Hard. However I was really disappointed by the rooms. They are very tired and in need of a full re-fit. The corridors were being redecorated and looked fresh and clean although the style remained dated. It is a shame as everything else about this hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cs_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janiebeth
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I booked a 1 night deal in the week which included cream tea, pre dinner canapes and prosseco, evening dinner in The Terrace Restaurant and B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. The service was attentive and excellent but with a lovely informal atmosphere. We were upgraded to a lovely room at the front of the hotel which we appreciated. The scones at the cream tea were the best we have ever tasted. We had the tea in the lounge as a rainy day but the garden looked lovely if taken in the summer. Again the evening meal in The Terrace was gorgous with a lovely atmosphere which suprised me for a Tuesday night. We could have eaten anything on the menu so took a while to make our mind up! The breakfast the next morning was of equal standard with the staff especially the breakfast manager making that too seem relaxed and special. We live not too far away and wanted somewhere relaxing with good food and service for our 30th wedding anniversary. It certainly fullfilled our expectations and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiebeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Thank you to Sunil and all the staff at the Montagu Arms for making our 25th wedding anniversary weekend so very special. The food was excellent as was the trip to Careys Manor for the Spa. We had a Spring Dining break with a package of B&B, cream tea in the afternoon and dinner in the Terrace restaurant; every part of the package was first class and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkE1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not that these guys need it, but this is yet another highly positive review of the Montagu Arms in Beaulieu.

We stayed for two nights, with a package of B&B and dinner in Monty's Inn on the first night, then a package of B&B, cream tea in the afternoon and dinner in the Terrace restaurant on the second.

I won't go into exhaustive detail, but instead just point out a few tips for prospective visitors.

Monty's Inn is a nice wee pub; don't confuse the bar menu (the usual pub grub, burgers, gammon etc.) with the Monty's restaurant menu, which is far above what you might normally expect in a pub: superb scotch egg, pork belly, guinea fowl etc. And the restaurant in Monty's is again different to the main Terrace restaurant.

Cream Tea is excellent, it's kind of what you would expect - tea, scones, clotted cream and jam. Afternoon Tea is the full-on extravaganza of tea, scones, sandwiches cakes and sweets. We only just about managed breakfast, cream tea and dinner in the restaurant. It would take an extremely hearty appetite to substitute Afternoon Tea for a Cream Tea.

As well as Monty's, which really is a pub, there is a nice wood-panelled bar in the hotel serving bottled beer, wine and a good selection of whisky.

In general I can't really fault this place. The staff were great, the room large and clean, the food and drink were excellent.

We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidModder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I booked this hotel as a birthday weekend for my fiance.
Our room was at the front and overlooked the river, and the window was framed by the lovely old wisteria. The bed was very comfortable, a lovely tester overhead added to the cosiness. Lovely old furniture, and very good quality fabrics.
The decor was a little tired, the sink was cracked, and paint peeling from the bathroom door. Such a shame, it needs a little TLC.
However, we weren't disappointed with the restaurant - Michelin star and very worthy!
Ideally placed for visiting Beaulieu Motor museum, an easy 15-20 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali-257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Friends and I popped in for a quick lunch at Montys bar and found it to be a pleasant experience. Service was friendly and quick. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Lovely building in a gorgeous town. We walked through the gardens and had a sneak peek at the restaurant which looked like it would be a lovely setting for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLEWIS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
800 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,062 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
365 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing