We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food excellent service amazing setting”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food excellent service amazing setting”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff are some of the best I have ever encountered in terms of getting the blend right of quality service, friendly and polite with out being pretentious. The rooms were great very spacious (we got an upgrade to a suite) comfortable with character yet all the modern convenience that you would expect. The value was exceptional. The setting both relaxing and invigorating with a picturesque garden setting to calm even the most tempestuous of characters. The restaurant was worthy of the Michelin star it boasts, whilst the most fastidious of food aficionados might find fault in the minutiae (which might perhaps prevent further stars) the chefs cook up a magnificent treat that 99% of people would reminisce about for the foreseeable future. The sommelier was helpful, supremely knowledgeable and most importantly extremely competent at choosing the right drinks and with our eclectic tastes that was one nigh on an insurmountable challenge. All in all we will be 100% returning and hope they can live up to the impressive standard that hey have now set

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    232
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
145
783
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Going to sleep in a four poster bed, deeply nestled in the new forest and waking up to wild horses and donkeys in front of the hotel is one sure cereal experience. Eating in the evening to log fires crackling is a sure heavenly experience which you do not get to do everyday. I old recommend this to anyone who wants to getaway for a romantic experience which should not be missed.

Room Tip: Make sure a dour poster bed is in order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked a Spring Dining break to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary having read the reports on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed from the minute we arrived until we checked out the service was excellent. On arrival we were greeted with a delicious cream tea with warm home made scones, we were then shown to our room which was well furnished, spacious, clean and the en suite came with complimentary White company toiletries. Having enjoyed a pre dinner drink and olives, nuts and cheese gougeres we opted to eat the 7 course taster menu with the paired wine collection. The food was quite exquisite, with every mouthful being a combination of different flavours, it was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening, the staff were attentive without being intrusive. We ended the evening with coffee and petit fours in the lounge. A perfect way to celebrate!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyjones5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner & I visited the Montagu Arms in the New Forest, on January 30th for a nights stay, inclusive of afternoon Tea & Scones, + Pre dinner drink glass of Champagne & evening dinner
in their Micheline Star restaurant.
I wasn't sure what to expect ? As 'The Montagu Arms' suggests to me a pub ? It isn't, its a Hotel, but very lovely, if you enjoy 'Old England' type venues, with Oak beams and wood panelling with large welcoming fireplaces ! Looks a Treat, and very welcoming staff, we also got upgraded to a beautiful suite, Fabulous ! Also as guests of The Montagu Arms we were entitled to visit 'Careys Manor Hotel and use their Spa, Amazing !! Food was a joy !! Wish I could afford to stay longer !! Will return, as we really loved it !

Room Tip: We have only stayed once so done have great experience of different rooms ? All I can say is we boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went for an afternoon tea with husband for a birthday treat. The service was great. We were given a complimentary glass of champagne. The tea was lovely. We had gorgeous sandwiches and hand crafted pastries. All topped off with scones, jam and cream. Lovely. Atmosphere was the only let down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajg2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My friends and I booked in on a Spring Package which included Cream Tea, Glass of Fizz and nibbles pre-dinner, 3 course Dinner in the michelin star restaurant, 4 poster bedroom, full english breakfast and use of the leisure facilities at Careys Manor.

The hotel is in a lovely position and is well furnished. Staff were very happy, attentive and professional. We had two Bedrooms both of which were large complete with 4 poster beds. Pre-dinner drink and nibbles arrived without hesitation, the dinner menu was fantastic and featured local produce, we had a lovely table in the corner of the restaurant. Service was of 1 michelin standard and the food was superb, Dover Sole to start followed by Roe Deer what more could you wish for !! . The sommelier was very knowledgeable and recommended wines throughout dinner. Liqueurs & Coffee were taken in the lounge along with a nice chat with Pierre the Restaurant Manager regarding his aspirations for the hotel and restaurant. Bedrooms were very comfortable and Breakfast was very good. The team booked us a taxi as we checked out and we enjoyed using the leisure club at Careys before departing to The Pig for a late Lunch.

Room Tip: The restaurant is very popular so well worth booking in advance when reserving your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Montague Arms for 3 nights from 21-24 March 2013 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had excellent service throughout our stay. The food was superb and the service exemplary. The staff really couldn't do enough for us and they treated every single guest with the same care and attention. The manager even arranged for a card and some chocolates to be sent to our room as well as a candle lit surprise at the end of our meal on our anniversary.

We experienced a problem with our shower on the first morning which we reported to the reception staff. The manager overheard our conversation and immediately asked if he could accompany us to our room to investigate the problem himself. He was extremely kind, efficient and understanding and agreed with us that there was a problem. We subsequently left for the day and upon our return found that we had been upgraded to a suite, which was a wonderful surprise for us.

Mr Kanjanghat, the manager, continued to show exemplary managerial skills in overseeing the smooth running of this hotel. We could see the positive effect of his management style on his staff who were working to such a high standard. We cannot praise them highly enough for the amazing service that they gave to us and for making our stay so special.

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the New Forest and there are some lovely walks straight from the hotel.

We had a great time here and really look forward to revisiting in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beautiful garden are quieter. The rooms at the front of the hotel can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,775 reviews
5.2 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,590 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Property: Montagu Arms Hotel
Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing