We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful relaxing experience”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We only spent one night at the hotel courtesy of their spring break promotion.( Also courtesy of our daughter who treated us for my birthday). From the time we arrived until the time we left we were extremely well looked after. Cream tea on arrival was most welcome, after this we had a walk in the countryside which set us up with a healthy appetite to enjoy to the full the superb cuisine at dinner. After a peaceful nights sleep the breakfast was again excellent, the fresh pressed orange juice helping to make it very special. The room was comfortable and attractive the only minus was the lack of hanging space in the wardrobe. All of the staff at the hotel are to be complimented, nothing is a problem and there is always a smile. This was a birthday celebration and it could not have been any better. Chapeau! Montagu Arms.

Room Tip: Room 23 overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Montagu Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The greatest asset of TMA is it's staff, who are brilliant. We received a very warm welcome and from the moment we entered the building were treated like royalty. A special mention for the Maitre D, who is charming and the Breakfast staff, who are just great. Room No 22 was smallish, but overlooked the garden and was very quiet. Perhaps the room and public landing areas are a little dated but this didn't bother us too much. The food in the Terrace Restaurant was very good, I especially enjoyed my Roe Deer on the first evening, which was tender and juicy. We both enjoyed the duck on the second evening, although were a little tired of the greens which were served both evenings. The puddings were lovely and I had the light as air lemon merigue pie on both nights. On the third night we ate in Monty's, our steak and fish and chips were fine. Just two little reasons why I didn't give TMA an absolute perfect score. The scallop starter ran out on the first evening when we dined at 7.30pm. The next day the scallops were still off the menu, although the Maitre D was very apologetic. A restaurant with this reputation should have reprinted the menu, not difficult these days, or added another fish or vegetable starter as the starter menu was a bit meat heavy. The TMA serves a water called House Water, which is charged at £5 a pop in the restaurant. The bottle in the room appears to be unsealed, there was condensation in the top of our unopened bottle. I'm no making any accusations from either the hotel or guest point of view, just suggesting you order free tap water which tastes fine. Apart from that a lovely stay and I would recommend TMA to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

have just returned from our second visit to TMA and we are planning another visit later in the year. Restaurant remains highly impressive, and as the kitchens also serve Monty's Bar next door the menu choices enable you to eat there night after night and smile. Hotel full of character and the staff excel - particularly impressed with the Maitre D and the breakfast waiter can't do enough for you. Inadvertently overheard heated disagreement with New Manager and a member of staff - very unprofessional of him in my view. I hope his arrival does not upset a happy team and unravel something very special.

Room Tip: suite no 2 for a treat - avoid suite 3/4 ( odd layout ) - room 6 looks good -no need to worry about...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolG59161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as a birthday treat for a girlfriend, a self proclaimed "foodie". We arrived after a long drive from Hertfordshire on Saturday afternoon; straight away we were impressed by the hotel surroundings and the village.

After a warm welcome and checking in process our bags were carried to our room; where our Laurent Perier champagne package awaited us. Our room, 106, was a lovely room overlooking the patio area; the bathroom was a good size and spotlessly clean.

After an afternoon relaxing in our room siping champagne, we went for dinner in the Terace restaurant. Both my girlfriend and I have eaten in some great restaurants; however we were both in agreement that the Terace tops the list. Put very simply, there was nothing that could have made the meal better; every little detail from the food to the service was perfect. When talking about the service, a special mention has to go to the restaurant manager who's enthusiasm adds to the experience.

While down in the restaurant, housekeeping went into our room turned the corners of the beds and left the following days weather forecast on the pillow; just another nice touch.

After dinner we had a few drinks in the hotel bar. Once again special mention to the bar manager who's product knowledge is fantastic, recommending a lovely selection of drinks was the perfect end to the evening.

On Sunday we took in the motor museum, again a great day out. The World of Topgear exhibition is a must; cars from the episode screened the week prior were on show. In addition to this the fifty James Bond cars are fantastic, again including cars from the recent Skyfall film.

Overall I would have to say this was a perfect weekend in the New Forest, I will be back and thank you to all the colleagues from the Montague Arms for playing your part in creating another fantastic memory in our relationship. See you all again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen_L51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked this as a birthday treat for my partner and this was absolutely perfect! We arrived mid afternoon and were warmly greeted and shown to an outstanding room on the top floor overlooking the front of the hotel.

The room was beautifully decorated with a four poster bed and every little touch one could wish for including soft bathrobes, slippers, bottled water, freshly baked cookies, lovely toiletries, complimentary overnight shoeshine and morning paper... A never ending list of nice touches.....

After a nice long walk, we dressed for dinner and sat in the lounge for a while with a Kir Royale cocktail each and some complimentary nibbles. Our dinner order was taken and soon after we were shown to our table.

Our meal was just amazing, the staff were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and the food was outstanding.

Having read another recent review after returning home I look forward to visiting again soon to try the seven course 'tasting menu'.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rednoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently with another couple just for a getaway. The location of the hotel is excellent with plenty of opportunities for nice walks without having to get into your car. All of the staff we encountered were extremely welcoming, friendly and efficient and this, for us, is a big plus factor in any hotel. The lounge areas and conservatory are very well furnished and pleasant to use and the afternoon tea is good.
However dinner in the Terrace Restaurant was beyond fabulous! Honestly, it was worth the trip just to experience the great food although I do agree with an earlier reviewer that a little bit of background music would be a pleasant addition to offset the otherwise 'dead quiet' atmosphere.
The downside to this hotel? ... the bedrooms. Whilst our rooms were standard sized with the usual guest amenities the double beds were small with cheap spongy mattresses. The decor was in need of a good overhaul - tired and faded net curtains on the window overlooking the courtyard, walls and wood work in need of a good lick of paint. We paid £230 a room for one night bed and breakfast (dinner not included) and for this price the hotel really needs to get it's act together. We would recommend this hotel purely for the dining experience but would not recommend forking out the asking price for the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MesmerisedNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I last had lunch at the Montagu Arms over 25 years ago, so it was a down memory lane trip this week when we returned. We were welcomed outside by Pierre who we had previously met at the Waterside Inn, and what a welcome. He has assembled a keen, friendly, attentive team--the maitre'd from the famous Fat Duck, plus an Italian head waiter. Pre lunch drinks in a conservatory overlooking the gardens, then an excellent lunch. It wasn't busy, just quiet and relaxing, well worth a visit. The price of lunch is exremely reasonable, extremely good value in fact, tho' post lunch coffee was a little expensive. I thoroughly recommend lunch here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank david E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,742 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
814 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,872 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: $209 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing