We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant But Not Perfect”
Review of Montagu Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montagu Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a four poster room at he Montagu Arms for two nights in August to celebrate our thirtieth wedding anniversary. On arrival at the hotel, we were pleased to find that we could park our car in an open fronted garage.

Our room was nicely decorated and overlooked a fairly quiet street to the side of the hotel. The room was very hot, partly due to the towel rail in the bathroom being on constantly and we could not find any way of switching it off. (We were later advised that the switch was in a cupboard in the hallway outside the room). On the first morning we were woken at 5 am by the refuse collection. The refuse truck parked underneath our window and continued to crush glass and other waste for a considerable time. This was not how I had hoped to start the day of my wedding anniversary! The hotel was nor full and I feel that we could have been offered a different room. Do not book room 28 for a Monday night if you want to leave the window open.

The service at the hotel is not as good as it should be. We heard non residents complaining that they had been waiting for thirty minutes for a cup of tea. On our first evening at the hotel, we ate at Monty's Bistro and again customers were complaining of the delays and the wrong food being brought to the table. We had to wait a lttle longer than we would have liked but the food was good.

At breakfast the following morning,we were shown to our table and then the waiter forgot to take our order. The breakfast itelf is acceptable but certainly not the best I have had.

On our second evening at the hotel we ate at The Terrace Restaurant. The food was excellent and I can recommend the tater menu.

My overall view of this hotel is that it is pleasant place to stay but, although the staff appear to be friendly and helpful, in a lot of cases this is just lip service. A final example of this is, when as returned home, I found that I had lost a gold bracelet. I telephoned the hotel reception to ask if it had been found and was premised a call back as the usual receptionist was away from the desk for a few minutes. I had to telephone the hotel again as,three days later, I had heard nothing from them.

I will not be rushing to go back to the Montagu Arms.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of hotel overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Montagu Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Here for a wedding reception. This is a beautiful hotel, in a lovely picture box village in the New Forest. Room and staff fabulous, we couldn't fault a thing really. Good value too. Just a shame that we weren't really shown the chef's full ability due to the set meal, but I think we will go back and try the a-la-carte restaurant. This hotel would be good for a stay at any time of the year. Tip - ask for 2 eggs/bacon/sausages at breakfast otherwise you only get the bare minimum.

Room Tip: The ones at the front might be a little road noisy in Summer.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August for one night and have to say its a lovely hotel in the quaint village of Beaulieu. We stayed in a deluxe suite called the Walnut suite which overlooked the main road and it had a beautiful lounge next to the bedroom. The hotel has 2 restuarants one called Montys and the other one the Terrace Restaurant which is has a michellin star and has a lovely dining room. The staff are very friendly and made our stay very special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r_petite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My partner booked us a surprise weekend away at the Montagu Arms Hotel for my Birthday. What a place!! The staff are really friendly, to the point of even leaving me a Birthday Card in our room. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and comfortable as well as being individually and tastefully decorated. This is a typical British Countryside Hotel, so all the fixtures and fittings exude "Countryness".

The gardens are amazing and are kept in pristine condition. The food!!!! To die for!!!! The hotel greatly benefits from having a Michelin Star Chef, the food in the main restaurant is superb! The breakfast, whilst still amazing, lacked a certain attention that the evening food had.

If I had to be critical of one other thing, it would be that the wifi wouldn't work in our room, so it made planning our stay slightly more difficult.

Overall, a fantastic weekend! Thanks to everyone at the Montagu for helping to give me a Birthday I'll remember forever!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mattchew26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have reviewed the Montague Arms before following a previous visit earlier in the year; I’m pleased to report that standards have been maintained.

Lunch today was excellent, served in the sun on the terrace in the relaxing well-tended quintessentially English gardens. Willing attentive staff – nothing too much trouble and our needs were anticipated – the receptionist, waiters and porters were full of local knowledge.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheekieChappyDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wow - we stayed at The Montagu Arms Hotel and really felt that we had had a break. There's a natural, intimate, unmanufactured charm and peacefullness in the gardens which, especially on a balmy evening like we had, really does wonders for stress levels. The service was exceptional - professional and friendly and the room was lovely. The evening meal was outstanding and catered for our specific needs - a dairy allergy. To top it all the area is gorgeous - a very short walk from the Motor Museum and a lovely walk to Buckler's Hard along forest tracks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeresaDadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed in the new forest many times and discovered this hotel on our very first trip. We had only ever visited Monty's Inn however (as this was all we could afford at the time!) and had always wanted to come back and stay, and experience the michelin star restaurant. We finally managed this last week, and the hotel did not dissapoint. The whole place is stunning, the gardens and the decor both equally beautiful. Our bags were of course carried to our room, which was huge and gorgeous. It was perfectly clean and the bed was the most comfotable ive ever slept in... if it had fitted in my suitcase I may well have taken it home with me!

Then came dinner- this was a wonderful experience all round. All the staff are so attentive and friendly, and the food was sublime to say the least.

The only small dissapointment was breakfast, as we were not looked after as well and it was not quite up to scratch. We felt that because the rest of the experience had been so spectacular, the soggy black pudding and dry bacon was a bit of a let down.

All in all though a truly brilliant hotel, I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We had a four poster room, not suite, and it was large enough to swing a cow, forget the cat!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
7.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,741 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
11.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
10.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montagu Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montagu Arms Hotel

Address: Palace Lane, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range: $208 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Montagu Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montagu Arms Hotel offers luxury accommodation in the quaint village of Beaulieu in Heart of the New Forest. The Michelin Starred Terrace Restaurant makes it the venue of choice for indulgently delicious fine dining with a taste of tranquil country life. The 18th Century Hotel is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway, walking holiday or a midweek break; oozing traditional charm with its open brick fireplaces, oak panelling and impressive gardens. The historical village of Beaulieu is just 30 minutes from Southampton Cruise Terminal making us the ideal base both pre and post your cruise. The Terrace Restaurant has held its Michelin Star for 5 years running and pays homage to both tradition and innovation; whilst Head chef Matthew Tomkinson uses the finest seasonal ingredients available to create award winning dishes. We are not ones for passing fads, every ingredient has to deserve its place in our dishes. No gimmicks, Just great food.For a more relaxed meal, Monty’s offers wonderful home-cooked classics or country fare, whilst delectable Afternoon Tea can be served in our conservatory or gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Montagu Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montagu Arms Beaulieu
Hotel Montagu Arms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing