We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely 3 star hotel”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We booked a couple of midweek nights at this hotel. It is in a beautiful position with lovely river views. The room was very cosy, had some lovely local produce in the room and a great sized bath. All the staff were very friendly, we ate dinner twice in the restaurant and once in the bar and 2 breakfasts, the service was very good and the food came amazingly quickly and was delicious. All in all a very nice couple of days. A bit more expensive than we expected but probably worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the main block with lovely river views and a big bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. The hotel is such a nice venue for a mid week break and we often have very good offers at such times. I am pleased about your restaurant and bar experience. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    269
    161
    70
    25
See reviews for
128
580
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here with some friends for lunch on a busy sunny Sunday. Whilst I can appreciate it was a busy day the wait to order at the bar was ridiculous, compounded by the dimwittedness of the staff.

The food wait was long (1hr) and when it arrived (ploughmans) I could have done a better job for a few quid and was a joke at £10.95. They also did a great job of bringing out the tables orders in 15 minute intervals...

Overall a superb location on a sunny afternoon and with the business having a monopoly on the location they know they don't have to try hard to bring in the punters and collect the cash.

I'd resent spending my money there again. You're better off bringing your own pick nick and beers.

Oh and I almost forgot....when asked for a table number (331) the barman actually put £331 into the pdq machine, the odd mistake is fine but the whole afternoon was full of them. Avoid at all costs

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you James. Yes, you're right, a poor day in the bar at the MB. We had an August day in March which we weren't ready for. Our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have just returned from a lovely 3 days at this hotel it is in a perfect location, the staff are very friendly especially Jamie the barman, the most helpful receptionist who when we asked if she knew of a nice Italian restaurant she found us one printed off a menu and brought it to our room.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. Jamie is doing a great job and he will be very pleased by your mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We found the hotel bars, restaurant and reception to give the best service we have come across for some time. The hotel rooms are lovely and clean, large with a quirky side to the decoration. The location is dripping in history, go and seek it out!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main house, floors are a bit wobbly but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delbohy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of the quirky Master Builders. As you say, it is wonderful to be in such a historical and beautiful location. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Superb location. Confusion over on line booking. Much planned weekend spoilt due to restaurant being closed. On line message had not been acted on. Shower not working . Although things went wrong management were quick to offer alternatives and offer complimentary gifts. Breakfast was superb and the staff fantastic.

Room Tip: Don't just rely on internet booking . check by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and although I am most apologetic for marring your special event I am pleased that things were sorted quickly for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Reception staff were friendly,welcoming and helpful. Quirky atmosphere of the hotel was charming. (The bed was a little soft for our backs if truth be told) Location was superb. Our stroll through woodland up the estuary to picturesque Beaulieu was lovely.The room was good, excellent bath and shower.
Restaurant and log fire area were charming. Both evening meal and breakfast were very good value.
Dawid and Wiola were a joy to meet. They were friendly and helpful,not only as waiting staff, but also in furthering my new found hobby of learning Polish. 'Dziekuje' Dawid and Wiola, thank you
Fabulous venue for a short getaway break!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
It is very nice to get such great feedback on our staff and I know that they are extremely pleased to be mentioned personally in your review. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Extremely comfortable bed, good standard en-suite room. Enjoyable evening meal and breakfast was top notch. Great service in the restaurant from a delightful, extremely helpful and friendly couple from Poland. We stayed overnight with dinner and breakfast included in the price. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PandU-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do some very good value dinner, bed and breakfast packages and very pleased that you came to stay with us on one of those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
6.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Master Builder's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Property: The Master Builder's House Hotel
Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing