We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9th december 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“9th december 2013”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had one night at the hotel staying in the Henry Adams Wing, could not fault it the room was well equipped, clean and very comfortable, and although our room overlooked the car park it was peaceful. Breakfast was enjoyed, we both had the full english. The staff to include reception, bar, waiters and waitresses very pleasant and helpful.
I chose this Hotel as I took my partner for his 50th birthday to the National Motor Musuem and the hotel was a short distance away - perfect!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are lucky to be located so near to the Beaulieu Motor Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    269
    160
    70
    25
See reviews for
128
578
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and can highly recommend it.Lovely setting and great rooms.
staff are very attentive and friendly, and smartly dressed. The rooms are very nice and cosy and the lounge in the bar areas are peacefull and snug,
The food is of very good quality and they have a good selection of wine and some real ales.
It is lovely in the bottom lounge with lovely views across the river where you can gather round a massive open fire and enjoy some board games and a drink or two.

Room Tip: main hotel building have the better rooms, but other rooms are still a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 108wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent a night here prior to departing on a cruise from Southampton. We stayed in the "Surprise" room in the Henry Adams wing (all rooms are named after ships built at Bucklers Hard during the Napoleonic era). The rooms in this wing are a little more basic than the historic rooms in the main hotel but the price of an overnight stay reflects this. Having said that our room was pleasantly decorated and the bathroom (with bath and shower) had a fantastic power shower. The staff were all friendly, particularly the South African barman (sorry didn't get your name). The breakfast was good and we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you point out, the hotel is a great venue to stay at, pre or post cruise from Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a beautiful setting - remote, beside the river, perfect for walks. Comfortable rooms (we stayed in the Henry Adams wing - a basic room) and the bed was HUGE. Log fires, a warm welcoming lounge. Friendly, helpful staff who always have a smile.

The thing that let it down (for us) was the food. Quantity rather than quality. We are not big eaters, so decided to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant (where the menu remained the same for the 3 nights we were there - skate, venison, pheasant ... sounded rather rich). The bar's haddock & chips was ENORMOUS ... and the fish was grey. Sandwiches were good, although not much variety - "cheese and chutney" was more like "cheese and branston". Whitebait was double the quantity expected, in a heavy batter, and I've never seen such huge whitebait!

The hotel is the only place to eat in Buckler's Hard, so we had expected a better offer. Disappointing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retirednottired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am sorry that the portions were so large and we are reviewing this for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Buckler's Hard is a grassy strip with a row of 18th-century cottages each side. Several cottages one side have been merged to form The Master Builder's Hotel (with extensions towards the river). Inside, the bar, restaurant, and public rooms have been kept in their original style, as have bedrooms in the main building. We stayed in an annexe outside, where the rooms were smaller but just as comfortable. The food and service in the bar and restaurant were superb. Free Wi-Fi (though the signal wasn't very good in some parts of the hotel). Walks along the river, and drives or walks through the surrounding New Forest are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed such a beautiful location
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to get married at the Master Builder's House Hotel on Saturday 9th November and every single part of the day was fantastic!

We had our ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception all in the hotel which worried us at first as there would have to be so many change arounds but each one was done seamlessly and without us barely noticing.

The staff were all brilliant from start to finish - from contacting Lord Montague to get permission for us to shoot arrows across the river to serving all of our guests amazing food and drink into the small hours! I cannot recommend the hotel and its staff enough. None of our guests wanted to leave in the morning either so whether you are looking for a romantic weekend away or a venue to hold your wedding - The Master Builders's is the place to go!

Room Tip: If you want a room full of character - ask for any of the rooms in the main building as these are fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterFlint82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your wedding at the Master Builders and very pleased you enjoyed it so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was lucky enough to win a prize recently - an overnight stay at this hotel and a special "Game and Fizz" dinner for two. My husband and I loved everything about the place and can't wait to return. We were allocated the Pandora Room in the attic of the main house and, apart from the fact that it was a little dark, it was great - very comfortable and well equipped, with a modern bathroom with lashings of hot water.. It had a separate sitting room with two day beds so is obviously used as a family room too. The three course dinner was mouth-watering and without exception the staff were charming and attentive. Breakfast was perfect in every way and we didn't want to leave! The setting is beautiful with plenty to do in the area, and the hotel is also family and dog friendly too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabsOk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and again congratulations on your prize, which we are very pleased that you enjoyed, as well as the other parts of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
6.8 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
6.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Master Builder's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Property: The Master Builder's House Hotel
Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing