We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alot better than we expected as we had read some poor reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Master Builder's House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Alot better than we expected as we had read some poor reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had booked at the last minute and then read the reviews!!
So went very unsure if we would be stopping or staying I am pleased to report we stayed. Fantastic room and brilliant view loved the separate lounge wished we were staying longer .Receptionist was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room. Restaurant was very nice and food was of an excellent standard although staff although were pleasant and did their best, a bit better training would not go a miss. We asked for drinks outside before meal as it was a warm night but after 10 minutes waiting we came in side to take up our table and the young man seem obliviously he had forgotten our drinks .
Lovely breakfast again staff seemed a bit un sure what they were doing .
Very good location and had lovely half day exploring the area round the hotel visiting museum and a trip down the river .
Would definitely go again and would recommend anyone who gave it a bad review to give it another try.

Room Tip: Don't choose top attic floor if you are not good with steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillThompson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and much appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    260
    158
    69
    25
See reviews for
126
560
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The lady at the local b&b recommended and before we had a chance to check TA, it was time to go. Our experience of spending an evening eating and drinking in the Yachtsman's Bar was a decidedly good one! Food was timely and good quality, especially I have to mention the sticky toffee pud, which is right up there with the best desserts I've ever had, seriously! Echoing some of the other reviews, the communication with staff was a bit difficult, but at least the barman was charming and enthusiastic. The girl alongside him however seemed less than keen to help. Lovely surroundings. After we returned and checked TA, couldn't believe the poor reviews! So in conclusion I think they must be taking the comments on board, and making the effort that the building and location deserves

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time in the Yachtsman's bar and thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. We are very lucky to have both a proper old pub as well as a restaurant...and good views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose a luxury room deal which included dinner and breakfast. The room was wonderful with views of the river from 2 sides and some lovely accessories in the room. The evening meal was a little disappointing and although nothing specific was wrong I feel the restaurant standard let the hotel down. Breakfast was good when they finally got our order right. Verdict - room was well worth the cost of the upgrade but the meals let the deal down. Reception staff were very helpful taking bags to our room up the quite steep staircase.

Room Tip: go for room 21 for fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hicaz446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that the restaurant wasn't as good as expected. We have a new Autumn menu on now and if you like Game, this is a big part of it..lots of other choices as well. I am pleased you liked your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just spent two nights at the Master Builders Hotel, Bucklers Hard, the setting is superb, very relaxing, bar food was very good, we did not eat in the restaurant other than to have the breakfast which again was excellent, can highly recommend the Eggs Royale, they were superb. The staff were friendly and welcoming. We booked a classic room which was clean and comfortable, it has everything you need including complimentary vodka ! We will definitely be coming back here for a weekend stay, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us. We look forwarded to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This would have been a 5-star review except for one or two minor niggles, mostly related to the staff. The hotel is in a stunning position on the banks of the Beaulieu River and is part of the historic Bucklers Hard village where wooden warships were built in the 1700s. We stayed for two nights mid-week after the August Bank Holiday so we could go sailing in Solent. Generally, we were very satisfied with the hotel. Our room was very clean and of average size. The painted furniture was a little dated and we thought it looked ‘damaged’ rather than ‘distressed’. The room was very quiet but looked out over the car park so there was a little noise about 7 am each morning when the delivery vehicles and dustmen turned up. We slept well on both nights. Our room was in the Henry Adams Wing which is a later addition to the historic part of the hotel. A nice touch was the complimentary miniature of elderflower vodka on our first night.

There were three places to eat: the restaurant, the Yachtsman’s Bar and an outdoor barbeque. Both nights we ate in the bar and had good hot meals served promptly. The lemon posset I had for dessert was one of the best I have ever tasted. Breakfast each morning was very nicely cooked and served quickly although the portion sizes were variable and the self-service buffet had a limited selection.

On our first night, the bar had run out of draught beer and cider (two days after the Bank Holiday) and it was the barman’s first day in the job. He was mostly left alone to cope with a very busy bar which he struggled to do. Most of the staff were young (student holiday jobs?) and for a number of them English was obviously not their native language. One of them tried to clear our table before everyone had finished eating and did not seem to understand when he was asked to wait. There was another episode when a young member of staff mistook my pleasant surprise that there were three places to eat in the hotel as a criticism and was decidedly off-hand.

By the second evening there were two draught beers and a selection of ciders available although I understand that the Manager had to collect the casks of beer in his car! Full marks for customer service here. One nice touch was the reception staff who acknowledged guests whenever they met them, whatever the time of day. Although check-in and check-out were efficient, check-out was spoilt by the old ‘charitable donation trick’ with a small charge automatically added to the final bill. When I queried this, I was told that I was forewarned in the booking confirmation but as I had booked through a booking agency I was unaware.

All in all a very pleasant stay. With a little more management attention and coaching of an obviously very inexperienced staff, staying at the Master Builder’s House could be wonderful at very reasonable prices. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgsmg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently very focused on improving our guests’ experience in the hotel. There is obviously more to be done but your comments are very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arranged to hold a Club Dinner here in September. The food was excellent and good value for money. The staff were very attentive and the courses served at just the right pace. Unfortunately we were not able to get a Saturday booking which would have been our preferred option. However we are looking to book again for 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

So glad we only booked in for one night as this hotel is still in the 80's when it comes to the accommodation side. The bar and restaurant are fine so is the food but it is such a shame that they have not invested on an upgrade they so desperately needs, will not be coming back here. Note to the owners - Move with the times and snap out of that time warp.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at The Master Builder's House Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your meals with us. The hotel certainly has a style of its own, your comments will be taken into consideration as we make plans for refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaulieu
5.3 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
12.4 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Master Builder's House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Master Builder's House Hotel

Property: The Master Builder's House Hotel
Address: Bucklers Hard, Beaulieu, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Brockenhurst SO42 7XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Brockenhurst > Beaulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Beaulieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Master Builder's House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its stunning location in the New Forest overlooking the Beaulieu River, this historic hotel at Buckler's Hard offers a relaxing stay of quirky but affordable luxury. Tuck into a pint and a snack in the Yachtsman's Bar & Gardens, or treat yourself to a sumptuous meal in the Riverside Restaurant. Most importantly, relax and enjoy every minute of your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Master Builder's House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Master Builders Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing