We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother using the bar or eating from the bar menu”

Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't bother using the bar or eating from the bar menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Poor service in the bar. Food poor, prices ridiculous and staff straight out of school with little or no customer care skills. Breakfast in the restaurant was a delight. How can the bar and restaurant be related!! Hotel good just make sure you eat dinner before you check in!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ReadingKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnKCrompton, Senior Group Operations Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We are sorry you felt this way about your recent visit. We do have a fairly young team but aim to invest a lot of time and effort in training, my apologies that this wasn’t what you experienced with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    81
    79
    72
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bad dinner - won't be going back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Rip off! Top restaurant prices for mediocre food. My husband's roast chicken tasted dull and his crushed potatoes were undercooked. My roast bream fillet was nice but the fondant potatoes were hard. Despite the waiter asking how our meal was he seemed to be uninterested in our not so positive feedback. The staff were over attentive but insincere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Zelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was so sorry to read of your recent experience. Since your visit we have removed the fondant potato from the menu and replaced it with an alternative potato accompaniment. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back - should you wish please contact me directly at the hotel so that I may oversee the arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Total rip off!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Lovely position, beautiful building, that's it about the best I can say. The rest, well we arrived to find a BBQ at £10 for a burger!! We had 2 beers and a lemonade for just under £9, which was pretty steep until we bought a second round of 2 beers and a small Pimms No1, which is basically half a glass of fruit, a splash of Pimms with lemonade, total liquid 1/4 of a pint, cost £6 POUNDS!!!
I queried it and the eastern European barman laughed at me. Awful service, no visible pricing in the outside bar, limited staff, large queues at the inside bar, and very poor value for money. We bought sandwiches at half the price in a cafe in front of the pub and had our expensive drinks with the sandwichs. Advice, take a picnic or eat somewhere else, toatal rip off.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank devonroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
I am sorry that you felt the BBQ didn’t offer good value. I believe you spoke to Peter on the BBQ, who I must assure you did not intend to come across as being rude. The Captain’s Cabin Tearooms at the adjacent Maritime Museum do offer a good alternative to the pub and BBQ menus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good for a pub supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

A tasty supper with good bar food. Lovely to sit outside in the setting sun watching the boats bobbing on their moorings.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
No better place to watch the world go by! Do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Easy walk from the marina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice to sit in the garden and have a beer and bar snack as the sun goes down. Food not amazing but nice and not expensive. Ideal pub to visit when staying at the marina as it's a 10 minute walk from the boat. Only down side was the lack of bar staff on a busy Friday evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormdancer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliveWatts1, General Manager at Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
No better place to watch the world go by! Do come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Master Builder's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing