We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub with good ales”
Review of Monty's Inn

Monty's Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Beaulieu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good pub with good ales”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We often end up here, in the bar, for a relaxed lunch reading the papers. Food is traditional, well done pubfood. There is normally a good veggie option too. Dogs are welcome, and the staff are normally very friendly. Gets extremely busy on sunny weekends

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo6073569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    138
    52
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing - will not go back”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We ate dinner here during a short break to the new forest. As it is attached to such a well regarded hotel we hoped that the standards would be similar. We were very disappointed.

The service was intermittent. The food was average (what I would expect to eat in a cheap pub), and therefore hugely overpriced in this expensive venue. I ordered the steak, which was reasonably tasty but the chips were undercooked and almost inedible, and the sauce was so runny it was impossible to taste it with the steak, this was not what I expected for the £25 price tag. Our desert was ok, we ordered treacle tart, which was advertised as coming serviced with ice-cream and butterscotch sauce, what arrived was a huge piece of tart, with a 1penny size piece of sauce and a very small ice-cream scoop. The tart was so dry it was impossible to get through it without more sauce/ice-cream!!

I would not recommend this restaurant to others and I will not be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beckydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

After a lovely morning exploring the area, it was time to have lunch. We were promptly greeted and shown to a table. We had the Ploughmans lunch with ham and cheddar cheese and a cheddar and apple chutney sandwich on brown bread. If I have to be honest- the Ploughmans was dull- ham was dry, salad was limp, pickled onions had seen better days and the cucumber was cut too thick. The sandwich- the saving grace was the apple chutney which gave the sandwich a lift- the bread was plain brown bread (similar to supermarket bread). Thank goodness we had a bottle of LP champagne which helped us enjoy the lunch too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grainstores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great little hotel, the bar area has a large log fire which was very welcome on a cold February night. The food is excellent and there is a wide choice of dishes along with specials such as Thai fish cakes. Well worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not very good”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went in here for a drink before lunch at the Terrace Restaurant (see separate review) because I wanted a pint of real ale, something the Terrace Restaurant's own bar doesn't do. The beer was fine but my wife's kir was appalling, far, far to much cassis. It was made as if it were Ribena being diluted in water! For a village pub type bar complete with pool table the prices are pretty hefty, the revoltingly sticky kir (small size) and a pint of Ringwood Bitter came to £8.10 The staff are smiling and cheerful staff but sadly don't have much of a clue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monty's Inn also viewed

 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Beaulieu, Brockenhurst
 

Been to Monty's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing