We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous real Italian”

V&G's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #5 of 66 Restaurants in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WELCOME TO V & G'S RISTORANTE ITALIANO RINGWOOD For that special eating out occasion we hope that you can visit our restaurant for an authentic and romantic Italian meal sometime and look forward to seeing you soon. There are tempting daily blackboard specials and great value meal deals lunchtime and early evening. Not to miss our 'Market Day Offer' every Wednesday. Reservations are recommended.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous real Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had dinner there last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Extremely friendly service and great food. Seafood risotto was excellent, goats cheese salad lovely and the Italian cheese board really good - three different blues. My daughter had the spaghetti carbonara which she loved as it was not too rich. All in all a great evening and we will repeat it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    63
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

A late booking for my wife and I for Saturday nigh dinner. I was surprised to get a table but the restaurant was full - more of which later.

Seemed to be some confusion on arrival and I'm not sure that my reservation had been recorded but a table was found for us.

It was immediately obvious from the staff and menu that the restaurant is a renamed and relocated Al Trullo. As locals we found this the first disappointment as, with the fairly small number of options in the town we were looking forward to something new.

Starters were OK and dealt with promptly but the wait for mains was unacceptably long. In the region of an hour and a half after arriving I had to ask staff when they were likely to arrive and was told they would be 2 minutes. They arrived 10 minutes later.

It was immediately obvious that the fries were greasy and not cooked, amazed that they got out of the kitchen and that front of house staff were happy to serve them. On pointing this out was annoyed that I had to persuaded staff that they were just not right. We were offered a replacement dish but asked for properly cooked fries. The replacements were better but not by much.

My wife ordered Chicken Parmigiana which was really not pleasant. The breadcrumbs did not fully coat the meat, the cheese was hard to find and the sauce was thick heavy and cloying.

My Tagliatelle Ai Porri would have been fine were it not too greasy. The flavour was good and the pasta well cooked. We swapped dishes half way so both of us got some decent food so it can't have been too bad.

House white was decent although my wife's thick head this morning after half a bottle suggests not the best quality.

The response to our complaints about the delay was that the chef was struggling as the restaurant was full and that lots of people wanted steaks cooked differently. Not my problem and solveable in a number of ways! Having said that, we all have bad days but I'd expect front of house to be engaging the customers- nothing. There was no real response to our comments made about the chicken.

Don't go out often enough to have a bad experience so won't be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire, england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have eaten here three times in last month, once for lunch and twice for dinner. The staff are warm and friendly and the food is excellent. Each time we have tried different things on the menu and have not been disappointed. The Wednesday's market day special price is value for money. We shall be visiting again very soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BORING-OLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Superb and reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

It wasn't until the evening we had a meal in this newly opened restaurant that we discovered the gentlemen behind the initials V & G had previously owned another Ringwood restaurant known as, I believe, Il Trullo before relocating and reinventing themselves as V & G's.

We had on several occasions seen how busy Il Trullo was but never got around to visiting because the premises did not seem overly inviting. We now know why it was so popular and what we have been missing! Furthermore, we are delighted that the new restaurant is in a more central spot in Ringwood and no longer can it be said that it doesn't look iwelcoming..

The décor is first class and it would appear no expense has been spared in refurbishing the building that was occupied until fairly recently by a Thai restaurant. The only blot on the landscape is the positioning of the door to the kitchen which is either permanently open or possibly doesn't exist although I guess it must do for fire regulations. From one particular table this does mean panoramic views of the hub of the place although to be fair it is not in direct sight and you would have to turn your head at right angles to see in. However this did not prevent a 'lady' making a real fuss over the situation when her party of 3 were seated on this spot. Whist I might prefer to be seated somewhere else it did not merit the verbal shenanigans which emanated from the said lady! However it was pleasing to note that the waiter took all of this in his stride and while acknowledging that all tables were fully booked he did manage to restore harmony by finding said lady another table. The next occupants did not seem to notice the 'view'.

The food? Our meal was superb and reasonably priced too. What more could you ask for?

Sometimes the waiting staff overlapped and you sensed that they were not fully aware of who was responsible for what but better to be asked twice if you'd like a sweet than ignored as can happen.

V & G's is a great find and we shall be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“V&G - excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very good Italian food and very attentive staff. Excellent value for such quality and great flavours of Italy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Der_Spiegelmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed V&G's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to V&G's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing