We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Don't miss this one - Fantastic”

The Star Inn Ringwood
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn Ringwood
Ranked #9 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Fell into The Star by mistake (my wife said it is one of the best decisions I've ever made) it only looks tiny from the front, but Dr Who fans would love it and believe me this is a proper pub!
Its always nice to walk into a busy pub and boy is this busy, lots of locals and visitors alike with an impressive choice of real ales, this pub just oozes character. The owner (Ian) was very attentive and happy to chat, it turned out that he was also a 'thespian' currently a prominent character in the radio series The Archers!
Restaurant is Thai and very popular and the food is fresh and gorgeous, so book if you want to eat. Rooms are a lovely surprise with en suite in every room and great power showers. Breakfast was a bit to much for me (hangover) but my wife loved every bit of it.
A great little inn

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have stayed several times at The Star Inn. The rooms are very nice some are in the back court yard and some are over the pub, all are very clean, there are several types of teas' to choose from, coffee and bottled water and biscuits are in the room which is a nice touch. Bathrooms have showers with complimentary toiletries. Beds are a little on the small side but they are fine. The oriental food is very good and it is advised to book a table as it can get very busy.. There is a lot to choose from at breakfast, cereals, breakfast bars, juice bread jam marmalade etc. you can have a full English which is cooked to order BUT they seem to deep fry most things so you end up with curly bacon very greasy fried bread and mushrooms which is a shame, the sausages are not to bad .
This is just a minor point but it does spoil what coud be a lovely breakfast if the main components were either grilled or just shallow fried!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

This place is very busy, and it is easy to see why.
Cosy, comfortable little pub with 7 or 8 rooms.
Clean, neat and tidy.
Food almost in the "gastro pub" league. The biggest breakfast you will ever see.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Depending upon when you arrive you might have difficulty parking nearby. There are parking restrictions on the street outside and a market on one day, when parking is not permitted at all in the morning.
There is a huge municipal car park in Ringwood though, just 200 yards away.
Only one criticism - it is expensive for a room in a pub - but as I said at the start they are busy - so most people are happy to pay the premium.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plingsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed overnight at short notice and stumbled across this place by chance. Found the staff very friendly and the room exceptionally clean with great charachter. No excessive noise or disturbance from the high street outside and the breakfast in the morning was enough to feed a small tribe.

All in all great quality at an affordable price in a lovely part of the country. We are actually planning on going back in future just to stay at the star inn because we had such a great night there together.

10/10

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grysmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2006

A busy, thriving pub in the middle of a main streeet in Ringwood near the New Forest. It has small en-suite stable rooms in the quiet backyard of the pub and an excellent restaurant which specialises in all things from the wok - lovely Thai food with a Chinese twist. Breakfast available. No parking off the road, so we used the public car park. An excellent stay.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank unison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
0.0 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
263 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lamb Inn Ringwood
Lamb Inn Ringwood
#11 of 21 in Ringwood
66 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petherton Cottage
Petherton Cottage
#4 of 21 in Ringwood
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Ringwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Ringwood

Address: Cnr. Star Lane And 12 Market Place, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range: $97 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Ringwood Hotel Ringwood
The Star Inn Ringwood New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing