We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home”

The Star Inn Ringwood
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn Ringwood
Ranked #9 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Burnie
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed at this establishment for two nights, the room was very quaint and the view from my window was also pleasant (old building, converted to an Indian restaurant).

Everything was clean and tidy, room a bit warm , but I realise this is due to the age of the establishment, no air con, and the fact that the weather was extremely warm, I loved it personally.

Every member of staff where friendly and made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starry0009, Owner at The Star Inn Ringwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
52
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at The Star for 2 nights last weekend, and had a lovely stay. We were welcomed by Nicky, who showed us to our room, no.6. It was gorgeous, lots of effort taken to make it spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was large, with a good shower cubicle.
The breakfast was very good, and the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay wonderful.
The Star is in the Market Place of Ringwood and there can be some noise in the street from other bars, particularly those that close in the early hours! Not something that can be avoided but worth knowing. It didn't alter our stay - and we would definitely return. Ringwood is a lovely town, with nice shops, plenty of bars and pubs.

Room Tip: Room 6 was very nice, with a good bathroom and comfy bed and the window opens onto the side passagew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nats757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starry0009, Owner at The Star Inn Ringwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This wasn't pre booked and my partner and I happened to stumble across this place looking for accommodation after deciding camping on a windy day with no tent pegs was a bad idea!!
The friendly Irish guy behind the bar informed us we could stay for £69.50 and had a room available. The accommodation is separate to the pub and you access this through the courtyard at the back of the pub. I quite liked the idea of it being not above the main pub especially on a Saturday night! It had everything you need, comfy bed, nice enough shower and tv. They went the extra mile by leaving breakfast in a little bag outside our door for the morning as we had stated we needed to leave at 5am. Really impressed with the service and friendly attitude, hence the recommendation on here! Thanks very much. Would definitely stay again. This is right in the centre of ringwood and although in a pub it wasn't noisy at night.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starry0009, Owner at The Star Inn Ringwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again in the future, Nikki :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I have just cancelled a booking here due to illness. I had to leave a review since, when I telephoned to cancel, they were very understanding and didn't charge the full rate, even though their cancellation policy is 48 hours notice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank FT2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starry0009, Owner at The Star Inn Ringwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, We hope to welcome you at our Inn in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

An old quaint pub, staff very friendly. Rooms adequate, clean and you want for nothing.. Could hear when people were leaving the pub as we were above the door, but it wouldn't stop us from staying there again. Breakfast was super, everything came out hot, sauces were quality brands, nothing was too much trouble. If you like staying in pubs you won't go far wrong.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a delightful weekend in the lovely town of Ringwood staying at The Star Inn. Ian and his wonderful team couldn't have made us more welcome or comfortable. The accommodation was immaculate, the bed so comfortable we missed a great breakfast, which we made up for on the second day. Great evening meal, lovely feeling pub with friendly staff and locals alike.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallywarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights towards the end of January and would recommend both the rooms and the food. We received a warm, friendly greeting on arrival and were shown to our room (Spitfire). A spacious room with plenty of storage space and electric sockets next to a mirror, needed for hairdryer and straighteners! The heavy curtains and wooden blinds ensured that there was no noise from the adjacent footpath. The breakfast was very good on both mornings with the sausage being particularly worth mentioning - for a small establishment (8 rooms) there was an impressive selection of breakfast products and tea/coffee and fruit juice.
We had a drink in the friendly bar on our first evening as we were late arriving and on our second evening had a meal and were impressed with the Thai food - better than our Thai restaurant at home! All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and helpful.
The Star Inn is in a great position for visiting the New Forest and Bournemouth and Ringwood itself is a very pleasant small town. We will definately return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Four rooms are above the Inn and four are across a small courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spainfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
0.0 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
251 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Ringwood
Travelodge Ringwood
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
231 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lamb Inn Ringwood
Lamb Inn Ringwood
#11 of 21 in Ringwood
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moortown Lodge B&B
Moortown Lodge B&B
#5 of 21 in Ringwood
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Ringwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Ringwood

Property: The Star Inn Ringwood
Address: Cnr. Star Lane And 12 Market Place, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Ringwood Hotel Ringwood
The Star Inn Ringwood New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing