We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

The Star Inn Ringwood
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn Ringwood
Ranked #9 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
poole
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The welcome, although not necessarily warm, was brisk and efficient. We were given all the information needed and shown to our room on the first floor called 'Landlord'. The room was quite small, but then this is a very, very old inn, and so we were not surprised or disappointed, and the en-suite bathroom was quite spacious and came with a large bath, plenty of hot water, and nice complimentary toiletries. The room had everything one needs for a stay, tv, wi-fi, desk, bedside tables with lamps, tea & coffee etc. We only stayed for one night, and so ate at an Italian restaurant down the road, and on our return, until closing time, people outside the pub were making quite a lot of noise as has been said, but this is a good pub, in Ringwood, and so should be expected. The breakfast was plentiful, varied, and the full English excellently cooked.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
10
48
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed with my wife for one night as visiting the area. The pub is proper olde worlde and the room was clean with decent facilities and free bottled water -nice touch. Enjoyed very good beers from the Ringwood brewery and also a meal cooked by the resident Thai chefs which was pretty good but a bit gloopy with each main course a bit swamped in mushroom, onion and pepper. It felt more Chinese takeaway than genuine Thai. Our room was at the front which i wouldn't recommend as it was hotter than an oven for some reason (a previous reviewer has said the same) which led to a poor night's sleep. Othe than Nikky, the manageress/landlady who initially greeted us, the staff seemed unused to the catering aspect of the business eg nobody checked if we were enjoying the meal, at breakfast the tables were not properly laid and service while not rude was hardly enthusiastic. Similarly on checkout there was none of the usual pleasanteries of 'have you enjoyed your stay?' or 'please come again'. Attention definitely needed in this area by management IMHO.

Room Tip: Stay at the rear to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have now stayed at the Star 10 times. I think I have been in all the rooms bar one. I normally ask for room 2 as it is on it's own in what used to be the old skittle alley. Out the back with your own entrance is much more convenient and quieter.

On the warmer nights you can have the patio outside your room to have a drink. I used to live in Ringwood many years ago and visit old friends regularly who still live there. I know the town very well and will only stay at the Star for many reasons. Firstly it's very convenient if you like a drink. You do not have to drive any where as it is all within waking distance.
Secondly the price is the best your are going to get for what is on offer.
Thirdly the beds I know came from a very luxury hotel in the area that closed down, so are extremely comfortable.
fourthly if you make the effort the pub is a great place to have a drink, yes it is used by a devout local following, but they are all good people.

If you are one of those people staying in the area to visit the New Forest and surrounding area's then then I would not recommend any other place as your base than the Star.

The breakfasts are legendary, even thou' I do not normally make the eating times as I am lying in the comfortable bed.
Go visit Ian and Nikiki, you will not be disappointed I promise. That's from a ex local of the area.

And for those of you who complain about the lack of parking. This is not an issue. There are 500 space 100 meters away and free in the town car park. You can drop your cases off first and then walk back in 3 minutes. No problem at all. Wednesday is the market day, which has been going on since the Victorian times, so the road is closed, but still not a problem as access to the car park is easy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Standard B&B type rooms, no atmosphere and could be depressing to spend more than half an hour inside. Room was freezing and slightly damp when we arrived, and the bathroom stayed very cold the entire time. Friendly-ish staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starry0009, Owner at The Star Inn Ringwood, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, We are sorry that you did not have a comfortable stay and value your feedback, We have noted your comments about temperature of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

A very nice room (London Pride) clean and a nice size bathroom and a large shower, what a change from other places.

Lovely pub, albeit I did not eat in the pub the food did look very good.

Normal pub noise, but nothing bad, and i would give the room 7/10.
Pub as a pub 8/10
The full English in the morning 7/10

Parking is an issue, i parked in the main town car park (3 mins walk) and moved the car outside the pub later that evening.

Room Tip: London Pride room nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Ate here with friends on a busy Saturday Evening. Service, Beer, food and company excellent. Any fans of the Archers Radio programme, have a chat to Ian [--] the landlord of the Star Inn. He is also an actor and has played the part of Roy Tucker in the Archers for the last 15 years. He tells some very entertaining stories about the series and characters in it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadiDiverDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary. When I asked where to park my car I was told in the local supermarket car park at £5 a day! After searching for half an hour for a parking space I was at the point of saying we would go home but did not want to spoil our weekend. If it wasn't for the owner of the White Hart offering us the opportunity to park in his car park we would have gone home. Room tidy, bedside lamps covered in dust, window would not stay open unless propped, shower hose split and head fell apart, no phone, no hairdryer (had to ask), bags of laundry left on the stairs and landing blocking exits - glad there was not a fire! Breakfast swiming in oil. First morning the bacon was obvioulsy reheated you could have used it for shoe leather. There was a marked improvement the following morning when we were not the only guests (as we were on the first morning). Far greater choice and better cooked. Good point - bed was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
0.0 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.3 mi away
St. Leonards Hotel
St. Leonards Hotel
#2 of 2 in St Leonards
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tyrrells Ford Country Inn & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Lamb Inn Ringwood
Lamb Inn Ringwood
#13 of 21 in Ringwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avonmead House
Avonmead House
#8 of 21 in Ringwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Ringwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Ringwood

Property: The Star Inn Ringwood
Address: Cnr. Star Lane And 12 Market Place, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Star Inn Ringwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Ringwood Hotel Ringwood
The Star Inn Ringwood New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing