We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy!”

The Star Inn Ringwood
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn Ringwood
Ranked #9 of 21 Ringwood B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked this hotel going on the other reviews I had read. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a person who looked as though we'd ruined his day by walking in. He did eventually warm to us, however, first impressions made us uneasy.

I have to say, the pub/hotel itself was lovely, the room looked cozy and clean. Our room was overlooking a side street which was the entrance to a restaurant, so as people left throughout the night it actually sounded like they were walking through our room! We had people above us and every time they flushed the loo or turned the basin on the noise of the water running through our bathroom wall was so loud it kept us both awake all night, and we can both normally sleep through anything. It was also close to having the same temperature of a sauna and the constant moving around of people upstairs was extremely disruptive. Unfortunately, this was the least relaxing stay we've ever had. And it was a shame because the hotel was beautiful. Breakfast was made to order which added a lovely touch, however, we were too tired to eat it.

The rate was fairly reasonable.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 112 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely two night stay at The Star Inn over the Easter break. We booked to stay there based on TripAdvisor reviews. Compared to other B&B set-ups in the New Forest area, The Star offered favourable room rates (around £70 per night for two of us).

The pub itself is lovely and very traditional inside, just how we like them. I was a little concerned before arriving as there are no pictures of the inside of the pub on their website. (I would suggest the owners pop some on there – it’s charming!) There was a good selection of ales and lagers on draught, plus an excellent wine list.

We ate in the pub on our first night. My main course of Kung Po chicken was OK but my husband’s roast duck with honey was absolutely superb and we had huge portions too. Disappointing that there were no desserts on offer. Overall it was fine. It was very busy in there, so obviously popular.

In our room (number 5) there was a portable TV with four channels, dark wood furniture including a lovely big wardrobe - but there were only four hangers in there. Nice hot drinks tray with biccies, complimentary bottles of water plus some herbal teas too. There was plenty of drawer space and thick curtains that blocked out the light really well.

The bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean. There was no full-height shower though, so we sat in the bath with the shower head pointing on us. It was fine for a short stay. There was plenty of shelving in the bathroom – major plus point!

We experienced some noise from the room next door, but that’s generally the price you pay for olde-worlde charm. Not a deal breaker for us.

Breakfast was really well cooked with a good selection of cold items also on offer; 5 or 6 different cereals, Activia yoghurts, croissants, lots of different jams, a choice of fruit plus Alpen & Nutrigrain bars and our coffee was lovely.

We love a good, traditional pub with rooms and The Star Inn is definitely this. All in all, a very pleasant stay and we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsPog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Now this is what I call a proper British pub! Wooden beams, roaring log fire, old fashioned wooden furniture - thank goodness there are some left and they are not all wine bars!

The room was nice and cosy offering everything you need, plus so much choice for breakfast! The sausages were divine, selected by the landlord himself as he was our breakfast chef!

The evening that food was so lovely witha good bottle of wine to match. The lunches looked like amazing value at 5.95, if it tasted as good as the evening meal, a must for local people and their lunch breaks!

Thanks to the landlord and lady, Ian and Nikki and of course the exvited BAsil teh dog. Really made our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vassalikinaturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Visited friends in Ringwood from 23 to 25 January 2011, and asked them to book us our accomodation. Could not have asked for any better. From the engaging and ever cheerful landlord Ian, the extremely helpfull pub staff, the brilliant menu for evening dinner (including a Thai meal that will rival any of London'd best) to the cosy en-suite rooms that were warm and well serviced, as an English pub should be. Breakfast was more than provided for in some 5 star city hotels these days. Thank you for the friendly hospitality. Anton & Evon

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton_and_Evon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

In the middle of a town the way English towns should be lies a quaint Pub & Restaurant with accommodation.
The Star Inn is clean, has great food,a wonderful bar, and the management and staff could not be more helpful.
Even the smoker in our company said the outside area was well heated.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimedeMallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Fell into The Star by mistake (my wife said it is one of the best decisions I've ever made) it only looks tiny from the front, but Dr Who fans would love it and believe me this is a proper pub!
Its always nice to walk into a busy pub and boy is this busy, lots of locals and visitors alike with an impressive choice of real ales, this pub just oozes character. The owner (Ian) was very attentive and happy to chat, it turned out that he was also a 'thespian' currently a prominent character in the radio series The Archers!
Restaurant is Thai and very popular and the food is fresh and gorgeous, so book if you want to eat. Rooms are a lovely surprise with en suite in every room and great power showers. Breakfast was a bit to much for me (hangover) but my wife loved every bit of it.
A great little inn

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsyduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We have stayed several times at The Star Inn. The rooms are very nice some are in the back court yard and some are over the pub, all are very clean, there are several types of teas' to choose from, coffee and bottled water and biscuits are in the room which is a nice touch. Bathrooms have showers with complimentary toiletries. Beds are a little on the small side but they are fine. The oriental food is very good and it is advised to book a table as it can get very busy.. There is a lot to choose from at breakfast, cereals, breakfast bars, juice bread jam marmalade etc. you can have a full English which is cooked to order BUT they seem to deep fry most things so you end up with curly bacon very greasy fried bread and mushrooms which is a shame, the sausages are not to bad .
This is just a minor point but it does spoil what coud be a lovely breakfast if the main components were either grilled or just shallow fried!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyLindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ringwood hotels
0 mi away
original white hart
original white hart
#3 of 3 in Ringwood
266 reviews
4.2 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petherton Cottage
Petherton Cottage
#4 of 21 in Ringwood
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
High Corner Inn
High Corner Inn
#3 of 21 in Ringwood
493 reviews
4.4 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
735 reviews
4.3 mi away
Cider Cottages
Cider Cottages
#2 of 2 in Burley
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn Ringwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn Ringwood

Address: Cnr. Star Lane And 12 Market Place, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Ringwood BH24 1AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Ringwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ringwood
Price Range: $74 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Inn Ringwood Hotel Ringwood
The Star Inn Ringwood New Forest National Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing