We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai food in Ringwood”
Review of Lemongrass Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Lemongrass Thai Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $42
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Finding this pleasant restaurant in Ringwood was not straight forward because the entrance is down an alley and behind some of the Ringwood High Street shops.

However the very pleasant staff greeted us on arrival and we were immediately seated.

Service was quick and attentive.

A good range of drinks, including Thai beer, was available and we chose some beer for the men and wine for the ladies.

The menu contained a good array of Thai meals and what we chose was well cooked and very tasty.

Will we return to the Lemongrass? Definitely

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CliffRingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 396 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food is OK but the lamb dish I had was very tough, other dishes were better. There is little atmosphere and the open space could do with breaking up to create less of a dining hall effect. There service was friendly but on occasions the staff were chatting rather than looking round to see if the customers were trying to attract their attention. This is the only oriental restaurant in Ringwood and I would go there again but it could do with improving..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, General Manager at Lemongrass Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, I am sorry we did not live up to our high standards on this occasion.

I have passed your comments about the lamb being tough to the kitchen and they are making sure this does not happen again. With regards to the food being OK, what can I say the majority of reviews we receive feel the food is outstanding, so it really is a matter of opinion and we cannot please all the people all the time.

I have also spoken with the front of house staff about talking too much and not giving customers their full attention.

With regards to the interior, it is a large area and we feel when busy there is a great atmosphere and it works well, when it is less busy like the night you visited it can lack atmosphere. We are working on improving the layout and it is something we will resolve in time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was our first time here and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was excellent especially the Holy basil stirfry and the Panang curry - probably the best we have tasted.
Cannot wait to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food was lovely but the restaurant has very little atmosphere and some dodgy old fashioned decor. Had a takeaway on another occasion and this was very nice food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caroline618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley H, General Manager at Lemongrass Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the food.

We are shocked by your comments regarding the interior, the decor is modern and fresh and was only undertaken 9 months ago, drop my an email some time and let me know what you feel is not right about the decor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We ordered green Thai curry and Pad Thai and both were tasty and fresh - the veg cooked to a T. Really nice spacious restaurant with a lot of privacy. A little hidden away at first floor level but a real gem

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Thai Restaurant also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing