We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere”
Review of The London Tavern

The London Tavern
Ranked #50 of 71 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Thai, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A hidden gem on a quiet road leading into the New Forest. the London Tavern has every thing you want from a New Forest pub. Quiz nights, jive class, bingo and live music all add to the unique atmosphere of this traditional public house.
Ringwood, Hants.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love the little diningroom, it's cosy, close to the bar and when they have a band you have a good place to sit and listen!

I've eaten here often as I'm local and have never been disappointed. Portions are good, the food is hot and the service is excellent.

My favourite meals here are chicken wrapped in bacon and good old fish and chips! I've also had fillet steak which was mouthwatering!

The landlord keeps a good eye on the bar and restaurant and is really keen on great customer service so I am sure the standards will remain high.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exploreasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great, Friendly Pub with a small but very good menu & Great Live Bands.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This pub has an excellent restaurant, garden and plenty of cover outside.

Great bands play there, see their website for details:

http://www.thelondontavern.co.uk/

Nice atmosphere, food & friendly staff

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerekRuffell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great pub food. Very friendly landlord who runs a lot of events, especially for help the heros. We go to the pub quiz on Thursday which are the best in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great find (well hidden though!)”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was delighted to find the London Tavern, on our way down to Bournemouth for a family wedding. It's tucked away down a small side road, but is definitely worth seeking out. A good range of Ringwood beers are on tap, with a great value lunchtime menu and an extensive specials board. The adverts all around the pub suggest a very busy music programme of local acts, including some quite high profile visiting bands owing to a strong affiliation it would appear with the local branch of the British legion.
On to our lunch: I was looking for some simple pub grub really and was not disappointed. One of our party just wanted the soup of the day, which was roasted butternut squash. It was absolutely delicious and was served with a very generous hunk of french bread, ideal for mopping up the rich thick creamy bits that are always left at the bottom of the bowl. My partner ordered the bacon and cheeseburger, but without the bacon. It was absolutely stunning, possibly the best burger both she and I have ever tasted (and this includes burgers from Five Guys in Washington DC!), the chef is a genius! My ham egg and chips (off the lunchtime menu for only £5.95) was spot on, tasty local ham, a well cooked sunny fresh fried egg and crispy chips served with a salad and peas was well balanced and just what I was looking for.
I would highly recommend this pub for lunch or dinner, and would relish the opportunity to visit when they have a live event on! Definitely worth a detour.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elteesmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Fine local pub”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Old fashioned local pub which concentrates on getting the basics right; welcoming atmosphere, good beer and good pub food.

Well worth visiting and sometimes they have live entertainment

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashfield531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The London Tavern also viewed

Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Ringwood, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to The London Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing